Development of the Guidelines

These guidelines are the culmination of a consensus process based on available evidence-based data. DGMQ began to develop the guidelines in September 2006. The guidelines are planned to encompass 14 areas to be addressed during the domestic medical screening visit or on the initial primary care follow-up visit.

Each section is written by a disease expert familiar with refugee health, referring to evidence-based published reports. The draft section is then reviewed by refugee health and subject-matter experts outside CDC. The sections receive further critical review and editing in an official clearance process within CDC. Subsequently, a Federal Partners Working Group critically reviews the documents. This working group includes representatives from the Offices of Refugee Resettlement, Global Health Affairs, and Population, Refugee and Migration (Department of State) and the Substance Abuse and Mental Service Administration. Finally, a representative elected body of State Refugee Health Coordinators, the Medical Screening Protocol Working Group, critically reviews each section.

The completed documents will be posted on this website as they become available.

We thank those who participated in creating these guidelines:

Primary Authors
  • Cristina Baker (Tuberculosis)
  • Elizabeth Barnett (Immunizations)
  • Maria Cano (STI/Syphilis)
  • Rajal Mody (Lead)
  • Suzinne Pak-Gorstein (Nutrition, Growth and Development)
  • Doug Pryce (Vitamin D)
  • Meghan Rothenberger (History and Physical)
  • Dan Savin (Mental Health)
  • Dean Tsukyama (Tuberculosis)
  • John Tuskan (Mental Health)
  • Louise E Vaz (HIV)
  • Judd Walson (HIV)
Expert Reviewers
  • Elizabeth Barnett
  • Gulshan Bhatia
  • David Boulware
  • Jennifer Cochran
  • Kris Ehresman
  • David Eisenman
  • Phil Fischer
  • Carlos Franco-Paredes
  • Paul Geltman
  • Ann Giesel
  • Olga Gorbacheva
  • Christine Greenaway
  • Keith Henry
  • Michael Holick
  • Randy Hurley
  • Jim Jaranson
  • Chandy John
  • Georgi Krupin
  • Alan Magill
  • Stacene Maroushek
  • Chris May
  • Kathy Moser
  • Masa Narita
  • Cindy Nelson
  • Suzinne Pak-Gorstein
  • Mrinal Patanik
  • Mara Rabin
  • Brian Rock
  • Ann Settgast
  • Patricia Shannon
  • Margaret Simpson
  • Deb Sodt
  • Jeff Starke
  • Steve Swanson
  • Paul Swoboda
  • Dean Tsukyama
  • Patricia Walker