Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention

Children under the age of 18 may be exposed to abuse and neglect by a parent, caregiver, or another person in a custodial role (e.g., clergy, coach, teacher). There are four common types of child abuse and neglect.

  • Physical Abuse
  • Sexual Abuse
  • Emotional Abuse
  • Neglect

CDC’s research and programs work to understand the problem of child abuse and neglect and prevent them before they begin.

Technical Package
technical package CAN cover

Preventing Child Abuse and Neglect: A Technical Package for Policy, Norm, and Programmatic Activities pdf icon[3.69 MB, 52 Pages, 508]
This technical package represents a select group of strategies based on the best available evidence to help prevent child abuse and neglect. Also available in Spanish pdf icon[21 MB, 52 Pages, 508]

Page last reviewed: March 5, 2020