Operational Considerations for Containing COVID-19 in non-US Healthcare Settings

Updated May 20, 2020

Glowing polygonal map

CDC is working closely with the World Health Organization (WHO) and other partners to assist countries to prepare for and respond to COVID-19. CDC routinely provides technical assistance to ministries of health and subnational and international partners to improve our collective response to COVID-19.

To facilitate implementation of WHO COVID-19 technical guidance on infection prevention and control (IPC) activities for countries, CDC has developed operational considerations to help contain and prevent COVID-19 in healthcare facilities in non-US settings. These documents were created for healthcare facilities with limited resources (such as staff shortages and supply shortages), particularly in low- and middle-income countries.

Strategic IPC Priorities for Containing COVID-19 in Non-US Healthcare Settings

IPC is an essential component of safe health care delivery. During infectious disease outbreaks, IPC should be focused on priority activities aimed at stopping the spread of the outbreak within healthcare facilities and maintaining essential services. To do this, healthcare systems must focus on three priority activity areas:

  1. Triage of patients upon initial encounter at a healthcare facility
  2. Limiting the entry of healthcare workers and visitors with suspected COVID-19
  3. Identification and isolation of inpatients with suspected COVID-19

 

Healthcare Facility Readiness Assessment

Healthcare Facility Readiness Assessment for non-US settings pdf icon[142 KB, 6 pages]

This tool is for healthcare facilities in non-US healthcare settings to assess readiness to identify and safely manage patients with symptoms consistent with COVID-19.

COVID-19 Pandemic Preparedness and Response Planning tool

Considerations for Integrating Infection Prevention and Control into National Pandemic Preparedness and Response Planning for Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) pdf icon[199 KB, 11 pages]

This tool is intended to provide guidance and considerations for Ministries of Health and other public health authorities in non-US healthcare settings during planning and implementation of key IPC activities for COVID-19 preparedness and response.

Infection Prevention and Control Global Webinar Series: Practical IPC considerations in the fight against COVID-19

The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), in collaboration with the World Health Organization (WHO), is hosting a weekly webinar series for IPC in healthcare settings.

Speakers from CDC, WHO, and IPC professional societies around the world will focus on practical advice and implementation considerations for IPC for COVID-19. These 90-minute sessions give equal time for presentations and for answering questions. IPC professionals, Ministry of Health staff, partner organizations, and any interested healthcare workers are encouraged to participate.

Simultaneous translation is available in Arabic, French, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish. CME credit is also available.

Webinars will be held every Thursday, May 14 -July 30, 2020

US: 8:00-9:30am EDT

Latin America: 6AM El Salvador│9AM Brazil

Europe: 2:00pm CEST │ 3:00pm EEST

Africa: 12:00 pm GMT │ 1:00 pm WAT │ 2:00 pm CAST and SAST │ 3:00 pm EAT

Asia: 5:30pm IST │ 7:00 pm ICT │ 8:00 pm MYT │ 9:00pm PHT

Registration Link for UPCOMING webinar sessionexternal icon


Webinar Series Topics

Session recording and resourcesexternal icon

  • May 14: Triage of COVID-19 patients: Operational Considerations and Practical Examples
  • May 21: Healthcare facility readiness and monitoring
  • May 28: Healthcare worker risk assessment and monitoring
  • June 4: WASH in healthcare settings in the context of COVID-19
  • June 11: Assessing SARS-CoV-2 infection among healthcare workers and inpatients
  • June 18: Post-mortem considerations in the context of COVID-19
  • June 25: Cleaning and disinfection in the context of COVID-19
  • July 2: Limiting the introduction of COVID-19 in healthcare settings
  • July 9: Rational use of personal protective equipment and emergency strategies
  • July 16: Advice on the use of medical and non-medical masks
  • July 23: Considerations for SARI treatment centers
  • July 30: IPC in nursing homes and long-term care settings