2018 Eastern Democratic Republic of the Congo Outbreak

On June 25, 2020, WHO declared the end of the outbreak of Ebola in eastern Democratic Republic of the Congo. Visit the Ebola Outbreak section for information on current Ebola outbreaks.


On August 1, 2018, the Ministry of Health of the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) reported an outbreak of Ebola virus disease in North Kivu Provinceexternal icon.  Cases have also been reported in Ituri and South Kivu provinces. Confirmed and probable cases have been reported in twenty-nine health zones of North Kivu, South Kivu, and Ituri provinces of DRC.

Learn More