Dengue in the US States and Territories

  • Dengue outbreaks occasionally occur in the continental United States.
  • Dengue is common in the US territories of Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, and American Samoa.
  • Nearly all dengue cases reported in the 48 contiguous US states were in travelers infected elsewhere.
  • In the United States, local dengue outbreaks most recently occurred in Hawaii (2015), Floridaexternal icon (2013, 2020), and Texas (2013).
    • Most outbreaks in the United States have been relatively small and limited to small areas.
    • Because the types of mosquitoes that spread dengue are common throughout many areas of the United States, local spread of dengue is possible.
  • Maps of reported dengue cases (local spread pdf icon[PDF – 1 page] and imported cases pdf icon[PDF – 1 page]) in the United States