Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Iain C. Hardy Memorial Award

The Iain C. Hardy Memorial Award was named after Dr. Iain Hardy, an EIS officer (1992-1993) who was known for his valuable contributions to surveillance and vaccine efficacy during a resurgence of pertussis in Ohio. Findings from a study he conducted also influenced the World Health Organization’s strategy for prevention and control of diphtheria. This award is sponsored by CDC’s National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases in partnership with the CDC Foundation, and recognizes a current EIS officer or alumnus who has made an outstanding contribution to the control of vaccine-preventable diseases.


  • 2018 Heather Scobie
  • 2017 Paul A. Gastañaduy
  • 2016 Eugene Lam
  • 2015 Minal K. Patel
  • 2014 Catherine Yen
  • 2013 James L. Goodson
  • 2012 Preeta Kutty
  • 2011 Jacqueline E. Tate
  • 2010 Amy Parker Fiebelkorn
  • 2009 Amanda Cohn and Rosalyn O’Laughlin
  • 2008 Mona Marin
  • 2007 Brendan Flannery
  • 2006 Gustavo Dayan
  • 2005 Julie Jacobson-Bell
  • 2004 Tim Uyeki and Montse Soriano-Gabarro
  • 2003 Karen A. Hennessey
  • 2002 Umesh D. Parashar
  •  2001 Orin S. Levine
  • 2000 Linda Quick and Nancy Rosenstein
  • 1999 Charles R. Vitek
  • 1998 Beth P. Bell
  • 1997 D. Rebecca Prevots
  • 1996 Peter Strebel