免责声明:本网站持续更新。在所有内容翻译完成之前,其中一些内容可能为英文。

重要更新:医疗保健设施
为了应对COVID-19免疫接种,CDC更新了有效运行医疗保健系统的选择方法。了解更多
更新
根据B.1.617.2 (Delta) 变种病毒的新证据,CDC更新了全剂量接种疫苗人群指导方针。CDC建议所有教师、工作人员、学生和K-12学校的访客,无论疫苗接种状况如何,均应在室内普遍佩戴口罩。孩子们应在秋季恢复全日制实地校园学习,并采取分层预防策略。
更新
白宫宣布,从2021年11月8日起,进入美国的国际旅行者必须接种疫苗。要进入美国,接种的疫苗必须是FDA批准或授权以及列入WHO紧急使用清单的疫苗。点击此处获取更多信息。
更新
自2021年11月8日开始,进入美国的旅行要求将会改变。点击此处获取更多信息。

抗体和COVID-19

抗体和COVID-19

抗体和免疫系统

攻击SARS-CoV-2病毒的抗体图示
定义
  • 免疫系统是一个由细胞、组织和器官组成的复杂网络,它们协同工作以保护身体免受感染。
  • 抗体是免疫系统制造的蛋白质,可帮助抵抗感染并保护人们免于日后生病。
攻击SARS-CoV-2病毒的抗体图示

感染病毒或细菌时,免疫系统会产生专门的抗体来对抗它。免疫系统也可以安全地学习通过免疫接种来制造抗体。一旦拥有针对特定疾病的抗体,它们就能提供免于生病的某种保护。即使确实生病,拥有抗体也可以保护人们免患重病,因为身体会有一定的抗击疾病的经验。这种保护的持续时间可能因疾病、个人情况而异,或受其他因素的影响。抗体只是免疫反应的一部分。

抗体和COVID-19

可在COVID-19康复者或接种COVID-19疫苗者的血液中检测到COVID-19致病病毒SARS-CoV-2的抗体。接种疫苗比接种COVID-19更安全,建议所有5岁及以上的人接种COVID-19疫苗。如果某人已经感染COVID-19,则针对COVID-19的免疫接种会增加他们身体的抗体反应,从而提高其保护能力。

重要的是要记住,一些具有SARS-CoV-2抗体的人可能会在免疫接种后感染(疫苗突破性感染)或从过去感染中康复后感染(再次感染 )。根据我们目前所知,在感染了经实验室检测诊断为COVID-19致病病毒后,至少在头6个月内再次感染的风险很低。全剂量接种者感染COVID-19,这称为疫苗突破性感染。没有疫苗100%有效,因此预计会出现一些突破性感染。与未接种疫苗者相比,接种疫苗者感染、重症、住院和死亡的风险都低得多。当发生再次感染或突破性感染时,抗体在帮助预防重症、住院和死亡方面起着重要作用。

对于包括COVID-19在内的许多疾病,预计抗体会随着时间的推移而减少或“减弱”。经过足够长的时间后,抗体水平会降低到可提供有效保护的水平以下。此水平称为“保护阈值”。当抗体降低到保护阈值以下时,可能会变得更易于患上重病。我们还不知道COVID-19致病病毒的抗体保护阈值是多少,或者这些抗体需要多长时间才会减弱。即使在抗体减弱之后,免疫系统中也可能有记住病毒的细胞,如果发生感染,这些细胞可以迅速采取行动保护人们免受重病的侵害。全世界的科学家目前都在研究这些课题。

­我有COVID-19抗体。这意味着什么?

抗体检测结果呈阳性有助于识别曾感染过COVID-19或接种过COVID-19疫苗的人。如果您有COVID-19症状或对当前COVID-19病例进行诊断,则不应使用抗体检测。这是因为大多数免疫系统健康的人在感染COVID-19后需要1到3周才能产生抗体。建议采用病毒检测以确定COVID-19致病病毒的当前感染。我们还提供有关抗体检测的作用和用途的更多信息。

大多数抗体检测结果呈阳性的人可以继续正常活动,包括工作,但仍应采取措施保护自己和他人,包括接种疫苗。

研究表明,因感染COVID-19致病病毒而产生抗体的人可以通过接种疫苗来提高他们的保护水平。

仅凭抗体检测阳性结果,尤其当感染时间未知或病毒检测结果于6个多月前确定时,并不一定意味着您对COVID-19免疫。如果您做过抗体检测,请务必与您的医疗服务提供者一起查看您的检测结果。

科学家如何研究抗体?

抗体科学被称为“血清学”。抗体测试也称为“血清学检测”,可识别血液样本中的抗体。虽然免疫系统的其他部分也可提供保护,但检测抗体是最容易的。

截至2021年8月,超过80项抗体检测external icon已获得FDA紧急使用授权 (EUA) ,用于检测SARS-CoV-2的抗体。科学家们正在使用这些抗体检测来进一步了解保护人们免受COVID-19感染所需的抗体水平(保护阈值)以及这种保护持续多长时间。在收集和评估此类信息的同时,FDA目前不建议将抗体检测用于常规、广泛的个人医疗决策。如果您对抗体检测是否适合您有疑问,请咨询您的医疗服务提供者或所在州或当地卫生部门。

并非所有抗体检测都能识别相同的抗体。一些抗体检测对抗体蛋白的特定部分比其他检测或多或少敏感。这意味着不同的抗体检测可能不会得到相同的结果,即使它们都是检测针对SARS-CoV-2的抗体。科学家利用检测中的这些差异来帮助回答有关免疫系统如何对COVID-19致病病毒做出反应的不同研究问题,并提高我们对COVID-19的理解。

SARS-CoV-2抗体告诉我们如何应对COVID-19的哪些信息?

随着科学家对SARS-CoV-2抗体的了解越多,我们将更加明白如何治疗和控制COVID-19。

血清学监测(调查人群中抗体的研究)提供关于抗COVID-19的抗体保护持续多长时间的信息,以及具有感染抗体的人与具有疫苗抗体的人之间的这种保护是否不同,或两者都有。

我们还可以更多地了解哪些人群产生的抗体可能没有其他人那么多,或者维持抗体的时间没有其他人长,例如免疫系统受损的人与免疫系统健康的人相比。这对于决定是否需要接种额外疫苗针剂或加强针剂、何时建议以及优先接种人群的确定都是非常重要的信息。

我们还可以了解SARS-CoV-2的抗体是否可以针对COVID-19致病病毒新变种提供相同的保护。

抗体测验

现在您已经了解了抗体和COVID-19,请通过互动测验来检测自己的知识。

Important update: Healthcare facilities
CDC has updated select ways to operate healthcare systems effectively in response to COVID-19 vaccination. Learn more
To maximize protection from the Delta variant and prevent possibly spreading it to others, get vaccinated as soon as you can and wear a mask indoors in public if you are in an area of substantial or high transmission.
UPDATE
Given new evidence on the B.1.617.2 (Delta) variant, CDC has updated the guidance for fully vaccinated people. CDC recommends universal indoor masking for all teachers, staff, students, and visitors to K-12 schools, regardless of vaccination status. Children should return to full-time in-person learning in the fall with layered prevention strategies in place.
UPDATE
The White House announced that vaccines will be required for international travelers coming into the United States, with an effective date of November 8, 2021. For purposes of entry into the United States, vaccines accepted will include FDA approved or authorized and WHO Emergency Use Listing vaccines. More information is available here.
UPDATE
Travel requirements to enter the United States are changing, starting November 8, 2021. More information is available here.

Antibodies and COVID-19

Antibodies and COVID-19

Antibodies and the immune system

Illustration of antibodies attacking SARS-CoV-2 virus
DEFINITIONS
  • The immune system is a complex network of cells, tissues, and organs that work together to protect the body from infection.
  • Antibodies are proteins that your immune system makes to help fight infection and protect you from getting sick in the future.
Illustration of antibodies attacking SARS-CoV-2 virus

When you are infected with a virus or bacteria, your immune system makes antibodies specifically to fight it. Your immune system can also safely learn to make antibodies through vaccination. Once you have antibodies to a particular disease, they provide some protection from that disease. Even if you do get sick, having antibodies can protect you from getting severely ill because your body has some experience in fighting that disease. How long this protection lasts can be different for each disease, each person, or influenced by other factors. Antibodies are just one part of your immune response.

Antibodies and COVID-19

Antibodies to SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, can be detected in the blood of people who have recovered from COVID-19 or people who have been vaccinated against COVID-19. Getting a vaccine is safer than getting COVID-19, and vaccination against COVID-19 is recommended for everyone 5 years of age and older. If someone has already had COVID-19, vaccination against COVID-19 increases their body’s antibody response, which improves their protection.

It is important to remember that some people with antibodies to SARS-CoV-2 may become infected after vaccination (vaccine breakthrough infection) or after recovering from a past infection (reinfected). Based on what we know right now, risk of reinfection is low for at least the first 6 months following an infection with the virus that causes COVID-19 diagnosed by a laboratory test. When someone who is fully vaccinated gets COVID-19, it is called a vaccine breakthrough infection. No vaccine is 100% effective, so some breakthrough infections are expected. The risk of infection, severe illness, hospitalization, and death are all much lower for vaccinated people compared to people who are unvaccinated. When reinfections or breakthrough infections happen, having antibodies plays an important role in helping prevent severe illness, hospitalization, and death.

For many diseases, including COVID-19, antibodies are expected to decrease or “wane” over time. After a long enough period of time, your level of antibodies can decrease below a level that provides effective protection. This level is called the “threshold of protection.” When antibodies decrease below the threshold of protection, you may become more vulnerable to severe illness. We do not yet know what the threshold of protection for antibodies is for the virus that causes COVID-19 or how long it takes these antibodies to wane. Even after antibodies wane, your immune system may have cells that remember the virus that can act quickly to protect you from severe illness if you become infected. These topics are being researched by scientists all over the world.

­I have COVID-19 antibodies. What does it mean?

A positive antibody test result can help identify someone who has had COVID-19 in the past or has been vaccinated against COVID-19. Antibody tests are not used if you have symptoms of COVID-19 or for diagnosing a current case of COVID-19. This is because it takes most people with a healthy immune system 1 to 3 weeks after getting COVID-19 to develop antibodies. A viral test is recommended to identify a current infection with the virus that causes COVID-19. More information about the role and uses of antibody testing is available.

Most people who have a positive antibody test result can continue with normal activities, including work, but they should still take steps to protect themselves and others, including getting vaccinated.

Studies show that people who have antibodies from an infection with the virus that causes COVID-19 can improve their level of protection by getting vaccinated.

A positive antibody test result alone, especially one from an infection at an unknown time or that was determined by a viral test more than 6 months ago, does not necessarily mean that you are immune to getting COVID-19. If you have had an antibody test, it is important to review your test results with your healthcare provider.

How do scientists study antibodies?

The science of antibodies is called “serology.” Antibody tests, also called “serology tests,” identify antibodies in blood samples. While other parts of the immune system also contribute to protection, it is easiest to test for antibodies.

As of August 2021, more than 80 antibody testsexternal icon have been granted FDA emergency use authorization (EUA) to detect antibodies to SARS-CoV-2. Scientists are using these antibody tests to learn more about the level of antibodies needed to protect people from COVID-19 (threshold of protection) and how long this protection lasts. Antibody tests are not currently recommended by FDA for routine, widespread use in making individual medical decisions while this information is being gathered and evaluated. If you have questions about whether an antibody test is right for you, talk with your healthcare provider or your state or local health department.

Not all antibody tests identify the same antibodies. Some antibody tests are more or less sensitive to specific sections of the antibody protein than others. This means that different antibody tests might not have the same results, even when they are both testing for antibodies to SARS-CoV-2. Scientists use these differences in tests to help answer different research questions about how immune systems respond to the virus that causes COVID-19 and to improve our understanding of COVID-19.

What information do antibodies to SARS-CoV-2 tell us about how to respond to COVID-19?

As scientists learn more about the antibodies to SARS-CoV-2, we will understand a lot more about how to treat and control COVID-19.

Serological surveillance (studies that investigate antibodies in the population) provides information about how long antibody protection against COVID-19 lasts and if this protection is different among people who have antibodies from infection, compared with people who have antibodies from vaccination, or both.

We can also learn more about which groups of people might not produce as many antibodies or maintain them as long as others—for example, immunocompromised people compared with people who have healthy immune systems. This is important information for making decisions about whether or not additional vaccine doses or boosters are needed, when they would be recommended, and who would need them first.

We can also learn if antibodies to SARS-CoV-2 provide the same protection against new variants of the virus that causes COVID-19.

Antibody quiz

Now that you’ve learned about antibodies and COVID-19, test your knowledge with an interactive quiz.