STAC Members

Contact STAC

Designated Federal Officer
Tania Carreón-Valencia

The Administrator of the WTC Health Program is responsible for appointing members to the STAC. The make-up of the STAC is specified in the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act of 2010. A STAC member's term may last up to three years (except for some of the initial members whose term is 4 years). If a vacancy occurs, the Administrator of the WTC Health Program will appoint a new member in the same area of expertise as the individual they replace. Once a member has completed their term, they may be appointed to additional terms.

Below is the current list of STAC members and their affiliations arranged by area of expertise:

Elizabeth M. Ward, Ph.D.
North American Associaton of Central Registries
Asheville, NC
Term: 2/2/2016 - 9/30/2018 (extended through 3/31/2019)
Designated Federal Officer
Tania Carreón-Valencia, Ph.D., M.S.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Anthony Flammia, M.P.S.
Miller Place, NY
Term: 6/6/2018 - 9/30/2020
Mridu Gulati, M.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Section of Pulmonary and Critical Medicine
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT
Term: 10/1/2016 - 9/30/2019
Gregory G. Homish, Ph.D.
Assoc. Prof. Dept. of Community Health and Health Behavior
School of Public Health and Health Professions
The State University of New York at Buffalo
Buffalo, NY
Term: 5/2/2018 - 9/30/2020
Catherine McVay Hughes, M.B.A.
Manhattan Community Board 1
World Trade Center Health Program's Survivors Steering Committee
New York, NY
Term: 5/10/2018 - 9/30/2020
Vaylateena Jones, R.N.
New York, NY
Term: 5/1/2018 - 9/30/2020
Steven Markowitz, M.D.
Professor and Director
Center for the Biology of Natural Systems
Queens College, City University of New York
Flushing, NY
Term: 5/2/2018 - 9/30/2020
Annyce S. Mayer, M.D., M.S.P.H.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine, Division of Environmental and Occupational
National Jewish Health
Denver, CO
Term: 2/1/2016 - 9/30/2018 (extended through 3/31/2019)
David M. Newman, M.A., M.S.
Industrial Hygients
EOHS Associates, LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Term: 5/1/2018 - 9/30/2020
Lila Nordstrom
Founder and Executive Director
West Hollywood, CA
Term: 10/1/2016 - 9/30/2019
William N. Rom, M.D., M.P.H.
Sol and Judith Bergstein Professor of Medicine
New York University School of Medicine
New York, NY
Term: 2/2/2016 - 9/30/2018 (extended through 3/31/2019)
Margaret Angela Kappel Ryan, M.D., M.P.H.
Adjunct Professor
Dept. of Family Medicine and Public Health
University of California-San Diego
San Diego, CA
Term: 2/12/2016 - 9/30/2018 (extended through 3/31/2019)
Sheela Sathyanarayana, M.D., M.P.H.
Attending Physician
Center for Health, Behavior, and Development
Seattle Children's Research Institute
Seattle, WA
Term: 10/1/2016 - 9/30/2019
Micki Siegel de Hernández, M.P.H.
Health and Safety Director
District 1
Communications Workers of America
New York, NY
Term: 10/1/2016 - 9/30/2019
Glenn Talaska, Ph.D.
Professor and Associate Director Emeritus
Department of Environmental Health
University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati, OH
Term: 2/1/2016 - 9/30/2018 (extended through 3/31/2019)
Marc Wilkenfeld, M.D.
Division of Occupational Medicine, Department of Medicine
Winthrop University Hospital
Garden City, NY
Term: 10/1/2016 - 9/30/2019