Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Areas with Risk of Yellow Fever Virus Transmission in South America

	Map: South America showing areas at risk for Yellow Fever Transmision in Columbia, Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname, French Guiana, Brazil, Paraguay, and parts of Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Argentina, and Uruguay

Map is current as of March 2014. This map is an updated version of the 2010 map created by the Informal WHO Working Group on the Geographic Risk of Yellow Fever.

See the traveler's health website for any recent updates on risk areas

Download South America Map pdf version [PDF - 1 page]

Data Table: Countries with risk of yellow fever virus (YFV) transmission1

  • Argentina2
  • Bolivia2
  • Brazil2
  • Colombia2
  • Ecuador2
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Panama2
  • Paraguay
  • Peru2
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago2
  • Venezuela2

1Countries/areas where “a risk of yellow fever transmission is present,” as defined by the World Health Organization, are countries or areas where “yellow fever has been reported currently or in the past, plus vectors and animal reservoirs currently exist”.

2These countries are not holoendemic (only a portion of the country has risk of yellow fever transmission).