免责声明:本网站持续更新。在所有内容翻译完成之前,其中一些内容可能为英文。

重要更新:医疗保健设施
为了应对COVID-19免疫接种,CDC更新了有效运行医疗保健系统的选择方法。了解更多
更新
根据B.1.617.2 (Delta) 变种病毒的新证据,CDC更新了全剂量接种疫苗人群指导方针。CDC建议所有教师、工作人员、学生和K-12学校的访客,无论疫苗接种状况如何,均应在室内普遍佩戴口罩。孩子们应在秋季恢复全日制实地校园学习,并采取分层预防策略。
更新
白宫宣布,从2021年11月8日起,进入美国的国际旅行者必须接种疫苗。要进入美国,接种的疫苗必须是FDA批准或授权以及列入WHO紧急使用清单的疫苗。点击此处获取更多信息。
更新
自2021年11月8日开始,进入美国的旅行要求将会改变。点击此处获取更多信息。

非医疗环境中的COVID-19病例调查和应对

非医疗环境中的COVID-19病例调查和应对

近期变更总结

  • 删除或更新存档页面的链接。
  • 添加了有关考虑员工免疫接种状态的信息。

目的:工作场所可能会给COVID-19调查和公共卫生行动带来特殊挑战。由于许多工作场所可能是拥挤的环境,而且许多工作涉及与公众的大量互动,这些环境很容易使病毒在员工之间传播。本页信息可用于应对非医疗工作环境中的个别病例和疫情。

其他相关资源包括

在医疗环境中应对员工和患者病例的标准和指导方针

OSHA对于一般工作场所的指导方针:

卫生部门优先考虑非医疗工作场所调查的注意事项:

某些特定类型非医疗工作场所的资源:

背景

许多人一天中大部分时间都在工作,经常与其他员工和公众在一起(在24小时内距离感染者 [实验室确诊或临床诊断]不到6英尺,累计时间共15分钟或更长)。重要的是要认识到并采取行动防止包括COVID-19在内的传染病在工作场所传播。工作场所缓解策略包括促进员工免疫接种、禁止受感染员工进入工作场所、开展病例调查和接触者追踪、优化通风、强制执行室内佩戴口罩政策、保持身体距离以及卫生和清洁。审查和确认工作场所因素(例如工作方法、政策和流程)和员工因素(例如人口统计、健康的社会决定因素以及语言或识字障碍)可以帮助州和地方卫生部门以及雇主确定在工作场所和社区内导致疾病传播的环境。此外,某些工作场所和员工因素可能有助于深入了解健康差异如何影响感染率和疾病结果。

疾病调查中的职业和行业数据收集

在病例调查和随后的接触者追踪期间收集有关个人工作(例如职业和行业)的信息可能有助于及早识别更广泛的病毒传播和潜在的工作场所疫情。收集这些数据的指导方针可在国家职业安全与健康研究所 (NIOSH) 主题页面收集和使用行业和职业数据以及州和地区流行病学家委员会 (CSTE) 职业健康文档收集有关COVID-19就业信息的建议临时指导方针pdf iconexternal icon中查找。

除正式病例报告调查工作外,员工、雇主、员工组织或医疗服务提供者还应向公共卫生当局 (PHA) 或职业安全与健康管理局 (OSHA) 办公室external icon报告工作场所的COVID-19病例集群情况。PHA应考虑主动建议其管辖范围内的任何雇主,如果在非住宅和非医疗工作场所与COVID-19患者有过密切接触的员工中出现2个或更多病例,应通知公共卫生部门。对于易于疾病快速传播的特殊工作或生活环境,例如长期护理机构,即使在员工或居民中只有一个病例,也建议报告。

传染病病例调查(包括接触者追踪)的法定权力属于州、地方和地区卫生部门 (SLTHD) 的PHA。CDC鼓励雇主和卫生部门合作调查工作场所接触COVID-19的情况。但是,鉴于公共卫生部门在疾病控制方面的权力和责任以及雇主的利益和能力水平,应在地方层面协商角色和责任。

尽管此处所述的许多注意事项和工具最适用于应对在固定地点(例如工厂或办公楼)工作的员工病例,但考虑流动员工群体的职业风险也很重要,例如交通运营员工、拼车司机、送餐司机、建筑承包商和在客户家中工作的人员(例如托儿服务提供者、清洁工)。 同样重要的是,要考虑到疾病传播可以在工作场所和社区之间双向传播的情况。

PHA应与当地商业社区和其他与雇主和员工合作的组织保持通畅的沟通渠道,以确保员工之间及时分享COVID-19的相关信息。

州和地方卫生部门在调查非医疗工作场所COVID-19集群时的注意事项

 调查工作场所病例集群的一般方法

当在工作场所发现COVID-19病例时,公共卫生当局 (PHA) 应确定是否需要进行疫情调查。CDC鼓励雇主和卫生部门合作调查工作场所接触COVID-19的情况;但是,传染病病例调查的法定权力属于PHA。虽然工作场所调查应遵循与其他疫情调查相同的一般方法,但在工作环境中考虑具体信息可能会有所帮助。疫情调查可以包括四个部分:

  • 接触、工程和工作惯例评估,包括评估员工获得免疫接种、接受和接种率的情况
  • 流行病学调查
  • 病历审查
  • 雇主政策和记录审查

这些组成部分有助于了解具有风险的人员、传播方式以及导致疾病传播的员工和工作场所因素,并有助于提供感染预防控制建议,以减少COVID-19传播。由于每个工作场所都有独特性,因此每种情况都将决定需要进行哪些调查来确定适当的控制措施和阻断传播。CDC的国家职业安全与健康研究所 (NIOSH)、贸易协会、工会、州级职业健康计划和学术职业健康计划可以根据需要为各个行业部门提供专业知识和指导。

在工作场所发现COVID-19病例并确定有必要进行疫情调查后,PHA应建立多学科调查小组,如果需要帮助,应与CDC合作。该团队可以包括在以下领域具有经验的合格专业人员:

  • 公共卫生
  • 职业安全与健康(包括行业卫生专家和工程师)
  • 感染预防和控制
  • 流行病学
  • 医学(职业医学,或者如果没有专科医生,则全科医生)

该团队还可以包括其他相关从业者、机构或利益相关者(例如农业机构和兽医,如果食品加工厂发生疫情)。如果工作场所的难民、移民或劳动力中的其他特殊人群比例很高,文化联系也可能会有所帮助。团队组建后,调查应与机构官员密切协商开始进行,包括职业健康计划和工会或其他员工组织(如工作场所有)。如果没有工会,则在调查过程中需要一名员工代表,以确保各方获得相同的信息。团队应遵循进行任何疫情调查的基本步骤,但要调整其方法,纳入适用于个别工作环境的原则。这包括根据行业知识和COVID-19制定一套全面的问题。

调查小组可以通过查看病例报告和面谈中已有的信息,了解与COVID-19相关的工作特性。然后可以用员工记录对这些信息进行补充,例如包括职业信息(如工作任期、职位)的名册、员工面谈或调查以及职业健康政策和程序的审查。

工作场所疫情调查组成部分

如上所述,可以使用具体信息来考虑工作场所环境的安全性。组成部分包括接触、工程和工作惯例评估;流行病学调查;病历审查;在进行工作场所疫情调查时,可以包括雇主政策和记录审查。以下提供每个组成部分的相关信息。

接触、工程和工作惯例评估

接触评估应确定可能的接触途径,评估工作场所采取和落实的控制措施,并评估雇主有效实施额外控制措施防止进一步传播COVID-19的能力。确定和控制接触职业危害是保护员工的基本方法。传统上,分层控制已被用来帮助确定实施可行和有效控制解决方案的方法。在调查的这一部分中,获得行业卫生、工程和感染控制专业人员的帮助至关重要,这些专业人员了解如何评估工作场所,并根据控制层次实施有效的程序。

分层控制包括:

流行病学调查

工作场所的流行病学调查很重要,因为它有助于更好地定义感染COVID-19的员工特征;可以深入了解工作场所内疾病的传播、流行和发病率的风险因素。工作场所流行病学调查可能包括:

如果雇主选择加强症状和疾病监测,他们应定期和系统地审查筛查结果。他们还应制定转介程序,将有CLI体征或症状的员工引导到当地公共卫生部门建立的系统,以进行进一步评估。需要注意的是,一些工作场所可能已经建立了用于员工监测、评估和检测的系统。在这些工作场所,雇主应建立系统以确保将所有检测结果报告给适当的PHA,以进行适当的跟进和调查。在某些情况下,PHA可能有权获取、监测和审查所有记录。

病历审查

工作场所集群的病历审查可包括进行病历提取,以协助调查的流行病学组成部分。 属于《健康保险流通与责任法案》(HIPAA) 项下涵盖实体external icon的个人、组织和机构必须遵守HIPAA规则。但是,HIPAA允许相关实体出于特定公共卫生目的external icon在未经授权的情况下披露受保护的健康信息。 PHA可以获取的记录包括:

  • 来自内部或签约供应商的员工健康记录
  • 工伤赔偿记录
  • 来自员工个人医疗服务提供者的记录

雇主政策和记录审查

 需要审查的相关职业健康及医疗政策和程序包括:

  • COVID-19应对计划
  • COVID-19免疫接种政策
  • 员工健康筛查
  • 健康监测
  • 病假和病休政策
  • 远程办公政策
  • 重返工作岗位标准
  • 培训政策
  • 呼吸系统保护计划
  • 标准操作程序
  • 政策执行程序

补充调查可能需要的其他雇主记录包括:

  • 设施具体平面图或图表
  • 流程和工作任务描述
  • 照片或视频
  • OSHA日志external icon
  • 员工名册
  • 员工免疫接种记录
  • 轮班时间表
  • 出勤记录

在某些情况下,PHA还可以要求获取客户互动记录(例如预约或现场到访时间表),以确定病例的非工作场所密切接触者。

总结

收集和分析这些信息后,该团队应向工作场所官员提供特定于工作现场的建议。这些建议应与集群调查的请求者和工作场所内的任何工会共享。该团队还可以根据需要向雇主提供特定的培训或专业指导。建议和培训应基于相关行业遵循的最佳惯例,并由OSHA、CDC以及州和地方卫生部门针对COVID-19提供。

Important update: Healthcare facilities
CDC has updated select ways to operate healthcare systems effectively in response to COVID-19 vaccination. Learn more
To maximize protection from the Delta variant and prevent possibly spreading it to others, get vaccinated as soon as you can and wear a mask indoors in public if you are in an area of substantial or high transmission.
UPDATE
Given new evidence on the B.1.617.2 (Delta) variant, CDC has updated the guidance for fully vaccinated people. CDC recommends universal indoor masking for all teachers, staff, students, and visitors to K-12 schools, regardless of vaccination status. Children should return to full-time in-person learning in the fall with layered prevention strategies in place.
UPDATE
The White House announced that vaccines will be required for international travelers coming into the United States, with an effective date of November 8, 2021. For purposes of entry into the United States, vaccines accepted will include FDA approved or authorized and WHO Emergency Use Listing vaccines. More information is available here.
UPDATE
Travel requirements to enter the United States are changing, starting November 8, 2021. More information is available here.

Investigating and responding to COVID-19 cases in non-healthcare work settings

Investigating and responding to COVID-19 cases in non-healthcare work settings

Summary of Recent Changes

  • Removed or updated links to archived pages.
  • Added information about considering worker vaccination status.

Purpose: Workplaces can present unique challenges for COVID-19 investigation and public health action. Because many workplaces can be crowded settings, and many jobs involve a high level of interaction with the public, these settings can allow virus to spread easily among workers. The information on this page can be used for responding to individual cases and outbreaks in non-healthcare work settings.

Other relevant resources include:

Standards and guidance for responding to cases among workers and patients in healthcare settings:

OSHA Guidance for general workplaces:

Considerations for health departments for prioritizing non-healthcare workplace investigations:

Resources for some specific types of non-healthcare workplaces:

Background

Many people spend a large portion of their days at work, often in  (less than 6 feet away from an infected person [laboratory-confirmed or a clinical diagnosis] for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or more over a 24-hour period) with other workers and the public. It is important to recognize and take action to prevent transmission of infectious diseases, including COVID-19, in the workplace. Workplace mitigation strategies include promotion of worker vaccination, exclusion of infected workers from the workplace, case investigation and contact tracing, optimization of ventilation, enforced indoor masking policies, physical distancing, and sanitation and cleaning. Reviewing and recognizing workplace factors (e.g., work practices, policies, and processes) and worker factors (e.g., demographics, social determinants of health, and language or literacy barriers) may help state and local health departments, as well as employers, identify circumstances that contribute to disease transmission within the workplace and in the community. In addition, certain workplace and worker factors may provide insight into how health disparities impact infection rates and disease outcomes.

Occupation and industry data collection during disease investigation

Collecting information about a person’s job (e.g., occupation and industry) during case investigation and subsequent contact tracing may facilitate early recognition of wider viral transmission and a potential workplace outbreak. Guidance for collecting these data can be found on the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) topic page Collecting and Using Industry and Occupation Data and in the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTE) Occupational Health Subcommittee  document Recommended Interim Guidance for Collecting Employment Information about COVID-19pdf iconexternal icon.

Workplace COVID-19 clusters should also be reported to public health authorities (PHAs) or Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) officesexternal icon by workers, employers, worker organizations, or healthcare providers, in addition to official case report investigation efforts. PHAs should consider proactively recommending that any employers in their jurisdiction notify them if they learn about ≥2 cases in workers who have been in close contact to a person with COVID-19 in a non-residential and non-healthcare worksite. For special work or living settings that are prone to rapid spread of disease, such as long-term care facilities, reporting is recommended for even just one case in a worker or resident.

The legal authority for communicable disease case investigation, including contact tracing lies with PHAs in state, local, and territorial health departments (SLTHDs). CDC encourages collaboration between employers and health departments in the investigation of workplace exposure to COVID-19. However, roles and responsibilities should be negotiated at the local level, given the authority and responsibility of the public health departments in disease control and given the level of interest and capacity of the employers.

Although many of the considerations and tools here are most applicable to responding to cases among workers who work in a fixed location, such as a factory or office building, it is also important to consider occupational risks that apply to mobile worker groups, such as transit workers, rideshare drivers, food delivery drivers, construction contractors, and workers (e.g., childcare providers, cleaners) who work in clients’ homes. It is also important to consider that disease transmission can spread in either direction between workplaces and communities.

PHAs should maintain clear communication pathways with local business communities and other organizations that work with employers and workers to help ensure that information about COVID-19 among workers is shared in a timely manner.

Considerations for State and Local Health Departments on Investigating Non-Healthcare Workplace Clusters of COVID-19

 General approach to investigating a workplace cluster

When COVID-19 cases are identified in a workplace, public health authorities (PHAs) should determine if an outbreak investigation is necessary. CDC encourages collaboration between employers and health departments in the investigation of workplace exposure to COVID-19; however, the legal authority for communicable disease case investigation lies with PHAs. While workplace investigations should follow the same general approach as other outbreak investigations, specific information can be helpful to consider in the work environment. Outbreak investigations may include four components:

  • Exposure, engineering, and work practice assessment, including assessment of worker vaccination access, acceptance, and uptake
  • Epidemiologic investigation
  • Medical record review
  • Employer policy and record review

These components provide insight in identifying who is at risk, modes of transmission, and worker and workplace factors that contribute to disease transmission and can help inform infection prevention and control recommendations to reduce COVID-19 transmission. Because every workplace is unique, each situation will dictate which investigation components are necessary to identify appropriate controls and disrupt transmission. CDC’s National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), trade associations, unions, state-based occupational health programs, and academic occupational health programs can provide subject matter expertise for various industry sectors, as needed.

After COVID-19 cases are identified in a workplace, and it is determined that an outbreak investigation is warranted, a multidisciplinary investigation team should be established by the PHA, in collaboration with CDC if assistance is needed. This team may include qualified professionals with experience in the fields of:

  • Public health
  • Occupational safety and health (including industrial hygienists and engineers)
  • Infection prevention and control
  • Epidemiology
  • Medicine (occupational medicine, or if specialists are unavailable, general practitioners)

The team may also include other relevant practitioners, agencies, or stakeholders (e.g., agricultural agencies and veterinarians in the case of food processing facility outbreaks). Cultural liaisons may also be helpful to include if the workplace has a high proportion of refugees, immigrants, or other special populations within the workforce. After a team is formed, the investigation should begin in close consultation with officials from the facility including occupational health programs and unions or other worker organizations, if present in the workplace. If no union is present, it is important to include a worker representative in the investigation process to ensure all parties receive the same information. The team should follow the basic steps for conducting any outbreak investigation, but tailor their approach to incorporate principles that apply to the individual work environment. This includes developing a comprehensive set of questions based on knowledge of the industry and COVID-19.

The investigation team can learn about job-related characteristics associated with COVID-19 by reviewing information already available from case reports and interviews. This information can then be supplemented with employee records such as rosters that include occupational information (e.g., job tenure, job title), worker interviews or surveys, and review of occupational health policies and procedures.

Workplace outbreak investigation components

As mentioned above, specific information is available to consider for workplace environment safety. Components such as exposure, engineering, and work practice assessment; epidemiologic investigation; medical record review; and employer policy and record review may be included when conducting workplace outbreak investigations. Information about each component is provided below.

Exposure, engineering, and work practice assessment

Exposure assessment should identify potential pathways of exposure, assess the presence and use of workplace controls, and evaluate the capability of an employer to effectively implement additional controls needed to prevent further COVID-19 transmission. Identifying and controlling exposures to occupational hazards is the fundamental method of protecting workers. Traditionally, a hierarchy of controls has been used to help determine ways of implementing feasible and effective control solutions. During this component of the investigation, it is critical to enlist help from industrial hygiene, engineering, and infection control professionals who understand how to evaluate the workplace and implement effective procedures based on the hierarchy of controls.

The hierarchy of controls includes:

  • Engineering controls, such as
    • Modifying workstations or workflow to increase distance between workers
    • Enhancing and maintaining ventilation systems
    • Using physical barriers to separate workers from each other and clients (when applicable)
    • Providing accessible hand hygiene options (handwashing and/or hand sanitizer)
  • Administrative controls, such as
    • Developing and implementing vaccination policies that explain procedures for vaccinated and unvaccinated workers
    • Pre-shift symptom screening
    • Developing and implementing physical distancing policies and procedures for work areas and other areas where workers might congregate (e.g., break/dining areas, locker rooms, smoking areas, entrance/exits, parking lots)
    • Reviewing and revising procedures for cleaning and disinfecting surfaces within work areas and other areas, including appropriate scheduling of cleaning and disinfecting tasks and use of appropriate disinfection agentsexternal icon
    • Communicating with workers and training them on COVID-19 and workplace strategies to prevent infection, including information about how and why engineering, administrative, and personal protective equipment or source control measures are being implemented
    • Encouraging workers to wear a mask at work if the hazard assessment has determined that they do not require personal protective equipment, such as a respirator or medical face mask for protection, and depending on the level of transmission in your county
  • Personal protective equipment (PPE), which includes
    • Providing access to and training on the use of appropriate PPE based on an assessment of workplace hazards present in the facility
    • Potentially supplementing PPE usually worn for a given task with additional PPE for COVID-19 infection prevention

Epidemiologic Investigation

An epidemiologic investigation in the workplace is important because it helps to better define the characteristics of workers who contracted COVID-19; it can offer insight into risk factors for transmission, prevalence, and incidence of disease within the workplace. A workplace epidemiologic investigation may include:

  • Defining the worker population at risk:
    • Minimally, investigators should consider obtaining lists of all workers present at the workplace or in the work environment (e.g., construction site) during a defined time period (i.e., contact elicitation window as defined in the outbreak case definition).
    • At some workplaces, this may include workers employed by multiple companies (e.g., contractors, sub-contractors), workers who are responsible for performing a variety of tasks (e.g., production, transportation, customer service, food preparation, cleaning), and workers who may not be employed by the company but may have been physically present at the company during the defined period of interest (e.g., transportation and delivery services).
    • In addition, collecting information about key variables such as department or area of work, shift, and job tasks and titles is helpful so that attack rates for specific groups of workers can be calculated to determine the need for additional control measures.
  • Systematically identifying and documenting all known cases and contacts among the worker population at risk. This can be done by PHAs through comparing a list of reported cases with the list of workers at risk and by contact tracing for known cases. Additional information about contact tracing can be found on the CDC COVID-19 Contact Tracing website.
  • Interviewing cases and contacts in the workplace can use a standard questionnaire, which follows CDC guidance for case investigation and contact tracing. Questions asked in a workplace setting should address:
    • Vaccination status
    • History of symptoms of COVID-19
    • Known exposures to other confirmed or probable cases in and outside of the workplace (e.g., in the household or community)
    • General work practices
    • Workplace controls (including PPE), and any breaches in the controls that occurred prior to the case becoming infected
    • While in-person interviews are often used in outbreak investigations, during the COVID-19 pandemic, every effort should be made to interview workers by telephone or video conference instead of in-person to better protect investigation staff.
  • Developing and implementing systems and procedures to provide ongoing monitoring of workers at risk could include:
    • Vaccination status monitoring
    • Enhanced symptom and illness monitoring and record keeping to document all exposed and symptomatic personnel. This includes daily/pre-shift symptom screening performed by employee healthcare staff or contractors. An electronic monitoring and notification system can also be used to provide ways for employees to self-report and monitor symptoms through a website or mobile app, with alerts sent to a health professional.
    • Absenteeism monitoring with special focus on absences due to COVID-19-like-illness (CLI).

If an employer chooses to conduct enhanced symptom and illness monitoring, they should routinely and systematically review screening results. They should also have a referral process in place that will direct employees with signs or symptoms of CLI to the system established by local public health departments for further assessment. It is important to note that some workplaces might have a system already in place for employee monitoring, assessment, and testing. In these workplaces, employers should have systems set up to ensure all test results are reported to the appropriate PHAs to ensure proper follow up and investigation. In some cases, PHAs may have the right to access, monitor, and review all records.

Medical Record Review

Medical record review for a workplace cluster can include conducting medical records abstraction to assist with the epidemiologic component of the investigation. Individuals, organizations, and agencies that are covered entitiesexternal icon under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) must abide by HIPAA rules. However, HIPAA permits covered entities to disclose protected health information without authorization for specified public health purposesexternal icon. Records that PHAs may be able to access include:

  • Employee health records from in-house or contracted providers
  • Workers’ compensation records
  • Records from workers’ personal medical providers

Employer Policy and Record Review

 Relevant occupational health and medical policies and procedures to review include:

  • COVID-19 response plans
  • COVID-19 vaccination policies
  • Employee health screening
  • Health monitoring
  • Sick and medical leave policies
  • Telework policies
  • Return-to-work criteria
  • Training policies
  • Respiratory protection programs
  • Standard operating procedures
  • Procedures for enforcing policies

Other employer records that may be needed to supplement the investigation include:

  • Facility specific floor plans or diagrams
  • Process and job task descriptions
  • Photographs or videos
  • OSHA logsexternal icon
  • Employee rosters
  • Employee vaccination records
  • Shift schedules
  • Attendance records

In some cases, PHAs may also request access to records of client interactions (e.g., appointment or site visit calendars) in order to identify non-worker workplace close contacts of cases.

In Summary

After this information is collected and analyzed, the team should provide site-specific recommendations to workplace officials. These recommendations should be shared with the requester of the cluster investigation and any unions present within the workplace. The team can also provide specific training or expertise to the employer as needed. Recommendations and training should be based on best practices followed by related industries and provided by OSHA, CDC, and state and local health departments for COVID-19.