Directory of NIOSH Offices and Key Personnel

At a glance

View NIOSH leadership and facility locations, learn about our Divisions, and find information on how to contact us.

shadow of three people

Contact NIOSH

Contact NIOSH‎

Contact CDC-INFO ·1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636) · TTY 1-888-232-6348
Customer Service Representatives are available in English en Español
8:00am-8:00pm EST, Monday – Friday (Closed Holidays)

Organizational Chart

Office of the Director


  • John Howard, MD, Director
  • John Piacentino, MD, Deputy Director for Program
  • Maria Strickland, MPH, Chief of Staff
  • Christina Spring, MA, Associate Director, Communication and Research to Practice
  • Rene Pana-Cryan, PhD, Chief Economist, Economic Research and Support Office


  • Kelley A. Durst, MPA, Deputy Director for Management
  • L. Casey Chosewood, MD, Associate Director for Strategic Priorities
  • CAPT Chad Dowell, Associate Director for Preparedness and Response
  • Mina Hartsfield, Associate Director for Financial Resources
  • Lore Jackson Lee, MPH, Associate Director for Planning and Performance
  • Bill Brinkley, Director of Information Technology Operations
  • Mike Loudermilk, Associate Director of Information Technology
  • George Luxbacher, PhD, Associate Deputy Director, Mine Safety and Research
  • Rashaun Roberts, PhD, Associate Director for Diversity and Inclusion
  • J. Kent Slakey, Associate Director of Human Capital/CDC Management Officer


  • Dawn Castillo, MPH, Director for Office of Extramural Programs
  • Nicholas Gipson, Associate Director for Facilities Management


  • Scott Earnest, PhD, Associate Director for Construction Safety and Health
  • CAPT Marie A. de Perio, MD, Associate Director for Science
  • Jennifer Lincoln, PhD, Associate Director for Agriculture Safety and Health

Divisions and Programs

Division of Compensation Analysis and Support (DCAS)
Cincinnati (Taft), Ohio
Grady Calhoun, Director
Lavon Rutherford, Deputy Director

Division of Safety Research (DSR)
Morgantown, West Virginia
John Powers, Acting Director
John Powers, Deputy Director

Division of Field Studies and Engineering (DFSE)
Cincinnati (Taft), Ohio
Lauralynn McKernan, PhD, Director
Josh Harney, Deputy Director

Division of Science Integration (DSI)
Cincinnati (Taft), Ohio
Christine Whittaker, PhD, Director
CAPT Sarah Unthank, MS, Deputy Director

Health Effects Laboratory Division (HELD)
Morgantown, West Virginia
Ray Wells, PhD, Director
Brett Green, PhD, Deputy Director

National Personal Protective Technology Laboratory (NPPTL)
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Maryann D’Alessandro, PhD, Director
Jon Szalajda, Deputy Director

Pittsburgh Mining Research Division (PMRD)
NIOSH Mining Program
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Stephen G. Sawyer, Jr., PhD, Director
Carin Kosmoski, PhD, Deputy Director

Spokane Mining Research Division (SMRD)
NIOSH Mining Program
Spokane, Washington
Doug Johns, PhD, Director
Cara Halldin, PhD, Deputy Director

Respiratory Health Division (RHD)
Morgantown, West Virginia
David N. Weissman, MD, Director
Lewis Radonovich, MD, Deputy Director

Western States Division (WSD)
Spokane, Washington
CAPT Ryan Hill, MPH, Director
Kara Perritt, MS, Deputy Director

World Trade Center Health Program (WTCHP)
Washington, DC
CAPT Lisa Delaney, MS, Director

NIOSH Facilities

Grace Hall, 4230 University Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508

2400 Century Parkway NE (4th Floor), Atlanta, GA 30345
Mailing Address: CDC/NIOSH 1600 Clifton Road, NE MS: E-20 (for OEP MS: E-74), Atlanta, GA 30329-4018

Hamilton Laboratory: 5555 Ridge Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45213
Taft Laboratory: 1090 Tusculum Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45226
Mailing Address: Taft North, 1090 Tusculum Avenue Cincinnati, OH 45226

Denver Federal Center, 6th Avenue & Kipling Street, Building 25, Lakewood, CO 80225
Mailing Address: Denver Field Office P.O. Box 25226, Denver, CO 80225

1095 Willowdale Road, Morgantown, WV 26505-2888
Mailing Address: 1000 Frederick Lane Morgantown, WV 26508

626 Cochrans Mill Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15236

315 E. Montgomery, Spokane, WA 99207

400 7th Street S.W., Suite 5W, Washington, D.C. 20024

Other Contacts

NIOSH Institutional Review Board

Human Resources Management Office
Atlanta Human Resources Center
4770 Buford Highway Mailstop K-08
Atlanta, GA 30341
(770) 488-1725 | (770) 488-11228 (TTY)

Health and Human Services (HHS) Employee Directory