免责声明:本网站持续更新。在所有内容翻译完成之前,其中一些内容可能为英文。

接种疫苗: 查找疫苗并了解全剂量接种疫苗后可以做什么。

房间上部紫外线杀菌辐射(UVGI)

房间上部紫外线杀菌辐射(UVGI)

背景

CDC建议采取分层策略,减少COVID-19致病病毒SARS-CoV-2的感染。分层策略应结合多种预防措施,例如始终并正确佩戴口罩通风保持身体距离清洁和消毒以及保持手卫生

通风干预措施可以帮助减少空气中传染性病毒颗粒(例如SARS-CoV-2)的数量。通风干预措施包括打开窗户、使用风扇、添加高效颗粒空气(HEPA)风扇/过滤器系统以及添加房间上部紫外线杀菌辐射(UVGI)。本说明概述有关房间上部UVGI的相关信息,以有效减少某些集体环境中接触SARS-CoV-2的可能性。

一般UVGI事实

什么是UVGI?

紫外线杀菌辐射或UVGI是利用紫外线(UV)能量杀死病毒、细菌和真菌生物。UVGI固定装置产生UV-C能量,其波长比穿透性更强的UV-A和UV-B更短,对人体健康的风险更小。房间上部UVGI是指位于人们所居住房间上方的紫外线消毒区。这种方法可以杀死空气传播的病原体。安装固定装置是为了防止室内的人直接受到紫外线照射。

房间上部UVGI如何发挥作用?

  1. 空气从气流通过HVAC系统、风扇和/或打开的窗户流过消毒区。
  2. 空气中传播的病原体一旦受到一定量的紫外线能量就会被杀死。这些颗粒仍然存在于空气中,但它们不再具有传染性。

:对于空气传播的病毒颗粒,房间上部UVGI系统每小时提供一次换气,类似于将清洁空气引入空间。

使用房间上部UVGI的注意事项

  • UVGI最重要的位置是高风险的室内环境。这些包括:
    • 患病可能性更高的区域(例如学校护士办公室、医院候诊室)。
    • 拥挤的空间,尤其是当居住者的健康状况不明时(例如法庭、大厅、无家可归者收容所就寝区)。
    • 人们在吃饭或喝水时必须摘下口罩的场所(例如学校食堂、餐厅、休息室)。
    • 难以与他人保持至少6英尺距离的区域。
  • 建议在没有足够或完全没有机械HVAC系统的空间或全年不能保持足够自然通风的空间中使用UVGI。空间高度必须至少为8英尺,但天花板的最小高度最好为8.5英尺,并要有一定的气流来输送空气(例如低速风扇)。 在露天环境(例如室外露天座位区)中不需要使用房间上部UVGI。
  • 如果HVAC系统允许有效过滤或提供超过最低规范要求的室外空气流量,它将去除大部分空气传播的病毒颗粒,而房间上部UVGI不会增加太多功能。

过去如何使用UVGI?

房间上部UVGI被用以消灭空气传播病原体已经有超过70年的历史。自1950年以来,对房间上部UVGI系统的大部分研究集中在控制结核病(TB)的传播。CDC和美国国家职业安全与健康研究所(NIOSH)就房间上部UVGI系统的设计、安装、测试和安全操作提供的当前指导方针pdf icon[6 MB,87页]基于控制结核病的科学和实践证据。

UVGI与SARS-CoV-2

  • 迄今为止,关于SARS-CoV-2的紫外线研究表明,COVID-19致病病毒在灭活所需的紫外线剂量方面与其他冠状病毒(例如SARS和MERS)非常相似。1,2
  • 房间上部UVGI系统可用于控制SARS-CoV-2,作为一种有效的通风工具,可考虑用以减少传染性病原体的传播。
  • UVGI不能取代清洁或消毒可能存在传染性SARS-CoV-2飞沫的表面的需要。

安装和维护

  • 房间上部UVGI系统通常是为其使用的空间而定制设计。系统应在合格的HVAC专业人员或信誉良好的紫外线系统制造商的帮助下进行设计、安装和测试。这些专业人士拥有工具和经验,可提供有效和安全的系统,包括正确安装和定位固定装置,符合规范的电气连接,以及正确使用的培训。
  • 面积为500平方英尺(ft2)的典型房间通常需要两到三个UV装置。在500 ft2的空间内安装该系统的成本约为1,500至2,500美元。
  • 一旦安装完毕,系统几乎不需要维护。尽管一些制造商提供为期2年的更换计划,但这些照射灯每年需要更换一次。如果灯上有灰尘,可以在关闭设备后使用外用酒精擦拭清洁。
  • 当需要对灯具进行维修或工人需要进入天花板附近的区域(例如维修照明装置、测试烟雾探测器)时,应关闭紫外线装置的电源。维修人员在使用UVGI系统前应接受专门培训。

实施注意事项

  • 房间上部UVGI系统已经安全有效地使用了几十年。但是,定向或反射到被使用空间的紫外线有可能造成暂时的眼睛或皮肤损伤。由合格的HVAC专业人士或信誉良好的UV系统制造商提供的帮助将确保系统的正确安装,以使UV能量直达被使用的空间上方并安全运行。
  • 系统应连接到指定的电气开关,并限制公众和未经系统管理培训的人员或志愿者接触。例如,考虑使用可锁开关或将开关放置在只有经过培训的人员才能使用锁和钥匙进入的受限区域。这样可以防止无意中打开或关闭紫外线灯,并允许装置在必要时安全断电,而不必担心在维护过程中它们会被打开。
  • 流感病毒比导致结核病的细菌更容易受到紫外线的影响。因此,在COVID-19疫情期间安装的任何房间上部UVGI系统如果得到适当维护,也将有助于对抗季节性流感。1,2
  • UV-C能量会损坏放置在消毒区域(例如高大的书架或高架子的顶部)上的植物。这种能量还会导致木材表面和墙纸的褪色和装饰性污点(大多数墙壁和天花板油漆不受影响)。因此,在带有华丽建筑元素和植物的空间中安装房间上部UVGI系统时,应小心谨慎。

选择房间上部UVGI系统

  • 使用UVGI时,应注意人们可以进入接近天花板的UVGI装置消毒区(例如头顶的储物间、上下铺)。这包括审查安全预防措施,在UVGI所在之处贴上警告贴,并让受过培训的员工熟悉产品。
  • CDC不推荐或反对任何制造商或产品。咨询信誉良好并熟悉NIOSH房间上部UVGI指导方针的UVGI专业人士(UVGI设备制造商或经验丰富的UVGI系统设计师),以进行设计和系统安装。建议消费者向专业人士询问以前的系统安装、为确保房间内人员的安全而进行的测试以及系统提供的培训等信息。请勿雇用在设计、安装和操作阶段提供未经证实的索赔或有限支持的承包商。聘请专家时:
    • 要求提供环境保护署(EPA)注册证明,以及UVGI安装项目组合证明。制造挂在墙上或悬挂在天花板上的紫外线设备的工厂应向EPA注册,制造商应拥有大量的UVGI安装项目组合,最好是适用于中型和大型医疗机构的项目。
    • 考虑询问UVGI制造商/系统设计师可能参与的任何专业协会(例如美国供暖、制冷与空调工程师学会external icon或ASHRAE),如有,则可询问涉及哪些专业能力。
    • 考虑询问制造商或专业人员可能提供的性能保证,以及他们是否为其产品的用户提供持续的维护或培训计划。

ARCHIVED WEBPAGE: This webpage is for historical purposes and is no longer being updated. For the latest information, view the COVID-19 homepage.

IF YOU ARE FULLY VACCINATED
CDC has updated its guidance for people who are fully vaccinated. See Recommendations for Fully Vaccinated People.
IMPORTANT UPDATE FOR SCHOOLS
CDC recommends schools continue to use the current COVID-19 prevention strategies for the 2020-2021 school year. Learn more
Important update: Healthcare facilities
CDC has updated select ways to operate healthcare systems effectively in response to COVID-19 vaccination. Learn more
UPDATE
Getting vaccinated prevents severe illness, hospitalizations, and death. Unvaccinated people should get vaccinated and continue masking until they are fully vaccinated. With the Delta variant, this is more urgent than ever. CDC has updated guidance for fully vaccinated people based on new evidence on the Delta variant.
UPDATE
Given new evidence on the B.1.617.2 (Delta) variant, CDC has updated the guidance for fully vaccinated people. CDC recommends universal indoor masking for all teachers, staff, students, and visitors to K-12 schools, regardless of vaccination status. Children should return to full-time in-person learning in the fall with layered prevention strategies in place.

Upper-Room Ultraviolet Germicidal Irradiation (UVGI)

Upper-Room Ultraviolet Germicidal Irradiation (UVGI)
Ultraviolet germicidal irradiation (UVGI) kills viral, bacterial, and fungal organisms in a cafeteria

Background

CDC recommends a layered strategy to reduce exposures to SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19. A layered strategy combines multiple prevention strategies such as consistent and correct use of masks, ventilation, physical distancing, cleaning and disinfection, and hand hygiene.

Ventilation interventions can help reduce the number of infectious viral particles (e.g., SARS-CoV-2) in the air. Ventilation interventions include opening windows, using fans, adding high-efficiency particulate air (HEPA) fan/filter systems, and adding upper-room ultraviolet germicidal irradiation (UVGI). This factsheet presents information on upper-room UVGI, which can be effective at reducing exposures to SARS-CoV-2 in some group settings.

General UVGI Facts

What is UVGI?

Ultraviolet germicidal irradiation, or UVGI, is the use of ultraviolet (UV) energy to kill viral, bacterial, and fungal organisms. UVGI fixtures produce UV-C energy, which has shorter wavelengths than more penetrating UV-A and UV-B rays and pose less risk to human health. Upper-room UVGI refers to a disinfection zone of UV energy that is located above people in the rooms they occupy. This kills airborne pathogens in the room where they are released. Fixtures are installed to prevent direct UV exposures to people in the room.

How does Upper-Room UVGI work?

  1. Air passes through the disinfection zone from air flow through HVAC system, fans, and/or open windows.
  2. The airborne pathogens are killed once they receive an appropriate amount of UV energy. The particles remain in the air, but they are no longer infectious.

Note: For airborne viral particles, upper-room UVGI systems provide air changes per hour that are similar to the introduction of clean air into the space.

Air passes through the disinfection zone from air flow through HVAC system, killing virus particles.

Considerations for Use of Upper-Room UVGI

  • The most important locations for UVGI are high-risk indoor settings. These include:
    • Areas with an increased likelihood of sick people (for example, school nurse’s office, hospital waiting room).
    • Crowded spaces, particularly when the health status of occupants is unknown (for example, courtrooms, lobbies, homeless shelter sleeping areas).
    • Spaces where people must take off masks to eat or drink (for example, school/institutional cafeterias, restaurants, break rooms).
    • Areas where it is difficult to stay at least 6 feet apart from others.
  • UVGI is recommended in spaces with insufficient or no mechanical HVAC systems or where adequate natural ventilation cannot be maintained year-round. Spaces must be at least 8 feet tall, but a minimum ceiling height of 8.5 feet is preferred, with some airflow to move air (for example, fans at low speed). Upper-room UVGI is not necessary in open-air environments, such as outdoor open-air seating areas.
  • If the HVAC system allows for efficient filtration or provides outdoor air flow above minimum code requirements, it will remove most airborne virus particles and upper-room UVGI would not add as much benefit.

How has UVGI been used in the past?

Upper-room UVGI has been used for over 70 years to eliminate airborne pathogens. Since 1950, the bulk of the research on upper-room UVGI systems focused on controlling the spread of tuberculosis (TB). Current guidance pdf icon[6 MB, 87 pages] from CDC and National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) on the design, installation, testing, and safe operation of upper-room UVGI systems is based on science and practice-based evidence to control tuberculosis (TB).

UVGI and SARS-CoV-2

  • To date, UV research on SARS-CoV-2 indicates that the virus that causes COVID-19 is very similar to other coronaviruses (for example, SARS and MERS) regarding the UV dose necessary to inactivate it.1,2
  • Upper-room UVGI systems can be used to control SARS-CoV-2 as a useful ventilation tool to consider in reducing the spread of infectious pathogens.
  • UVGI does not replace the need for cleaning or disinfecting surfaces where infectious SARS-CoV-2 droplets may be present.

Installation and Maintenance

  • Upper-room UVGI systems are generally custom designed for the space in which they will be used. Systems should be designed, installed, and tested with the help of a qualified HVAC professional or a reputable UV-system manufacturer. These professionals have the tools and experience to provide an effective and safe system, including proper installation and positioning of the fixtures, code-compliant electrical connections, and training on proper use.
  • A typical room with 500 square feet (ft2) of floor space will generally require two to three UV fixtures. The cost to install the system in a 500 ft2 space is approximately $1,500 to $2,500.
  • Once installed, the systems require little maintenance. The lamps will need to be replaced once per year, although some manufacturers offer lamps with 2-year replacement schedules. If the lamps become covered with dust, they can be cleaned when the unit is turned off by wiping with rubbing alcohol.
  • Any time maintenance on the lamps is required or workers need to access areas near the ceiling (for example, maintaining lighting fixtures, testing smoke detectors), the UV fixtures should be powered off. Maintenance workers should receive special training before working on UVGI systems.

Implementation Considerations

  • Upper-room UVGI systems have been used safely and effectively for decades. However, UV energy directed or reflected into the occupied space has the potential to cause temporary eye or skin damage. Assistance from a qualified HVAC professional or a reputable UV system manufacturer will ensure the system is installed properly so UV energy is directed above occupied space and operates safely.
  • The systems should be connected to designated electrical switches with limited access to the public and staff or volunteers not trained in managing the system. For example, consider using lockable switches or placing switches in a restricted area that only trained staff can access using a lock and key. This prevents the UV lamps from being turned on or off unintentionally and allows the fixtures to be safely powered off when necessary without fear of them being powered on during maintenance.
  • Influenza viruses are more susceptible to UV energy than the bacteria that causes TB. Thus, any upper-room UVGI system installed to help during the COVID-19 pandemic will also be useful against seasonal flu, if it is properly maintained. 3
  • UV-C energy can damage plants placed in the disinfection zone (for example, on the top of tall bookcases or high shelves). The energy can also cause fading and cosmetic blemishes to wood surfaces and wallpapers (most wall and ceiling paints are not affected). Thus, care should be taken when installing upper-room UVGI systems in spaces with ornate architectural elements and plants.

Selecting an Upper-Room UVGI System

  • Care should be taken when using UVGI in areas where people could gain access to the UVGI unit’s disinfection zone near the ceiling (for example, overhead storage, bunkbeds). This includes reviewing safety precautions, placing warning stickers where UVGI is located, and having trained staff familiar with the product.
  • CDC does not provide recommendations for, or against, any manufacturer or product. Consult with a reputable UVGI professional (a UVGI fixture manufacturer or an experienced UVGI system designer) who is familiar with NIOSH upper-room UVGI guidelines, to design and install the system. Consumers are encouraged to ask professionals for information on previous system installations, testing to ensure safety for room occupants, and training provided with the system. Do not hire a contractor who provides unsubstantiated claims or limited support throughout the design, installation, and operation phase. When hiring an expert:
    • Ask for proof of Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) registration and for a portfolio of UVGI installation projects. The facility that manufactures the UV device that is hung on the wall or suspended from the ceiling should be registered with EPA and the manufacturer should have a significant portfolio of UVGI installation projects, preferably some within medium and larger healthcare facilities.
    • Consider asking about any professional associations the UVGI manufacturer/system designer may be involved with (such as the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineersexternal icon, or ASHRAE) and if so, in what capacity are they involved.
    • Consider asking about performance guarantees that the manufacturer or professional may provide, and whether they offer ongoing maintenance or training programs for users of their products.