State Ebola Protocols

The 2014 Ebola epidemic is the largest in history, affecting multiple countries in West Africa. Two imported cases, including one death, and two locally acquired cases in healthcare workers have been reported in the United States. CDC and partners are taking precautions to prevent the further spread of Ebola within the United States.

CDC/CSTLTS Public Health Law Program and Office of the Associate Director for Policy compiled an Interim Table of State Ebola Screening and Monitoring Policies for Asymptomatic Individuals[PDF 1MB] to help law and policy makers prepare for and respond to Ebola-related situations. Information provided and conclusions reached in this table are based only on publicly available orders, protocol documentation, and press releases. This table will be updated as states create or revise their Ebola protocols; please revisit this page often for the most current information.

CDC’s Ebola (Ebola Virus Disease) web page contains more information and the most current alerts.

Map of the State Ebola Screening and Monitoring Policies for Asymptomatic Individuals as of August 31, 2015. States that have a more restrictive policy as compared to CDC guidance are:Delaware,District of Columbia,Florida,Georgia ,Indiana ,Iowa ,Kansas,Kentucky,Louisiana,Maine,Maryland,Mississippi ,New Hampshire,New Jersey ,New York,Ohio,Texas,Virginia.States that have a policy that are equivalent to CDC guidance are:Alabama,Alaska,Arizona ,Arkansas,California ,Connecticut ,Colorado,Hawaii,Idaho,Illinois ,Massachusetts,Michigan ,Minnesota,Missouri ,Montana,Nebraska,Nevada,New Mexico ,North Carolina ,North Dakota ,Northern Mariana Islands ,Oklahoma,Oregon,Pennsylvania ,Puerto Rico ,Rhode Island,South Carolina ,South Dakota,Tennessee ,Utah,Vermont ,Washington ,West Virginia ,Wisconsin ,Wyoming. States that have a less restrictive policy as compared to CDC guidance are: None. States where it is unclear whether their policy is more restrictive than, equivalent to, or less restrictive than CDC guidance are: Virgin Islands. States that do not have an Ebola Screening and Monitoring Policy for Asymptomatic Individuals are: American Samoa, Guam.