About the Charles C. Shepard Science Awards

Established in 1986, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention/Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (CDC/ATSDR) Charles C. Shepard Science Awards were named in honor of Dr. Charles C. Shepard, M.D., the internationally recognized microbiologist who was Chief of the Leprosy and Rickettsia Branch at CDC for more than 30 years, until his death on February 18, 1985. The Charles C. Shepard Science Awards recognizes excellence in science at CDC and ATSDR.  An award is presented for scientific publications in the following areas: Assessment, Prevention and Control, Laboratory Science, Data Methods and Study Design, and Health Equity Science. An award is also presented for lifetime scientific achievement. For scientific publications, the award is presented to CDC/ATSDR scientists for the best original research manuscript published in a reputable, peer-reviewed journal. For lifetime scientific achievement, the award recognizes an individual with a body of scientific work contributing to public health.

To learn more about the history of Dr. Shepard’s career and the history of the awards, please see the Awards History page.