2020 Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equateur Province (ongoing)


On June 1, 2020, the Ministry of Health (MOH) of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) declared the 11th outbreak of Ebola virus disease (Ebola) in western DRC following the deaths of four family members in Mbandaka, Equateur Province, between May 18 and May 30. Additional cases have since been confirmed in 5 health zones: Wangata, Iboko, Mbandaka, Bikoro, Bolomba. The Institut National de Recherche Biomédicale (INRB) in Kinshasa confirmed Ebola virus, species Zaire ebolavirus, in this outbreak.

Importantly, laboratory sequencing revealed this outbreak to be the result of a new spillover event—or a new introduction of the virus into the community, likely from an animal reservoir—and unrelated to the 2018 Eastern DRC Ebola outbreak  or the outbreak in Equateur Province in 2018. The DRC MOH, World Health Organizationexternal icon, CDC, and international partners have mobilized to provide support to the region.

Map showing 2020 Ebola Outbreak