展望无烟未来

一群不同的人与烟火

新一年的开始意味着回顾和反思过去,展望未来。当您开始一个新的十年时,下定决定戒烟。无论您的烟龄有多长,把戒烟作为您的新年愿望永不会迟!

Rico 是 Tips From Former Smokers® (Tips) 运动的参与者,在 45 岁时医生告诉他患有癌症后,他不得不为自己的未来认真思考一番。 Rico 从 14 岁就开始吸烟,但当他被诊断出癌症时,他知道是时候做出改变了。他想和妻子和孩子们共度的时光更长一些。 即使这是个艰难的过程,Rico 告诉Tips:“我成功戒掉了烟,这样女儿在未来的日子不用靠回忆才能见到我。”

您可能和 Rico 一样,为永久戒烟找到很多重要的理由。下定决心戒烟是朝着更长寿、更健康的人生迈进的第一步,而这人生会充满崭新的回忆。

现在正是时候

任何时候戒烟都可以帮助改善您的健康,即使您已经患有与吸烟相关的疾病,就像 Rico 一样。在戒烟后的几个月内,您会发现您咳嗽少了,呼吸也轻松了。戒烟后一两年内,您心脏病发作的风险也会降低。随着无烟时间的延长,您也降低了自己患肺癌和其他多种癌症的风险。

请记住,彻底戒烟并不容易,但是,确有可能。

“作为一名成功戒烟者,我知道戒烟有多难,”Rico 说。他补充道,“但这是可以做到的。”

支持是获得更大成功的源泉

如果您是烟民并想戒烟,您并不孤单 — 大约每 10 个吸烟的美国成年人中就有 7 个人想戒烟。戒烟无需孤军奋战。 Rico 得到了妻子和姐姐的支持,并通过惦念着自己的孩子成长来激励自己继续努力。

除了朋友和家人,那些想戒烟的人比以往有更多的选择来获得支持。您可以在需要时随时随地获得免费的个性化支持,包括通过电话、短信、网页、聊天或智能手机应用程序获得帮助。

拨打州戒烟专线,与在线戒烟顾问联系。他们可以给您介绍当地的戒烟资源,并可能协助您获得尼古丁贴片或口香糖等尼古丁替代疗法 (NRT)。研究表明,将戒烟咨询与戒烟药物结合使用可以让戒烟者获得最佳戒烟体验。与医疗保健提供者或专线戒烟顾问交谈,可帮助您决定最适合您的资源和工具。

让吸烟成为过去

不管您是在去年、过去十年,还是上个世纪开始吸烟,现在开始戒烟都不算晚。即使您以前尝试过,為了一個更健康的未來,現在是時候再試一次了。

如果您的亲人想戒烟,您可以和他们分享下面的资源。 让他们知道您会在其戒烟过程的每一步都给予支持。

现年 54 岁的 Rico 已经戒烟成功,他期待着在余下的日子与妻子和妹妹多共度时光,亲眼看着自己的孩子成长生活。

获取更多帮助

Looking Toward a Smokefree Future

Group of diverse people with sparklers

The start of a new year means a time to look back and reflect on the year behind us, and to think about the future. As you begin a new decade, keep in mind that it’s never too late to make a New Year’s resolution to quit smoking—no matter how long you’ve smoked!

Rico, a participant in the Tips From Former Smokers® (Tips) campaign, had to think hard about his future after doctors told him he had cancer at age 45. Rico had smoked cigarettes since he was 14 years old, but when he was diagnosed with cancer, he knew it was time to make a change. He wanted to be there for his wife and children. Even though it was a difficult journey, Rico told Tips: “I quit so I’d be more than a memory to my daughter.”

Like Rico, you can probably find many important reasons to quit smoking for good. A resolution to quit is a step toward a longer, healthier life full of new memories.

The Right Time is Right Now

Tips participant Rico and his daughter

Quitting smoking at any time can help improve your health, even if you already have a smoking-related disease, like Rico. Within a few months of quitting, you may find that you cough less and breathe easier. Within a year or two after quitting smoking, your risk for a heart attack will also decrease. As you stay smokefree for longer, you lower your risk of getting lung cancer and many other kinds of cancer.

Keep in mind that quitting for good is not easy, but it is possible.

“As a former smoker, I know how hard it is to quit,” Rico said. He added, “But it can be done.”

Support Leads to Greater Success

If you smoke and want to quit, you aren’t alone – about 7 in 10 US adults who smoke want to quit. Quitting doesn’t have to be a lonely battle. Rico had the support of his wife and sister, and motivated himself to keep trying by thinking about watching his kids grow up.

Along with friends and family, people who want to quit smoking have more options than ever for support. You can get free customized support where and when you need it, including help by phone, text, web, chat, or a smartphone app.

Contacting a state quitline can put you in touch with a live quit coach, and can also direct you to local cessation resources and possibly help you get nicotine replacement therapy (NRT) such as nicotine patches or gum. Studies show that using cessation counseling together with cessation medications gives people the best chance of quitting. Talking with your health care provider or a quitline coach can help you decide on the resources and tools that work best for you.

Put Smoking in the Past

Whether you started smoking last year, last decade, or last century, it’s not too late to quit. Even if you’ve tried before, now is the time to try again and look toward a healthier future.

If someone you love is trying to quit smoking, you can share the resources on this page with them. Let them know you’ll be there for them every step of the way on their quit journey.

Now 54 years old and still smokefree, Rico looks forward to spending more time with his wife and sister and seeing his children experience life.