Roster of the Advisory Committee on Breast Cancer in Young Women

Chair

Christina M. Checka, MD

Associate Professor
Breast Surgical Oncology
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
League City, TX 77573
E-mail: cmchecka@mdanderson.org
Term: 5/17/2021–11/30/2024

Executive Secretary

Jeremy McCallister

Designated Federal Official
Office of Policy, Partnership and Communication
Division of Cancer Prevention and Control
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
4770 Buford Highway NE, MS S107-4
Atlanta, GA 30341
Phone: 404-639-7989
Fax: 770-488-4760
E-mail: isn8@cdc.gov

Members

Heather Caro, MBA-HM, BSN

Alliance Manager
Caris Life Sciences
Coeur d’Alene, ID 83814
E-mail: hcaro2454@gmail.com
Term: 5/13/2021–11/30/2022

Lisa Astalos Chism, DNP, APRN, NCMP, CSC, FAANP

Clinical Director, Breast Imaging Services
Certified Menopause Practitioner
Certified Sexuality Counselor
Oakland Macomb Obstetrics & Gynecology Associates
Assistant Adjunct Professor University of Tennessee Memphis, School of Nursing
Rochester Hills, MI 48307
E-mail: lchism@oamaobgyn.com
Term: 4/4/2019–11/30/2021

Carletta Cunningham

Breast Cancer Survivor
Clarkdale, GA 30111-9998
E-mail: carlycunn@yahoo.com
Term: 4/2/2019–11/30/2021

Jana Halaby

Director, Corporate Strategy
Illumina
La Jolla, CA 92037
E-mail: janahalaby@gmail.com
Term: 5/12/2021–11/30/2022

Michael A. Howard, MD

Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery
Northwestern Medicine
Division of Plastic Surgery
Lake Forest, IL 60045
E-mail: michael.howard@nm.org
Term: 5/14/2021–11/30/2024

Leigh Hurst

Founder & Executive Director
Feel Your Boobies Foundation
Harrisburg, PA 17111
E-mail: leigh@feelyourboobies.com
Term: 5/13/2021–11/30/2024

Kenneth Lin, MD, MPH

Professor of Family Medicine
Georgetown University Medical Center
Washington, DC 20007
E-mail: kwl4@georgetown.edu
Term: 4/8/2019–11/30/2021

Rachel M. Mayo, PhD, MA

Professor
Clemson University
Department of Public Health Sciences
Clemson, SC 29634
E-mail: rmayo@clemson.edu
Term: 4/17/2018–11/30/2021

Heather Ochs-Balcom, PhD

Associate Professor
Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health
University at Buffalo, School of Public Health and Health Professions
Buffalo, NY 14214-8001
E-mail: hmochs2@buffalo.edu
Term: 5/12/2021–11/30/2023

Nicole B. Saphier, MD

Director of Breast Imaging
Memorial Sloan-Kettering, Monmouth
Department of Radiology
Middletown, NJ 07748
E-mail: nbsaphier@gmail.com
Term: 5/14/2018–11/30/2022

Rebecca Seago-Coyle

Breast Cancer Survivor
Bend, OR 97701
E-mail: rseago.coyle@gmail.com
Term: 5/12/2021–11/30/2022

Elissa Thorner, MHS

Sexual Health Counselor
Silver Spring MD 20802
E-mail: elissadayle@gmail.com
Term: 4/16/2019–11/30/2021

Mylin A. Torres, MD

Co-leader, Cancer Prevention Control Research Program
Winship Cancer Institute
Associate Professor
Department of Radiation Oncology
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA 30322
E-mail: matorre@emory.edu
Term: 4/8/2019–11/30/2021

Joyce Tannenbaum Turner, MS, CGC

Director, Cancer Genetic Counseling Program
Children’s National Medical Center
Washington, DC 20010
E-mail: jturner@childrensnational.org
Term: 4/20/2018–11/30/2022

Ex Officio Members

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Camille Fabiyi, PhD, MPH

Senior Advisor for Women’s Health and Gender Research
Office of Extramural Research, Education, and Priority Populations
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
5600 Fishers Lane
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone: 301-427-1559
Fax: 301-480-0785
E-mail: camille.fabiyi@ahrq.hhs.gov

Department of Health and Human Services Office on Women’s Health

Vacant

Health Resources and Services Administration

Nancy Mautone-Smith, MSW, LCSW

Deputy Director
HRSA Office of Women’s Health
5600 Fishers Lane, Room 11N-05
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone: 301-945-5146
E-mail: NMautone-Smith@hrsa.gov

Indian Health Service

Vacant

National Institutes of Health

Jung-Min Lee, MD

Investigator
Lasker Clinical Research Scholar
Women’s Malignancies Branch
Center for Cancer Research
National Cancer Institute
10 Center Drive, MSC 1906, Room 13N218
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 240-760-6128
Fax: 240-541-4546
E-mail: leej6@mail.nih.gov

Liaison Representatives

American Cancer Society

Vacant

American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Myrlene Jeudy, MD

Assistant Professor in Obstetrics and Gynecology
American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology
1250 East Marshall Street, 6th Floor
P.O. Box 980034
Richmond, VA 23298
Phone: 804-828-7877
Fax: 804-628-3585
E-mail: myjeudy@gmail.com

Avon

Vacant

Black Women’s Health Imperative

Vacant

Breastcancer.org

Marisa C. Weiss, MD

President and Founder
Breastcancer.org
120 East Lancaster Avenue, Suite 201
Ardmore, PA 19003
Phone: 610-642-6550
Fax: 610-642-6559
E-mail: mweiss@breastcancer.org

Bright Pink

Lindsay Avner

Founder and Chairman of the Board
Bright Pink
670 N. Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60654
Phone: 312-787-4412
E-mail: Lindsay@BeBrightPink.org

FORCE: Facing Our Risk of Cancer Empowered

Sue Friedman, DVM

Executive Director
FORCE: Facing Our Risk of Cancer Empowered
16057 Tampa Palms Boulevard. W., PMB #373
Tampa, FL 33647
Phone: 954-255-8732
Fax:954-827-2200
E-mail: suefriedman@facingourrisk.org

LIVESTRONG, The Lance Armstrong Foundation

Vacant

Living Beyond Breast Cancer

Arin Ahlum Hanson, MPH, CHES

Manager, Young Women’s Initiative
Living Beyond Breast Cancer
354 West Lancaster Avenue, Suite 224
Haverford, PA 19041
Phone: 610-645-4567
Fax: 610-645-4573
E-mail: arin@lbbc.org

The National Patient Advocate Foundation

Shonta Chambers, MSW

Executive Vice President, Health Equity Initiatives and Programs
Patient Advocate Foundation
421 Butler Farm Road
Hampton, VA 72366
Phone: 757-952-2544
Fax: 757-952-2533
E-mail: Shonta.Chambers@patientadvocate.org

Sharsheret

Elana Silber, MBA

Executive Director
Sharsheret
1086 Teaneck Road, Site 2G
Teaneck, NJ 07666
Phone: 201-833-2341
Fax: 201-837-5025
E-mail: esilber@sharsheret.org

Sisters Network, Inc.

Vacant

Susan G. Komen for the Cure

Susan Brown, MS, RN

Senior Director, Education & Patient Support
Susan G. Komen
5005 LBJ Freeway, Suite 526
Dallas, TX 75244
Phone: 972-855-1635
E-mail: sbrown@komen.org

Tigerlily Foundation

Maimah S. Karmo

Chief Executive Officer
Tigerlily Foundation
11654 Plaza America Drive, #725
Reston, VA 20190
Phone: 888-580-6253
Fax: 703-663-9844
E-mail: maimah@tigerlilyfoundation.org

Young Survival Coalition

Jennifer Merschdorf, MBA

Chief Executive Officer
Young Survival Coalition
80 Broad Street, Suite 1700
New York, NY 10004
Phone: 646-257-3001
Fax: 646-257-3030
E-mail: jmerschdorf@youngsurvival.org

Committee Management Specialist

Carolyn P.R. Headley, MSPH, CGMP

Public Health Analyst
Office of Policy, Partnerships, and Communication
Division of Cancer Prevention and Control
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
4770 Buford Highway NE, MS S107-4
Atlanta, GA 30341
Phone: 770-488-4237
Fax: 770-488-4760
E-mail: ihg6@cdc.gov