STAC Members

Contact STAC

Designated Federal Officer
Tania Carreón-Valencia

The Administrator of the WTC Health Program is responsible for appointing members to the STAC. The make-up of the STAC is specified in the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act of 2010. Due to a recent change in the STAC Charter, the term of a committee member may last up to four years (except for some members whose term is 3 years). If a vacancy occurs, the Administrator of the WTC Health Program will appoint a new member in the same area of expertise as the individual they replace. Once a member has completed their term, they may be appointed to additional terms.

Below is the current list of STAC members and their affiliations arranged by area of expertise:

Elizabeth M. Ward, Ph.D.
North American Associaton of Central Cancer Registries
Asheville, NC
Term: 3/19/2019 - 9/30/2021
Designated Federal Officer
Tania Carreón-Valencia, Ph.D., M.S.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Sophie Balk, M.D.
Children’s Hospital at Montefiore
Bronx, NY
Term: 10/1/2019 – 9/30/2022
Chandra Davis
BCD Consulting
Hornbeak, TN
Term: 10/1/2019 – 9/30/2022
Thomas Dydek, Ph.D., D.A.B.T., P.E.
Dydek Toxicology Consulting
Austin, TX
Term: 2/11/2019 – 9/30/2021
Anthony Flammia, M.P.S.
New York, NY
Term: 6/6/2018 - 9/30/2020
Mridu Gulati, M.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Professor
Department of Medicine
Section of Pulmonary and Critical Medicine
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT
Term: 11/1/2019 - 9/30/2020
Gregory G. Homish, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Community Health and Health Behavior
School of Public Health and Health Professions
The State University of New York at Buffalo
Buffalo, NY
Term: 5/2/2018 - 9/30/2020
Catherine McVay Hughes, M.B.A.
Manhattan Community Board 1
World Trade Center Health Program's Survivors Steering Committee
New York, NY
Term: 5/10/2018 - 9/30/2020
Debra Milek, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H.
Department of General Internal Medicine
University of Washington Medical Center
Seattle, WA
Term: 10/1/2019 – 9/30/2022
Vaylateena Jones, R.N.
New York, NY
Term: 5/1/2018 - 9/30/2020
Steven Markowitz, M.D.
Professor and Director
Center for the Biology of Natural Systems
Queens College, City University of New York
Flushing, NY
Term: 5/2/2018 - 9/30/2020
John Martell
Professional Fire Fighters of Maine
Brunswick, ME
Term: 2/13/2019 – 9/30/2021
David M. Newman, M.A., M.S.
Industrial Hygienist
EOHS Associates, LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Term: 5/1/2018 - 9/30/2020
Nicholas C. Newman, D.O., M.S., F.A.A.P.
Pediatric Environmental Health and Lead Clinic
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
Cincinnati, OH
Term: 2/20/2019 - 9/30/2021
Robin L. Sassman, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A., C.L.C.P.
Owner and President
RS Medical Consulting, PC
Boone, IA
Term: 3/8/2019 - 9/30/2021
Leigh Wilson, D.O., M.P.H.
Medical Director
Queens/Northwell Clinical Center of Excellence
World Trade Center Health Program
New York, NY
Term: 2/19/2019 – 9/30/2021