Public Safety Sector Council

Council Members

The Council has two co-chairs, one from the NIOSH Public Safety Program and one a stakeholder representative. The NIOSH Program manager, co-coordinator and assistant coordinator also help to facilitate the work of the Council. Members attend meetings and participate in workgroups. Contact the Co-Chair or the NORA Coordinator with questions or comments or to volunteer.

Current Members

Name Organization
Susan Moore
Council Co-Chair, NIOSH
Program Co-Coordinator
Jeff L. Burgess
Council Co-Chair
University of Arizona, Mel & Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health, Community, Environment & Policy Department
Maryann D’Alessandro
NIOSH Program Manager
Suzanne Marsh
NIOSH Program Co-Coordinator
Lt. Gary Backous Story County (IA) Sheriff’s Office and National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA)
Harold Boyles NIOSH
Jim Brinkley International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF)
George Broyles U.S. Forest Service
Nelson Bryner U.S. Department of Commerce National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Amanda Burstein International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP)
Corey R. Butler NIOSH
Martin Cherniak University of Connecticut Health Care
Sylvie I. Cohen Federal Bureau of Prisons
I. David Daniels International Association of Fire Chiefs/Health and Survival Section
Robert “Doug” Daniels NIOSH
Richard Duffy International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF) (Retired)
Andrea Edminston National Association of Police Organizations (NAPO)
Rita Fahy National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
Kenny Fent NIOSH
Casey C. Grant National Fire Protection Research Foundation (NFPRF)
Paula Grubb NIOSH
Jennifer Hornsby-Myers NIOSH
Bill Johnson National Association of Police Organizations (NAPO)
Travis Kubale NIOSH
Kerry Kuehl Oregon Health and Science University/Chief Health Promotion & Sports Medicine
Brian J. Maguire University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Department of Emergency Health Services
Jennifer Marshall Federal Interagency Committee for EMS/Safety, Education and Workforce Committee/NIST
Philip Mattson Department of Homeland Security, Science and Technology Directorate
Timothy Merinar NIOSH/Fire Fighter Fatality Investigation and Prevention Program
Richard Miller International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC)/Fire Service Program Manager/Safety, Health and Survivability Section
Brian Montgomery National Institute of Justice (NIJ)
Patrick Morrison International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF)
Milt Nenneman U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Science and Technology Directorate (DHS S&T)
Rick Neimiller American Jail Association (AJA)
P. Daniel Patterson University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine/Department of Emergency Medicine
Larry Petrick International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF)/Deputy Director Occupational Health & Safety
Audrey Reichard NIOSH
Nicholas Roberts Unified Police Department of Great Salt Lake (UT)
Casandra Robinson National Institute for Standards and Technology (NIST)/Standards Coordinator Office
Eric Schultz American Correctional Association (ACA)
Daniel Sheffield Fraternal Order of Police (FOP)
Denise Smith Skidmore College, Health and Exercise Sciences Department
Rick Swan International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF)/Director Wildland Firefighting Safety and Response
Hope Tiesman NIOSH
John Tippett National Fallen Firefighters Foundation (NFFF)
Gamunu Wijetunge U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
Margaret Wilson U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

A heartfelt thank you to past participants in the third decade of NORA for their contributions:

(Please note: affiliations listed were current as of the time of participation but may no longer be accurate)

Name Organization
Kitty H. Gelberg New York State Department of Health
Steve Inserra NIOSH
Paul Moore NIOSH
Peter Morris North Carolina Department of Public Safety
Andy Palmiero NIOSH
Victor Stagnaro National Fallen Firefighters Foundation (NFFF)
Joshua Scott NIOSH Educational and Research Center, University of Colorado at Denver
William Haskell NIOSH
Page last reviewed: July 20, 2017