National Network of STD Clinical Prevention Training Centers (NNPTC)

The National Network of STD Clinical Prevention Training Centers (NNPTC) is a CDC-funded group of regional centers created in partnership with health departments and universities. NNPTC is dedicated to increasing the knowledge and skills of health professionals in the areas of sexual and reproductive health. Awarded April 1, 2020 for a five-year project period, the NNPTC provides health professionals with a spectrum of state-of-the-art educational opportunities, including experiential learning, with an emphasis on prevention. The prevention training centers will develop, disseminate and evaluate training and training assistance to improve STD care at the clinical provider, healthcare organization, and system levels.

The three components of the project (award recipients for CDC-RFA-PS20-2004) are:

  • Component A Regional Centers
    Columbia University, Denver Public Health, Johns Hopkins University, Massachusetts Department of Public Health, University of Alabama (Southeastern Prevention Training Center), University of California, San Francisco, University of Washington, and Washington University, St. Louis
  • Component B National STD Prevention Training Centers Coordination Center (NPTC3)
    Denver Public Health
  • Component C National STD Curriculum Center (NSTDC)
    University of Washington
Map of NNPTC NOFO Recipients with states by regional training centers
DITC NOFO Recipients
Columbia University Denver Public Health Johns Hopkins University Massachusetts Department of Public Health
  • Indiana
  • Michigan
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Puerto Rico
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Oklahoma
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wyoming
  • Delaware
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Virginia
  • Washington, DC
  • West Virginia
  • Connecticut
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont
DITC NOFO Recipients
University of Alabama University of California, San Francisco University of Washington Washington University, St. Louis
  • Alabama
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Hawaii
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • Alaska
  • Idaho
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • North Dakota
  • Oregon
  • South Dakota
  • Washington
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • Wisconsin

Prevention Training Centers Face, Overcome Obstacles During the COVID-19 Pandemic

For over 40 years, the National Network of STD Clinical Prevention Training Centers (NNPTC) have been at the forefront of the U.S.’s public health strategy to counter the spread of sexually transmitted diseases (STDs)—providing reliable resources and solutions for clinicians and researchers, from direct physician guidance and advice offered through the STD Clinical Consultation Network, to comprehensive educational support delivered by the National STD Curriculum Center. As the COVID-19 pandemic spread in 2020, it ushered in new complications for these efforts, but the NNPTC proved the public’s trust was well-placed as they pivoted in new ways to continue to address crucial STD prevention and treatment needs around the country.


The National STD Curriculum Podcast, launched in fall 2020, explores innovative and significant STD issues in brief monthly episodes. Each episode reviews influential oral abstracts from conferences and key literature, and all are available on most podcast apps or on the website (, which also features transcripts and references.


The regional Prevention Training Centers (PTCs) serve as reliable learning hubs for STD clinicians, providing a variety of treatment options and training resources. These trusted institutions have traditionally offered many learning opportunities in person, but in a post-COVID-19 world, they have entered a new era, one that includes revamped online training programs delivered on strengthened virtual platforms —innovations that have inspired increased participant engagement and satisfaction. Each of the PTCs has pivoted to meet the demands of the new normal in public health and clinical guidance, and have successfully incorporated virtual training methods into their instructional toolkits.

Success Stories
Success Story
This extensive educational and healthcare training system, with four national and eight regional training centers throughout the U.S., ensures clinicians have access to crucial clinical resources to help diagnose, treat, and prevent STDs.
Thumbnail - Click to open PDF
Two stories of PTCs in St. Louis and Denver whose innovative projects have gone above and beyond to meet the needs of providers.