PCD logo

Geographic Differences in Preconception Health Indicators Among Ohio Women Who Delivered Live Births, 2019–2021


The state of Ohio and each of its 88 counties. Ohio has 4 mutually exclusive types of counties: Appalachian, which spans rural to metropolitan areas; metropolitan; rural non-Appalachian; and suburban. Among the counties in Ohio, 31 are Appalachian, 12 are metropolitan, 29 are rural non-Appalachian, and 16 are suburban.


Ohio county types, developed by Ohio Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics based on county population size and county designation by the Appalachian Regional Commission (7).

Return to Article


Error processing SSI file

The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions.