免责声明:本网站持续更新。在所有内容翻译完成之前,其中一些内容可能为英文。

新安置的难民群体 COVID-19 疫情

新安置的难民群体 COVID-19 疫情

来到美国的难民,特别是那些最近重新安置的难民,可能会经历使他们面临感染COVID-19更大风险的生活安排或工作条件。与其他美国人相比,一些难民获得医疗服务的机会有限,而且某些基础疾病也使他们面临COVID-19重症更高风险。

难民即由于合理地恐惧针对种族、宗教、民族或政见的迫害而被迫离开他们国家的人。从2008年至2019年,近750,000名难民在美国得到安置,自那以后也有数千人获得安置。

难民有资格获得美国政府资助的安置帮助,包括医疗福利,例如到达后长达8个月的短期医疗保险以及到达后90天内的医学检查。

COVID-19对安置难民生命生活的影响还未可知,因为COVID-19是一种新疾病。满足难民的医疗和日常需求(特别是在突发卫生事件期间)有利于保持社区安全。

难民抵达美国时的指导方针

难民来自世界各地,为他们服务的专业人员需要了解来自难民本国的健康风险,包括COVID-19风险。CDC的旅行健康通知是其中一种资源,帮助旅行者(包括难民)了解全球目的地的COVID-19风险。了解CDC如何确定目的地的COVID-19旅行健康通知级别

公共卫生专业人员、社区组织、安置机构和医疗服务提供者可以帮助抵达美国的难民,向他们提供保护自己免于感染COVID-19所需的信息。

  • CDC的难民欢迎手册pdf icon提供了重要信息,帮助抵达美国的难民及其家人在COVID-19疫情期间保持健康。与新抵达的难民交谈时,当地难民卫生合作伙伴和安置机构工作人员应重申欢迎手册中的要点,并向他们提供当地和州的COVID-19信息以及医疗服务提供者的联系信息。
  • CDC为入境难民提供关于入境旅行者旅行之后的有用信息。

COVID-19疫情期间如何保护难民健康

希望帮助难民的团体和已经服务于难民的团体可以分享关于COVID-19预防、症状和自我管理的文化敏感资源。卫生及公共服务部、难民安置办公室(ORR)提供与上述合作伙伴联系的主要州联络人员external icon名单。

公共卫生专业人员可以:

  • 收集难民中的COVID-19患者的社会人口学和临床特点,以了解风险。
  • 与合作伙伴分享关于COVID-19的信息和现有资源。与安置机构和其他合作伙伴,如雇主、保健系统和教育、宗教、交通和住房组织合作,寻找方法来打破妨碍COVID-19预防工作的社会和经济阻碍。
  • 确定和确保在疫情期间为支持难民社区的服务提供资金,例如为检疫隔离或病情隔离的难民提供全面服务(如临时住房和儿童看护)、流动检测、健康教育和接触史追踪。
  • 制作适合难民人口的健康宣传视听材料。考虑突出社区中值得信任的成员。用不同的语言制作针对不同文化和文化水平的材料。根据适合当地难民群体的情况,通过各种渠道传播信息,包括通过消息应用、本地电台和社交媒体。
  • 确保针对难民的接触史追踪计划具有文化敏感性,并纳入使用医疗口译服务的培训。熟悉难民工作的社区卫生工作者和患者医疗向导应加入接触史追踪项目。
  • 传达(根据需要翻译)关于在疫情期间向难民提供的服务的信息,如食物和租金援助,以及将对难民产生影响的信息,如学校或企业重新开放和行政命令。
  • 与卫生系统和社区伙伴合作,在难民社区确定提供免费或低费用COVID-19检测的重点地区,例如流动检测或在工作场所和宗教机构内进行检测。这些活动可以由可信赖的社区领袖推动,以鼓励参与。确保在检测地点提供现场口译或电话口译。
  • 医疗人员和医疗卫生系统提供背景信息,了解在美国定居的特定难民群体的主要人口、文化和健康特征,以及这些人群的医疗保健注意事项,例如CDC的难民健康档案CDC的难民健康指导方针

社区组织和安置机构可以:

  • 分享COVID-19资源,这些资源对于社区、工作、学校和家庭环境具有文化响应性。口头宣传(例如通过电话或视频通话)和/或通过广播或短信宣传是有效的通信方法。
  • 动员难民社区中值得信任的个人,如社区领袖和社区卫生工作者参与支持卫生教育工作并传递关键的预防信息。结合健康教育和问答 (Q/A) 环节的虚拟社区小组会议可能是传递信息的有用方式。
  • 为难民提供服务,帮助他们了解什么是接触史追踪,以及为什么公共卫生工作者需要找到与COVID-19患者有过接触的人。
  • 与难民社区的社区卫生工作者合作,对人们进行COVID-19方面的教育,讨论在需要时如何在家庭中安全隔离检疫隔离的策略,并为难民提供免费或低费用的服务。
  • 在不同的企业和服务部门开展工作,帮助患病或COVID-19检测呈阳性的难民,协助他们完成失业福利、食品福利、租赁/公用事业援助(如有需要)的申请,以及杂货递送或临时住房等服务。确保在临时住房设施中与家人或朋友失散的难民能够与亲人交流,并确保他们的文化需求得到支持。
  • 与合作伙伴合作,在难民患病或COVID-19检测呈阳性时,为难民提供所需的医疗保健和社区资源,包括药品、健康护理提供者和心理健康服务。
  • 帮助难民获取预防COVID-19传播的物品,例如口罩、肥皂、免洗手消毒液或家用清洁剂。

雇主可以:

  • 查看并实施CDC的企业和雇主指导方针,提醒管理人员确保遵循最佳实践。
  • 保持灵活的休假政策。允许生病或必须照顾他人的员工安心待在家中,不必担心被解雇或受到其他惩罚。其他灵活方法可能包括预支未来病假天数,以及允许员工互赠病假。
  • 允许员工在不提供医生证明或COVID-19检测结果的情况下使用病假,并在病假后返回工作岗位。
  • 为员工提供符合其语言、文化水平和文化的COVID-19预防信息和培训。
  • 根据情况需要,提供布制面罩、免洗手消毒液、洗手台和个人防护用品。
  • 制定对所有员工平等的政策和实践,让员工尽可能与彼此和客户保持身体距离
  • 让组织各级员工接受有关发现和制止各种形式歧视的培训;为员工提供有关隐性偏见external icon的培训。

医疗卫生系统和健康护理提供者可以:

  • 确保提供者在提供COVID-19检测和护理时体现对文化external icon认识和尊重external icon
  • 在所有相关环境中提供语言口译服务,例如电话分诊和接收、住院单位和门诊病人服务。
  • 了解患者在预防、检测和控制COVID--19方面遇到的阻碍,然后与移民安置机构和其他合作伙伴合作以减少这些阻碍。
  • 联系患者并收集他们最新的联系信息、首选联络方式,以及如果他们家里有人感染COVID-19时的保持联络计划。
  • 如果难民有能力并且能够参加虚拟诊所就诊,请尽可能将远程医疗纳入医疗机构。诸如患者医疗向导之类的临床支持人员可以协助指导难民如何使用虚拟远程医疗应用程序。
  • 分享资源,使用文化敏感方法对患者进行COVID-19教育,包括症状和对健康的潜在影响、传播(包括无症状传播)、如何保护自己和他人、接触史追踪的目的和过程,以及在需要时如何获得检测和护理。尽可能加强关键预防信息(例如分类)的教育。
  • 当患者被转诊接受检测时,提供有关要遵守的程序(例如检疫隔离、隔离)说明,直到他们获得检测结果。向患者解释检测结果的含义以及何时终止检疫隔离或病情隔离。同样,这些应该通过口译服务来完成。
  • 帮助新到达的患有基础疾病的难民与那些可以帮助他们制定并持续其护理计划的社区合作伙伴建立联系,并帮助他们获得所需用品和药物。

为什么难民在COVID-19疫情期间可能面临更高风险

由于社会和经济条件,经安置的难民面临着与某些美国少数种族和民族群体一样的挑战。这些挑战导致更差的健康条件。新的医疗系统和获取他们能够理解的医疗信息,也是难民需要面对的挑战。

生活条件和个人情况

对于很多被安置难民来说,他们的生活条件可能让预防COVID-19或在感染生病时寻求治疗变得困难。

  • 几代人同住一所房子可能使得保护年老的家庭成员和患有基础疾病的任何年龄段成员(例如糖尿病或哮喘)变得困难。这也可能将难以隔离生病的成员,特别是在生活空间很小(例如公寓或小房子)的情况下。
  • 居住在远离卫生保健、杂货店或药店的社区(城市或农村),患病时可能更难以获得护理,也更难以储备药品或其他用品。
  • 缺少个人交通工具(如汽车)让到达医疗机构、工作或商店变得困难。难民依赖公共交通工具(例如公交车、拼车和火车),而某些区域内的这些交通方式有限,特别是在当前的全球流行病期间。
  • 无法获得电视、广播或网络服务可能让获取关于COVID-19的信息变得困难。难民可能无法阅读或理解英语,一些难民甚至对自己母语的读写能力也有限。
  • 还未融入社区可能限制了潜在的支持以及与朋友、宗教领袖或社区组织的联系。

工作条件

通过安置机构的帮助,难民通常从事初级工作,而这些工作类型和工作场所政策可能增加感染COVID-19的风险。可能增加风险的两个因素:

  • 关键工作人员:基本服务行业中(例如肉类包装工厂、日常百货店和工厂)的难民工作人员感染的风险更高。即使其社区内出现疫情爆发,这些工作人员仍然需要在工作现场工作,并且很多人若待在家里则在经济方面负担不起。这些工作类型中的一些要求与公众接触并与同事近距离接触,增加了他们感染或传播COVID-19的风险。
  • 没有病假:没有带薪病假的难民更可能在生病或接触COVID-19患者时继续工作。这意味着他们更可能将COVID-19传播给其他员工,包括通常在同一处设施工作的其他难民。

基础疾病和较少获得护理的机会

一些难民患有基础疾病并面临获得医疗护理的障碍,这让他们感染COVID-19的风险更高。这些障碍包括:

  • 没有医疗保险:在安置机构的帮助下,难民在早期安置期间可以获得医疗护理。但是,在其短期医疗保险失效后,50%的难民没有保险。
  • 语言障碍:语言障碍可能影响每个阶段医疗服务的获得,从预约、到表达健康状况、到开药或到按处方服药。语言障碍还可能妨碍难民获得使用非常见日常用语、没有视觉辅助和文化相关性的书面COVID-19信息。健康护理提供者、诊所或社区团体可以提供口译服务,帮助他们填补这些不足。
  • 基础疾病和心理健康状况:与美国一般人群相比,难民可能患有某些导致COVID-19重症更高风险的基础疾病(例如糖尿病),以及心理健康状况(例如创伤后应激障碍和抑郁症)。由于多年没有定期的预防护理,这些情况可能得不到很好的控制。
  • 污名化和感到歧视:这些问题可能妨碍难民寻求检测或护理,也无法就自己的医疗需求对健康保健提供者诚实说明。

除了这些障碍以外,难民具备来自安置机构、社区团体、州难民协调员external icon以及健康护理提供者的支持。州、地方和社区的COVID-19应对措施应联合难民社区信任的这些资源团体的COVID-19应对措施。

纸巾盒图标

在这个流感季节保护您的健康

流感病毒和导致COVID-19的病毒都有可能会在今年秋冬季节传播。以下是有关流感季节您应该知道的内容,包括如何通过接种流感疫苗保护自己和家人免于流感感染。

2020年9月11日最后更新

COVID-19 in Newly Resettled Refugee Populations

COVID-19 in Newly Resettled Refugee Populations

Refugees to the United States, especially those who are recently resettled, may be in living or working conditions that put them at risk of getting COVID-19. Some refugees also have limited access to health care, as well as certain underlying medical conditions that put them at higher risk of more severe illness from COVID-19, compared to the rest of the U.S. population.

A refugee is someone who has been forced to flee their country because of a well-founded fear of persecution for reasons of race, religion, nationality, or political opinion. Nearly 750,000 refugees resettled in the United States from 2008 to 2019, and thousands more have resettled since then.

Refugees are eligible for U.S. government-funded resettlement help, including healthcare benefits such as short-term health insurance for up to 8 months after arrival, and a medical exam within 90 days of arrival.

The impact of COVID-19 on the lives of resettled refugees remains unknown, as COVID-19 is a new disease. Meeting the healthcare and everyday needs of refugees, especially during health emergencies, can help keep communities safe.

Guidance for Refugees Upon Arrival in the United States

Refugees come from diverse regions of the world, and professionals working with them need to understand the health risks in the countries they are departing, including the risk of COVID-19. One resource is CDC’s Travel Health Notices, which notifies travelers and other audiences about the risk of COVID-19 in destinations around the world. Learn how CDC determines the level of a country’s COVID-19 Travel Health Notice.

Public health professionals, community organizations, resettlement agencies, and healthcare providers can assist refugees arriving in the United States by providing them with information they need to protect themselves from COVID-19.

  • CDC’s After You Travel recommendations for inbound international travelers provides useful information for arriving refugees.
  • When talking with newly arrived refugees, local refugee health partners and resettlement agency staff should reiterate concepts in the Welcome booklet for refugees and provide them with local and state COVID-19 information and contact information for healthcare providers.

What Can Be Done for Refugee Health During the COVID-19 Pandemic

Groups that want to help refugees and those who already serve refugees can share culturally sensitive resources on COVID-19 prevention, symptoms, and self-management. The Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Refugee Resettlement (ORR) provides a list of key state contactsexternal icon who can connect to these partners.

Public health professionals can:

  • Collect data about the sociodemographic and clinical characteristics of refugees who have COVID-19 to understand risk and identify appropriate methods to communicate prevention and control messages to refugee communities.
  • Share information and work with resettlement agencies and other partners, such as health care systems and education, faith-based, employer, transportation, and housing organizations to find ways to break down social and economic barriers that block COVID-19 prevention efforts.
  • Create health promotion multimedia materials in different languages that are appropriate for different cultures and/or literacy levels. These materials should be in print and online formats, including social media, so partners can use what is appropriate for their local refugee groups.
  • Communicate often about COVID-19 with partners that assist refugees to learn about the impact of the disease on different refugee groups. Use these findings to better understand cultural, economic, social, and health factors among refugees that may have implications for them during the COVID-19 pandemic. Make sure the tailored communication is, clear, transparent, and credible.
  • Provide background information for healthcare professionals and health systems to understand key demographic, cultural, and health characteristics of specific refugee groups resettling in the United States and health care considerations for these populations, such as CDC’s Refugee Health Profiles and the CDC’s Refugee Health Guidelines.

Community organizations and resettlement agencies can:

  • Share COVID-19 resources that are culturally sensitive for community, work, school, and home settings.
  • Train community health workers in refugee communities to educate people about COVID-19 and link refugees to free or low-cost services.
  • Work across different businesses and services to connect refugees with services, such as grocery delivery support or temporary housing, that help them practice social distancing, especially when individuals or household members become sick or test positive for COVID-19.
  • Work with partners to connect refugees with the community resources they need when refugees become sick or test positive for COVID-19, including medicines, healthcare providers, and mental health services.
  • Help refugees get access to items to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, such as masks, soap, hand sanitizer, or household cleaners.

Healthcare systems and healthcare providers can:

  • Provide language interpretation services in all relevant settings, such as phone triage and intake, inpatient units, and outpatient services.
  • Learn about patients’ barriers to COVID-19 prevention, and then work with resettlement agencies and other partners to reduce them.
  • Reach out to patients and gather their updated contact information, preferred method of communication, and a plan for staying in contact if someone in their home gets sick with COVID-19.
  • Where possible, incorporate telemedicine into health care settings if refugees have the means and are able to conduct virtual clinic visits.
  • Share resources that use a culturally sensitive approach to educate patients about the impact of COVID-19, how to stay protected, and how to get care safely when needed.
  • Connect newly arrived refugees who have underlying medical conditions to community partners that can help them develop and continue with their care plans and help them get needed supplies and medicines.

Why Refugees May Be at Higher Risk During COVID-19 Outbreak

Due to social and economic conditions, resettled refugees face many of the same challenges that lead to poorer health for some racial and ethnic minority groups in the United States.  Refugees also face the challenges of a new healthcare system and finding health information they can understand.

Living conditions and personal circumstances

What Refugees Can do if they are at increased risk of severe illness from COVID-19 - thumbnail

What Refugees Can do if They are at Increased Risk of Severe Illness from COVID-19

For many resettled refugees, their living conditions may make it hard to prevent getting sick with COVID-19, or to seek treatment if they do get sick.

  • Several generations residing in one house can make it hard to protect older family members, as well as those of any age who have certain underlying medical conditions, such as diabetes or asthma. This may also make it difficult to isolate those who are sick, especially if living space is small, such as an apartment or a small house.
  • Living in neighborhoods (urban or rural) that are far from healthcare, grocery stores or pharmacies can make it harder to get care if sick, and more difficult to stock up on medicines or other supplies.
  • Lack of personal transportation such as a car can make it difficult to get to healthcare facilities, work, or stores. Refugees rely on public transportation such as buses, ride share, and trains, which are limited in some areas, especially during the current pandemic.
  • Lack of access to television, radio, or Internet can make it difficult to get information about COVID-19. Refugees may not be able to read or understand English.
  • Not yet being integrated into the community can limit potential support and links to friends, religious leaders, or community organizations.

Work circumstances

With the help of resettlement agencies, refugees often work in entry-level jobs, where the type of work, and workplace policies, can increase the risk of getting sick with COVID-19. Two factors may increase risk:

  • Being a critical worker: The risk of infection may be greater for refugee workers in essential industries, such as meat-packing plants, grocery stores, and factories. These workers often are required to be at the job site despite outbreaks in their communities, and many can’t afford to stay home. Some of these kinds of jobs require public contact and close contact among fellow workers, increasing the risk of getting or spreading COVID-19.
  • Not having sick leave: Refugees without paid sick leave may be more likely to keep working when they are sick or be exposed to someone who is sick with COVID-19—which means that they are more likely to spread COVID-19 to other  workers, including other refugees who oftentimes work in the same facilities.

Underlying medical conditions and lower access to care

Some refugees have underlying medical conditions and face barriers to healthcare, which may put them at higher risk of COVID-19. These include:

  • Lack of health insurance: Refugees can access healthcare in the early resettlement period, with the help of resettlement agencies. However, after their short-term health insurance expires, up to 50% of refugees may be uninsured.
  • Language barriers: Language barriers can affect healthcare access at every stage, from making an appointment, to relaying health concerns, to filling a prescription, or to taking medicine as prescribed. Language barriers may also prevent refugees from getting COVID-19 information that is not written using common everyday words with visuals and culturally relevant. Healthcare providers, clinics, or community groups can provide interpretation services to help fill these gaps.
  • Underlying medical and mental health conditions: Compared to the general U.S. population, refugees may have certain underlying medical conditions (for example, diabetes) that put them at higher risk of more severe illness from COVID-19, as well as mental health conditions (e.g., post-traumatic stress disorder and depression). These conditions may be poorly controlled due to many years without regular preventative care.
  • Stigma and perceived discrimination: These issues may prevent refugees from seeking care or being honest with their healthcare providers about their health needs.

Despite these barriers, refugees have the support of resettlement agencies, community groups, state refugee coordinatorsexternal icon, and healthcare providers. State, local, and community response to COVID-19 should include working with these resource groups in their COVID-19 response efforts, who are trusted members of refugee communities.