Comprehensive Suicide Prevention

Image of two people clasping hands

The Comprehensive Suicide Prevention Program (CDC-RFA-CE20-2001external icon) is a cooperative agreement funded by CDC’s National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (NCIPC) and awarded to 11 recipients to implement and evaluate a comprehensive public health approach to suicide prevention, with attention to vulnerable populations. A comprehensive approach to suicide prevention is characterized by:

  • Strong leadership that convenes multi-sectoral partnerships
  • Prioritization of data to identify vulnerable populations and to better characterize risk and protective factors impacting suicide
  • Leveraging existing suicide prevention programs
  • Selection of multiple and complementary strategies with the best available evidence to fill gaps
  • Effective communication
  • Rigorous evaluation of the overall approach and individual activities for quality improvement and sustainability

The 11 funding recipients are:

  • California Department of Public Health
  • Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
  • Connecticut Department of Public Health
  • Louisiana Department of Health
  • Maine Department of Health and Human Services
  • Massachusetts Department of Public Health
  • Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
  • North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
  • Tennessee Department of Health
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • Vermont Department of Health

To support this program, CDC is committing approximately $8.5 million per year for five years. A key outcome of this funding is a 10% reduction in suicide and suicide attempts among vulnerable populations. Through these cooperative agreements, CDC aims to build a national program that will help reverse increasing suicide trends across our nation and contribute to the national goal of reducing suicide by 20% by 2025.

Find out more about what CDC is doing to prevent suicide. Visit CDC’s Suicide Prevention webpage.