NVDRS State Profiles

The Reach of NVDRS

State Profiles

NVDRS was created in 2002 and began collecting data from six states. By 2006, 17 states were participating, and today NVDRS is implemented in 40 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. CDC is working to have NVDRS in all states by 2019.

If data are not available for your state, you can still use the NVDRS data to better understand general patterns of violent deaths in participating states. However, keep in mind that NVDRS data are not nationally representative. We do not yet have a complete picture of violent death across the nation.

Continued development and expansion of NVDRS to all 50 states will allow CDC to provide information to inform every state’s violence prevention efforts. It will also ensure we have enhanced information on the national scope of the problem of violent deaths to monitor and track trends and to inform national violence prevention efforts.

State

Alabama
Alabama

Alabama Department of Public Healthexternal icon
RSA Tower, Suite 960
201 Monroe Street
Montgomery, AL 36104

Principal Investigator: Mr. Bob Hinds
Phone: 334-206-5616
Fax: 334-206-3788
E-mail: Bob.Hinds@adph.state.al.us

Alaska
Alaska

Alaska Department of Health and Social Servicesexternal icon
3601 C Street, Suite 540
P.O. Box 240249
Anchorage, AK 99524-0249

Principal Investigator:
Deborah Choromanski Hull-Jilly, MPH, CLS
Phone: 907-269-8078
Fax: 907-269-2041
E-mail: deborah_jilly@health.state.ak.us

Project Coordinator:
Scott Saxon
Phone: 907-269-8050
Fax: 907-269-2041
E-mail: scott_saxon@health.state.ak.us

Arizona
Arizona

Arizona State Universityexternal icon
500 N. 3rd Street, Suite 200

Principal Investigator: Charles M. Katz, Ph.D.
Phone: 602-496-1471
Fax: 602-496-1494
E-mail: ckatz@asu.edu

Arkansas
Arkansas

Arkansas Department of Healthexternal icon
4815 W Markham St
Little Rock, AR 72205

Joe Martin
Principal Investigator
501-671-1452
Joe.Martin@arkansas.gov

Austin Porter
Co-Principal Investigator
501-671-1423
aporter@uams.edu

California
California

California Department of Public Healthexternal icon
P.O. Box 997377, MS 7214
1616 Capitol Avenue, MS 7214
Sacramento, CA. 95899-7377

Principal Investigator: Steve Wirtz, Ph.D
Phone: 916-552-9831
E-mail: steve.wirtz@cdph.ca.gov

Colorado
Colorado

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Vital Statistics Program/Colorado Violent Death Reporting System
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO  80246

Principal Investigator:  Kirk Bol, MSPH
Phone: 303-692-2170
Fax: 303-691-7821
Email: kirk.bol@state.co.us

Connecticut
Connecticut

Connecticut State Department of Public Healthexternal icon
410 Capitol Avenue, MS 11-HLS
Hartford CT, 06134

Principal Investigator: Susan Logan, MS, MPH
Phone: 860-509-7248
Fax: 860-509-7855
E-mail: Susan.Logan@ct.gov

Project Manager: Mike Makowski, MPH
Phone: 860-509-7855
E-mail: Michael.Makowski@ct.gov

Delaware
Delaware

Health and Social Services Division of Public Healthexternal icon
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901-3635

Principal Investigator: Dr. Mathew Christensen
Phone: 302-744-4791
Fax: 302-739-6631
E-mail: mathew.christensen@state.de.us

District of Columbia
District of Columbia

Department of Healthexternal icon
899 North Capitol St NE
Washington, DC, 20002

Principal Investigator: John Oliver Davies‐Cole, PHD, MPH, CPM
Phone: (202) 442-9138
Mobile: (202) 834-3272
E-mail: john.davies‐cole@dc.gov

Florida
Florida

Florida Department of Healthexternal icon
4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin A-09
Tallahassee, FL 32399

Melissa Jordan
Principal Investigator
Melissa.Jordan@flhealth.gov

Alan Mai
Program Manager
850-558-9668
Alan.Mai@flhealth.gov

Georgia
Georgia

Georgia Department of Public Healthexternal icon
2 Peachtree Street NW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Principal Investigator: Rana Bayakly, MPH
Phone: 404-657-2617
Fax: 404-463-0780
E-mail: rana.bayakly@dph.ga.gov

Hawaii
Hawaii

Hawaii State Department of Healthexternal icon
Office of Health Status Monitoring
1250 Punchbowl Street
Honolulu, HI 96813

Principal Investigator: Alvin T. Onaka, Ph.D.
Phone: 808-586-4604
Fax: 808-586-4606
E-mail: alvino@hawaii.edu

Idaho
Idaho

Idaho Department of Health and Welfareexternal icon
450 W State St
Boise, ID 83702

James Aydelotte
Principal Investigator
208-334-4969
James.Aydelotte@dhw.idaho.gov

Chris Wilson
Program Manager
208-332-7371
Christopher.Wilson@dhw.idaho.gov

Illinois
Illinois

Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago
Child Health Data Lab
225 E. Chicago Ave, Box 156
Chicago, IL 60611

Principal Investigator: Maryann Mason, PhD
Phone: 312-227-7026
Fax: 312-227-9523
E-mail: mmason@luriechildrens.org

Indiana
Indiana

Indiana State Department of Healthexternal icon
Division of Trauma and Injury Prevention
2 North Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Principal Investigator: Katie Hokanson
Phone: 317-234-2865
Fax: 317-233-8199
E-mail: khokanson@isdh.in.gov

Iowa
Iowa

Office of Disability, Injury & Violence Preventionexternal icon
Iowa Department of Public Health
321 E. 12th St.
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075

Principal Investigator: Kathy Stone MSW
Program Director: Binnie LeHew MSW
Phone: 515-281-5032
Email: Kathy.Stone@idph.iowa.gov
Email: Vivian.Lehew@idph.iowa.gov

Kansas
Kansas

Bureau of Health Promotionexternal icon
Kansas Department of Health and Environment
1000 SW Jackson Street, Suite 230
Topeka, KS 66612-1274

Principle Investigator: Ryan Lester
Program Director: Lori Haskett
Phone: 785-296-8916
FAX: 785-296-8059
Email: Ryan.Lester@ks.gov
Email: Lori.Haskett@ks.gov

Kentucky
Kentucky

Kentucky Violent Death Reporting System
111 Washington Ave, Ste 110
Lexington, KY 40506

Principal Investigator: Sabrina Brown, DrPH
Phone: 859-257-6711
Fax: 859-323-2965
E-mail: Sabrina.brown@uky.edu

Phone: (502)564-9433 x 3576
Fax: (502)564-4653
Email: David.Gutierrez@ky.gov

Louisiana
Louisiana

Department of Healthexternal icon
1450 Poydras Street
Suite 2013
New Orleans, LA 70112-1277

Project Director/Principal Investigator: Jane Herwehe, MPH
Phone: 504-568-3504
E-mail: Jane.Herwehe@la.gov

Maine
Maine

Maine Office of Chief Medical Examiner
State House Station #37
Augusta, ME 04333-0037

Co-Principal Investigator: Margaret Greenwald MD
Phone: 207-624-7185
Fax: 207-624-7178
E-mail: margaret.greenwald@maine.gov

University of Maine
Margaret Chase Smith Policy Center
York Complex
Orono, ME 04469-5784

Project Director: Marcella H. Sorg, PhD
Phone: 207-581-2596
Fax: 207-581-1266
E-mail: mhsorg@maine.edu

Maryland
Maryland

Maryland Department of Health & Mental Hygieneexternal icon
201 West Preston Street
Baltimore, MD 21201

Program Coordinator: Clifford S. Mitchell, MD, MPH
Phone: 410-767-7438
Fax: 410-333-5030
E-mail: Cliff.Mitchell@maryland.gov

Massachusetts
Massachusetts

Massachusetts Department of Public Healthexternal icon
Massachusetts Violent Death Reporting System
250 Washington Street, 4th Floor
Boston, MA 02108

Principal Investigator: Lauren Larochelle
Phone: (617) 624-5664
Fax: (617) 624-5099
E-mail: lauren.larochelle@state.ma.us

Michigan
Michigan

Michigan Dept of Community Health
Injury and Violence Prevention Section
P.O. Box 30195
Lansing, MI 48909

Principal Investigator: Patricia Smith, MS
Phone: 517-335-9703
Fax: 517-335-9669
E-mail: smithpatk@michigan.gov

Minnesota
Minnesota

Minnesota Department of Healthexternal icon
Injury and Violence Prevention
85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220
PO Box 64882
St. Paul, MN 55164-0882

Principal Investigator: Jon Roesler, MS
Phone: 651-201-5487
Fax: 651-201-5800
E-mail: jon.roesler@state.mn.us

Mississippi
Mississippi

Mississippi State Department of Healthexternal icon
570 E Woodrow Wilson Ave
Jackson, MS 39216

Victor Sutton
Principal Investigator
601-206-1559
victor.sutton@msdh.ms.gov

Tasha Lock
Program Manager
Tasha.Lock@msdh.ms.gov

Missouri
Missouri

Department of Health and Senior Servicesexternal icon
920 Wildwood Drive
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Principal Investigator: Dr. Venkata Garikapaty
Phone: 573-526-0452
Fax: 573-526-0225
E-mail: Venkata.Garikapaty@health.mo.gov

Montana
Montana

Montana Department of Public Health and Human Servicesexternal icon
2401 Colonial Drive
Helena, MT 59601

Alyssa Johnson
Principal Investigator
406.444.0752
alyssa.johnson@mt.gov

Jason Butcher
Program Coordinator
406-444-3138
Jason.butcher@mt.gov

Nebraska
Nebraska

Division of Public Healthexternal icon
301 Centennial Mall So.
P. O. Box 95026
Lincoln, NE 68509-5026

Principal Investigator: Ashley Newmyer, MPH
Phone: 402-471-4377
E-mail: ashley.newmyer@nebraska.gov

New Hampshire
New Hampshire

New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Servicesexternal icon
Maternal and Child Health Section
29 Hazen Drive, 2nd Floor East
Concord, NH 03301

Principal Investigator: JoAnne Miles, MPH
Phone: 603-271-5384
Fax: 603-271-4519
E-mail:joanne.e.miles@dhhs.state.nh.us

New Jersey
New Jersey

New Jersey Department of Healthexternal icon
Center for Health Statistics
PO Box 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360

Principal Investigator: Bretta Jacquemin, MPH
Phone: 609-984-6703
Fax: 609-984-7633
E-mail: bretta.jacquemin@doh.state.nj.gov

New Mexico
New Mexico

New Mexico Department of Healthexternal icon
1190 S. St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe, NM 87505

Principal Investigator: Tierney Murphy, MD, MPH
Phone: 505-827-6816
Fax: 505-827-2796
E-mail: tierney.murphy@state.nm.us

New York
New York

New York State Department of Healthexternal icon
Bureau of Occupational Health and Injury Prevention
Empire State Plaza, Corning Tower Building, Room 1325
Albany, New York 12237

Principal Investigator: Michael Bauer, MS
Phone: 518-402-7900
E-mail: michael.bauer@health.ny.gov

Nevada
Nevada

Department of Behavioral and Public Healthexternal icon
4150 Technology Way
Carson City, NV 89706

Principal Investigator: Cody Phinney, MPH
Phone: 775.684.4200
E-mail: cphinney@health.nv.gov

North Carolina
North Carolina

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Servicesexternal icon
1915 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1915

Principal Investigator:
Scott Proescholdbell, MPH
Phone: 919-707-5442
Fax: 919-870-4844
E-mail: scott.proescholdbell@dhhs.nc.gov

Project Manager:
Tammy Norwood
Phone: 919-707-5432
Fax: 877-406-5026
E-mail: tammy.norwood@dhhs.nc.gov

North Dakota
North Dakota

North Dakota Department of Healthexternal icon
600 E Boulevard Ave Dept 301
Bismarck, ND 58505

Tracy Miller
Principal Investigator
701-328-2387
tkmiller@nd.gov

Kodi Pinks
Program Manager
kpinks@nd.gov

Ohio
Ohio

Ohio Department of Healthexternal icon
246 North High Street, 8th floor
Columbus, OH 43215

Principal Investigator:
Jolene DeFiore-Hyrmer, MPH
Phone: 614-644-0135
Email:  jolene.dhyrmer@odh.ohio.gov

Program Manager:
Luke Werhan, MPA
Phone: 614-644-8816
Fax: 614-564-2488
Email: luke.werhan@odh.ohio.gov

Oklahoma
Oklahoma

Oklahoma State Department of Healthexternal icon
1000 NE 10th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299

Principal Investigator: Brandi Woods-Littlejohn
Phone: 405-271-3430
Fax: 405-271-2799
E-mail: BrandiW@health.ok.gov

Oregon
Oregon

Oregon Public Health Divisionexternal icon
Injury & Violence Prevention Program
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 705
Portland, OR 97232-2162

Principal Investigator: Laura Chisholm, MPH, MA, MCHES
Phone: 971-673-0987
E-mail: laura.f.chisholm@state.or.us

Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Department of Healthexternal icon
Bureau of Health Promotion and Risk Reduction
Room 1008, Health & Welfare Building
625 Forster Street
Harrisburg, PA 17120-0701

Principal Investigator: Cynthia Malinen
Phone: 717-787-5900
E-mail: cmalinen@pa.gov

Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico Institute of Statisticsexternal icon
57 Quisqueya St., Suite 2000
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00917-5484

Principal Investigator: Idania Rodriguez-Ayuso, MSc, PhD
Phone: (787) 993-3337, (787)-993-3341, (787) 520-9567
E-mail: idania.rodriguez@estadisticas.pr

Rhode Island
Rhode Island

Rhode Island Department of Healthexternal icon
3 Capitol Hill, Room 407
Providence, RI 02908

Principal Investigator: Samara Viner-Brown, MS
Phone: 401-222-5122
Fax: 401-222-5517
E-mail: samara.viner-brown@health.ri.gov

South Carolina
South Carolina

South Carolina Department of Health
Mills/Jarrett Building, Box 101106
Columbia, SC 29211

Principal Investigator: Susan L. Jackson RN, MP
Phone: 803-898-7152
Fax: 803-253-4001

South Dakota
South Dakota

South Dakota Department of Healthexternal icon
615 East 4th Street
Pierre, SD 57501

Kiley Hump
Principal Investigator
605-773-3737
Kiley.hump@state.sd.us

Ashley Miller
Program Manager
Ashley.Miller@state.sd.us

Tennessee
Tennessee

Tennessee Department of Healthexternal icon
710 James Robertson Pkwy
64 Andrew Johnson Tower
Nashville, TN 37243

Margaret Hyder
Principal Investigator
423-439-8403
Margaret.Hyder@tn.gov

Wilson Koech
Program Manager/Epi
Wilson.Koech@tn.gov

Texas
Texas

Texas Department of State Health Servicesexternal icon
1100 W 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756

Dan Dao
Principal Investigator
512-776-3575
Dan.Dao@dshs.texas.gov

Utah
Utah

Utah Department of Healthexternal icon
Violence and Injury Prevention Program
PO Box 142106
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2106

Principal Investigator:
Patricia Keller, MPH, RN
Phone: 801-538-6864
Fax: 801-538-9134
E-mail: trishakeller@utah.gov

Project Coordinator: Anna Fondario
Phone: 801-538-6201
Fax: 801-538-9134
E-mail: afondario@utah.gov

Vermont
Vermont

Vermont is part of the Maine/Vermont Violent Death Reporting System, and for questions, please contact the Maine VDRS investigators.

Virginia
Virginia

Virginia Department of Healthexternal icon
Office of the Chief Medical Examiner
400 East Jackson Street
Richmond, VA 23219-3694

Principal Investigator:
Virginia Powell, PhD
Phone: 804-205-3856
Fax: 804-786-1877
E-mail: virginia.powell@vdh.virginia.gov

Washington
Washington

Washington State Department of Healthexternal icon
PO Box 47853
Olympia, WA 98504-7853

Principal Investigator: Therese Hansen
Phone: 360-236-2869
Fax: 360-236-2830
E-mail: therese.hansen@doh.wa.gov

West Virginia
West Virginia

Department of Health and Human Resourcesexternal icon
One Davis Square
Suite 100E,
Charleston, West Virginia 25301-1729

Principal Investigator: Matthew Izzo
Phone: 304-558-6920 x70314
E-mail: matthew.d.izzo@wv.gov

Wisconsin
Wisconsin

Wisconsin Department of Health Servicesexternal icon
1 West Wilson Street, Rm 233
Madison, WI 53703

Principal Investigator: Linda Hale
Email: Linda.Hale@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Project Coordinator: Brittany Grogan, MPH
Phone: 608-267-9008
Fax: 608-267-3824
E-mail: Brittany.Grogan@dhs.wi.gov

Wyoming
Wyoming

Wyoming Department of Healthexternal icon
2300 Capitol Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82001

Lindsay Martin
Principal Investigator
307-777-8034
Lindsay.martin@wyo.gov

Joe Grandpre
Program Manager
307-777-8654
Joe.grandpre@wyo.gov

Page last reviewed: January 22, 2019