免责声明:本网站持续更新。在所有内容翻译完成之前,其中一些内容可能为英文。

在COVID-19期间安全分发学校膳食

在COVID-19期间安全分发学校膳食

为应对COVID-19疫情,学校营养计划开发了创新方法,以确保面授、虚拟和混合学习者继续获得安全和营养的膳食。有几种针对COVID-19的相应学校膳食分发模式,这些模式遵循减少COVID-19传播的核心缓解策略,并且每种模式都使用一组特定于该模式的独特缓解方法。

学校营养计划运营人员可以选择使用一种或多种模式来安全地分发最适合其社区的学生和家庭膳食。计划运营人员应利用地方、州、部落和联邦政策(包括USDA儿童营养COVID-19豁免external icon)以及每个社区的地方传播水平在必要时确定和修改其分发做法。

计划运营人员可以参阅COVID-19期间的学校运营:CDC考虑因素以指导学校开放时的指导原则和缓解策略,并参考保护K-12学校工作人员免于感染COVID-19的策略学校营养专业人士和学校志愿者的COVID-19须知,以获取有关保护K-12学校员工健康和安全的信息。最后,有关餐饮服务环境中更详细的缓解策略,计划运营人员可以参考餐厅和酒吧注意事项

校内用餐(面授学校)

所有学校膳食分发模式的缓解策略

个人与他人的互动越多,互动持续的时间越长,传播COVID-19的风险就越高。对于从事膳食准备和/或分发的学校营养员工,可能的接触源包括:

  • 与其他非同住者密切接触(6英尺以内),包括同事、其他学校工作人员或志愿者、学生,以及领取学校膳食的学生家人。
  • 接触具有COVID-19致病病毒的表面或物体,然后触摸自己的口鼻或眼睛。

对于所有膳食分发模式,学校应采取多种缓解措施,以减少COVID-19接触和传播的风险。关于如何在每种分发模式中实施这些关键缓解策略的更多详细信息,可在下面的章节中查找:

  • 积极鼓励员工、学生及其家人在生病、COVID-19检测呈阳性、出现COVID-19症状或最近与COVID-19患者有过密切接触(6英尺距离内共处15分钟或更长时间)的情况下待在家中。
  • 员工应在轮班前后、用餐前后、入厕后、处理垃圾、脏盘子或脱下手套后经常使用肥皂和水洗手至少20秒,或使用至少含60%酒精的免洗手消毒液。
  • Clean high-touch surfaces and objects between use or as much as possible. Surfaces that come in contact with food should be washed, rinsed, and sanitized (using an Environmental Protection Agency [EPA]-approvedexternal iconexternal icon food contact surface disinfectant) before and after meals.
  • 要求学校营养员工在上班和休息时均佩戴口罩,进食和饮水时除外。
  • 修改布局以减少拥挤并鼓励保持社交距离(相距至少6英尺)。
    • 尽可能优先考虑户外座位和分发方式。
    • 如果可能,使用非接触式方法来计数和领取食物(例如,计数单、条形码扫描仪)。提供至少含60%酒精的免洗手消毒液,在处理完钱币、卡或键盘后使用。
  • 与学校行政部门、管理人员或维护人员以及运输部门合作,计划和实施工程控制措施以改善通风和气流
    • 尽可能优先考虑室外服务模式,最大程度地提高新鲜空气流量和社交距离。
    • 校车和用于送餐的公共交通工具的通风事项也很重要。有关更多信息,请参阅校车司机和校车助手注意事项一节。
  • 鼓励学生和其他学校工作人员在不进食或饮水时佩戴口罩,尤其是在难以保持社交距离的情况下(例如,排队丢弃食物)。
  • 在个人难以保持至少6英尺距离的地方(如收银机、桌子、食品领取区)使用物理屏障。
  • 提供即拿即走的独立包装食品或单独装盘的食物。

    即拿即走膳食:食物可以从方便放置的桌子、手推车或售货亭领取,然后在另一个地方用餐。对于面授学习者,这可以是教室或其他公共区域,如健身房、自助餐厅或户外座位区。对于虚拟学习者和混合型学习者而言,他们可以在校外用餐。

  • 确保过敏学生的安全,并通过将专门为过敏或饮食受限的学生准备的餐食分开或清楚地标注,帮助加快选择餐食。
  • 使用一次性食品服务用品(如器皿、盘子、餐巾、桌布)。如果一次性物品不可行或不可取,确保戴手套处理用过或肮脏的非一次性食品服务用品,并进行清洗、漂洗和消毒,以符合食品安全要求。员工在脱下手套或处理用过或肮脏的食品服务用品后,应至少用肥皂和水洗手20秒。
  • 设置洗手台或为员工、学生、家庭和其他学校工作人员提供至少含60%酒精的免洗手消毒液
  • 提供非接触式垃圾桶。
  • 海报张贴在醒目位置(例如建筑物入口、洗手间),以提倡采取日常保护措施并说明如何通过洗手佩戴口罩阻止细菌传播。
  • 考虑为残障人士提供无障碍安排。

校外用餐的分发模式

为不在校内用餐的虚拟和混合学习者提供膳食的学校可以考虑以下模式:

学校应采取上文所有学校膳食分发模式的缓解策略一节中概述的COVID-19缓解措施。用于校外用餐的分发模式通常设置在室外环境中,例如学校停车场或当地公园。但如果天气或其他情况限制了所有学生和员工的安全分发,某些模式可以搬到室内进行。虽然户外活动的风险通常低于室内活动,但仍有一些重要方式可以预防COVID-19传播,如生病时留在家里保持社交距离佩戴口罩洗手以及清洁和消毒

餐食应预先预订或预先设置,并以散装餐食套件、盒装、袋装或包装提供。在可能的情况下external icon*,应一次提供多日的餐食,理想情况下应至少提供一周,以减少所需的领餐次数。在校外食用的食物应包括易于遵循的食品安全、储存和加热说明,适应所有阅读水平,并在适当的地方包括视觉或图形。此外,说明应翻译成社区中常用的语言。

**参阅儿童营养计划:各州COVID-19豁免external icon,了解所在州已批准哪些豁免和灵活措施。

免下车或取餐模式

学校工作人员将餐食放入汽车后备箱

在这种模式下,学校在校舍外设置膳食分发。学生和/或其家人前往膳食分发桌旁或待在车里领取膳食。如果没有肥皂和水可用于洗手,工作人员应经常使用至少含60%酒精的免洗手消毒液进行手部卫生。

  • 错开膳食分发时间,并考虑在多个位置提供。
  • 建立膳食分发点,并明确标明方向提示或标识。
  • 员工应佩戴口罩,避免与他人有身体接触。在个人难以保持至少6英尺距离的区域使用物理屏障。
    • 使用推车和/或大托盘将膳食传递给学生和家庭,或将膳食直接放入车中。推车、托盘和桌子在每次使用之间应进行清洁和消毒。
      • 对于取餐,请将膳食放在手推车或桌子上,然后传递到领取台。设置额外桌子以增加人与人之间的空间。
      • 对于免下车取餐,请使用手推车或大托盘将餐点传递给家庭,或将餐点直接放入车内而不接触(例如:汽车后备箱、密封的食物容器如冷却器或塑料密封箱,或卡车车厢内)。
  • 建议学生和家人在取餐时(包括从车内接收餐食时)佩戴口罩。
  • 制定计划以防天气限制户外取餐。与学校行政部门合作,在通风良好的室内或有盖空间(例如,学校大楼入口或停车场)设置取餐点。该计划还可以考虑搭建一个顶篷或露天临时帐篷,保证工作人员和食物不受天气影响。

送餐模式

Schools deliver meals directly to a student’s home, to a bus stop, or other community location that families can safely access. Staff riding in shared vans or buses should wear masks, remain physically distanced, and weather permitting, keep windows open to increase outdoor air ventilation. These practices should also be followed, as applicable, when staff leave the vehicle to distribute and deliver meals. If soap and water are not readily available for handwashing, school nutrition employees should practice frequent hand hygiene using hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol. To clean school buses or other shared vehicles, see guidance for bus transit operators.

学校营养计划将无接触式膳食直接送到学生家里

送餐上门:在这种模式下,学校营养计划将非接触式膳食直接送到学生家中。

  • 指定送餐地点,比如门阶,在无任何身体接触的情况下送餐。
  • 确定送餐时间或送餐时间范围,以确保学生或家人有空并且能够立即适当存放递送的膳食。
  • 如果可能,在送餐时提醒家人(例如,按门铃、敲门、打电话、发短信)。戴手套的员工应在每次送餐后更换手套,并经常使用至少含60%酒精的免洗手消毒液。

必须正确处理食物以防食物中毒。有关食品配送和食品安全的更多信息,请访问膳食工具包和食品配送安全建议以及FDA食品领取和配送建议

学校营养计划运营人员向家庭和其他社区地点分发膳食

移动路线送餐:在这种模式下,学校营养计划的运营人员在熟悉、方便的社区地点分发膳食,这些地点可能包括图书馆、教堂停车场或当地住房管理局。

  • 在学生和家庭可以步行或开车经过的安全地点分发食物。使用院子或路标标识帮助学生和家庭找到分发膳食的地点。
  • 自备桌子或手推车,将膳食摆好,让各家前来领取,而不是直接将膳食交给个人,以增加人与人之间的距离。
  • Make sure high-touch surfaces and objects are cleaned and disinfected between use or as much as possible (e.g., coolers used to transport food, tables, pens).
  • 考虑搭建带顶篷或弹出式帐篷(至少一面敞开),用来保护员工和膳食。如果可能,还可以提供下雨天穿的一次性雨披。
学校营养计划使用校车路线和站点分发膳食

校车路线送餐:在这种模式下,学校营养计划使用校车路线和站点分发膳食。

  • 优先使用现有校车路线,而不是修改或创建新路线,以便学生和家庭可以轻松到达熟悉的位置。考虑使用院子或寻路标识来实际标记将进行分发的校车站的位置。
  • 下车后,每次只给一个学生或一个家庭分发膳食,同时保持6英尺的距离。

校内用餐的分发模式

为在校用餐提供膳食的学校可以考虑以下模式:

学校应实施上文所有学校膳食分发模式的缓解策略一节中概述的COVID-19缓解措施。用于校内用餐的分发模式通常在室内进行,但也可以适用于室外座位和分发。如果在室内,天气条件允许的话,可以打开门窗增加通风,并且使用风扇来增加打开窗户的效果。如果打开门窗会对使用设施的儿童造成安全或健康风险(例如跌倒、引发哮喘症状),则不要打开门窗。减少对不能增加室外通风区域的使用。

因为在校用餐的分发时间通常会超过15分钟,而且可能发生在不戴口罩的学生和工作人员近距离接触的情况下,因此学校工作人员和行政部门必须严格执行上述所有缓解COVID-19的措施,例如在非进食和饮水期间佩戴口罩、经常洗手、改善气流和通风,并与他人保持至少6英尺的距离。

膳食直接送到教室,然后在教室里用餐。

在教室用餐:在这种模式下,膳食直接送到教室并在教室里用餐。

  • 使用手推车或冷却箱将非接触式快餐送到教室。如果可行,工作人员或老师可以将膳食放到学生的桌子上,以避免拥挤。
  • 协助老师在用餐前后确保食物接触表面(例如学生的课桌)被清洗、漂洗和消毒(使用EPA批准external icon的食物接触表面消毒剂)。
  • 为教师和学校营养人员制定计划,以将可重复使用的物品归还到自助餐厅(例如,学生和教师将物品放入箱中,员工将其归还到自助餐厅/洗碗间),包括戴手套处理用过或肮脏的非一次性食品服务用品。

在餐厅用餐:在这种模式下,自助餐厅提供膳食并在餐厅内用餐。

  • 自助餐厅提供膳食并在餐厅内用餐的图片。

    修改布局和步骤,以促进学生和员工之间保持身体距离。

    • 错开膳食分发时间。
    • 设置多个取餐点以保持社交距离,以及多个丢弃点,学生或工作人员可以扔掉一次性托盘、器皿和剩菜,或归还非一次性食品服务用品。对于空间有限的学校 ,可考虑使用桌子或滚动售货亭在附近区域(例如走廊)提供膳食,以设置用餐服务。
    • 确保过敏学生的安全,通过熟悉学生和工作人员的日常菜单,帮助加快膳食选择,例如提前提供菜单选项,或用简单的菜单描述清楚地标示食物项目(例如“火鸡和奶酪卷饼”、“胡萝卜条”、“桃子片”)以及其他食物过敏或饮食限制的重要指标(例如,8大过敏原、犹太洁食、素食)。
  • 确保食物接触表面(如午餐桌)在用餐前后进行清洗、漂洗和消毒(使用EPA批准external icon 的食物接触表面消毒剂)。
  • 避免提供任何自助式餐饮选择,例如热食和冷食吧、沙拉或调味品吧及饮料站。改为提供即拿即走的食物或单独装盘的食物。
    • 对于单独装盘的食物,每个餐点指定一名工作人员供应食物,以免多名员工使用相同的餐具。
    • 避免使用牛奶冰箱或其他学生通常从里面拿东西的可触及设备,而使用单独的纸盒或瓶子来盛装学生膳食。
  • 鼓励学生和员工在容易拥挤的地方保持至少6英尺的距离(如排队、归还餐盘),并在用餐时提供物理指导,例如在地板或人行道上粘贴胶带或图形,或在墙壁上粘贴标识。

Get Vaccinated: Find a vaccine and learn what you can do after you're fully vaccinated.

Safely Distributing School Meals During COVID-19

Safely Distributing School Meals During COVID-19

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, school nutrition programs have developed innovative ways to ensure in-person, virtual, and hybrid learners continue to have access to safe and nutritious meals. There are several COVID-19-adapted school meal distribution models that follow core mitigation strategies to reduce the spread of COVID-19, and each model uses a unique set of model-specific mitigation practices.

School nutrition program operators can choose to use one model or a combination of models to safely distribute meals that best serve the students and families in their community. Program operators should determine and modify their distribution practices using local, state, tribal, and federal policies, to include the USDA Child Nutrition COVID-19 Waiversexternal icon, and local level of spread in each community as necessary.

Program operators can visit Operating Schools during COVID-19: CDC’s Considerations for guiding principles and mitigation strategies to reference when schools are open, as well as Strategies for Protecting K-12 School Staff from COVID-19 and What School Nutrition Professionals and Volunteers at Schools Need to Know about COVID-19 for information on protecting the health and safety of K-12 school staff. Finally, for more detailed mitigation strategies in food service environments, program operators can reference Considerations for Restaurants and Bars.

Meals Eaten at School (In-Person Learning)

Mitigation Strategies for All School Meal Distribution Models

The more an individual interacts with others, and the longer that interaction lasts, the higher the risk of COVID-19 spread. For school nutrition employees working in meal preparation and/or distribution, potential sources of exposure could include:

  • Being in close contact (within 6 feet) with others who do not live in the same household as you, including co-workers, other school staff or volunteers, students, and families of students that are picking up school meals.
  • Touching a surface or object that has the virus that causes COVID-19 on it and then touching your own mouth, nose, or eyes.

For all meal distribution models, schools should implement several mitigation measures to reduce the risk of COVID-19 exposure and transmission. Additional detailed information on how to operationalize these key mitigation strategies in each distribution model can be found in sections below:

  • Actively encourage staff, students, and their families to stay home if they are sick, have tested positive for COVID-19, are showing symptoms of COVID-19, or have recently had close contact (less than 6 feet for 15 minutes or more) with a person with COVID-19.
  • Staff should practice frequent handwashing with soap and water for at least 20 seconds or use hand sanitizer with at least 60% alcohol before, after, and during shifts, before and after eating, after using the toilet, and after handling garbage, dirty dishes, or removing gloves.
  • Clean high-touch surfaces and objects between use or as much as possible. Surfaces that come in contact with food should be washed, rinsed, and sanitized (using an Environmental Protection Agency [EPA]-approvedexternal iconexternal icon food contact surface disinfectant) before and after meals.
  • Require school nutrition employees to wear masks during their shifts and breaks, except when eating and drinking.
  • Modify layouts to reduce crowding and encourage social distancing (at least 6 feet apart).
    • Prioritize outdoor seating and distribution methods as much as possible.
    • If possible, implement touchless methods for counting and claiming meals (e.g., tally sheets, barcode scanners). Provide hand sanitizer with at least 60% alcohol for use after handling money, cards, or keypads.
  • Work with school administration, custodial or maintenance staff, and the transportation department to plan and implement engineering controls to improve ventilation and airflow.
    • Maximize fresh air flow and social distancing by prioritizing outdoor serving models as much as possible.
    • Ventilation considerations are also important on school buses and in shared vehicles that are used for meal delivery. See section titled Special Considerations – School bus drivers and bus aides for additional information.
  • Encourage students and other school staff to wear masks when they are not eating or drinking, especially when social distancing is hard to maintain (e.g., standing in line to discard food).
  • Use physical barriers in areas where it is difficult for individuals to remain at least 6 feet apart (e.g., cash registers, tables, food pickup areas).
  • Serve grab-and-go individually packaged items or individually plated meals.

    Grab-and-Go Meals: Meals are picked up from a conveniently located table, cart, or kiosk and eaten in another location. For in-person learners, this could be a classroom or other common area, like the gym, cafeteria, or outdoor seating area. For virtual and hybrid learners, meals are picked up and eaten away from school.

  • Ensure the safety of students with allergies and help expedite meal choice by separating or clearly labeling meals prepared specifically for students with allergies or dietary restrictions.
  • Use disposable food service items (e.g., utensils, dishes, napkins, tablecloths). If disposable items are not feasible or desirable, ensure that used or dirty non-disposable food service items are handled with gloves and washed, rinsed, and sanitized to meet food safety requirements. Employees should wash their hands  with soap and water for at least 20 seconds after removing their gloves or after handling used or dirty food service items.
  • Set up handwashing stations or provide hand sanitizer with at least 60% alcohol for employees, students, families, and other school staff.
  • Provide no-touch trash bins.
  • Place posters in highly visible locations (e.g., at building entrances, in restrooms) that promote everyday protective measures and describe how to stop the spread of germs by washing hands and wearing a mask.
  • Include accessibility accommodations for people with disabilities.

Distribution Models for Meals Eaten Away from School

Schools that are serving meals to virtual and hybrid learners who are eating away from school can consider the following models:

Schools should implement COVID-19 mitigation strategies outlined in Mitigation Strategies for All School Meal Distribution Models section above. Distribution models used for meals eaten away from school tend to be set up in an outdoor setting, like the school parking lot or local park, but there are some models (drive-through or walk-up) that can be moved indoors if weather or other circumstances limit a safe distribution for all students and staff. While outdoor activities are generally lower risk than indoor activities, there are still important ways to prevent the spread of COVID-19, like staying home when sick, social distancing, wearing a mask, handwashing, and cleaning and disinfection.

Meals should be pre-ordered or pre-set and served in bulk meal kits, boxes, bags, or packages. Where possibleexternal icon*, multiple days of meals should be served at once, ideally enough for at least one week, to reduce the number of pick-ups needed. Meals that will be eaten away from school should include food safety, storage, and reheating instructions that are easy to follow, accommodate all reading levels, and include visuals or graphics where appropriate. Also, instructions should be translated into languages commonly spoken in the community.

*Visit Child Nutrition Programs: COVID-19 Waivers by Stateexternal icon to find out which waivers and flexibilities have been approved in your state.

Drive-Through or Walk-Up Models

school worker loading meals into the trunk of a car

In this model, schools set up meal distribution outside of the school building. Students and/or their families walk up to a meal distribution table or stay in their vehicles while receiving meals. If soap and water are not readily available for handwashing, staff should practice frequent hand hygiene using hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol.

  • Stagger meal distribution times and consider having multiple places at which meals can be served.
  • Establish a meal distribution point(s) and clearly mark with directional cues or signs.
  • Employees should wear a mask and avoid making physical contact with others. Use physical barriers in areas where it is difficult for individuals to remain at least 6 feet apart.
    • Use carts and/or a large tray to pass meals to students and families or place meals directly into vehicle. Clean and disinfect carts, trays, and tables between use.
      • For walk-up meals, place meals on a rolling cart or table and then transfer to the pick-up station. Set up an extra table to increase space between persons.
      • For drive-through meals, use rolling carts or large trays to pass meals to families or place meals directly in the vehicle without contact (e.g., the trunk of vehicle, a sealed food container such as a cooler or plastic sealed bin, or in bed of pickup truck).
  • Encourage students and families to wear a mask when picking up meals, including when receiving meals from inside of their vehicle.
  • Create a plan in case weather limits outdoor meal pickup. Work with school administration to set up a point of meal service in a well-ventilated indoor or covered space, like at the school building entrance or a parking garage. Programs may also consider setting up a canopy or an open-air pop-up tent to shield staff and meals from weather.

Delivery Models

Schools deliver meals directly to a student’s home, to a bus stop, or other community location that families can safely access. Staff riding in shared vans or buses should wear masks, remain physically distanced, and weather permitting, keep windows open to increase outdoor air ventilation. These practices should also be followed, as applicable, when staff leave the vehicle to distribute and deliver meals. If soap and water are not readily available for handwashing, school nutrition employees should practice frequent hand hygiene using hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol. To clean school buses or other shared vehicles, see guidance for bus transit operators.

school nutrition programs deliver contact-free meals directly to a student’s home

Home delivery: In this model, school nutrition programs deliver contact-free meals directly to a student’s home.

  • Establish a drop-off location, such as a doorstep, to deliver food without any physical contact.
  • Establish a delivery time, or delivery time range, to ensure students or family will be available and able to properly store the delivered food right away.
  • If possible, alert families when meals have been delivered (e.g., ring doorbell, knock, call, text). Employees that are wearing gloves should change gloves after each food delivery and use a hand sanitizer with at least 60% alcohol often.

Food must be handled properly to prevent food poisoning. For more information on food delivery and food safety, visit Tips for Meal Kit and Food Delivery Safety and FDA Food Pickup and Delivery.

school nutrition program operators distribute meals to homes and other community places

Mobile route delivery: In this model, school nutrition program operators distribute meals in familiar, accessible community locations, which might include a library, church parking lot, or local housing authority.

  • Set up meal distribution in an area that is accessible and safe for students and families to walk or drive through. Use yard or wayfinding signs to help students and families find your meal distribution location.
  • Bring a table(s) or cart(s) to set out meals for families to collect, rather than handing meals directly to individuals to increase space between persons.
  • Make sure high-touch surfaces and objects are cleaned and disinfected between use or as much as possible (e.g., coolers used to transport food, tables, pens).
  • Consider setting up a canopy or pop-up tent, with at least one side open, to cover employees and meals, and if possible, provide disposable ponchos for rainy days.
school nutrition programs distribute meals using school bus routes and stops

Bus route delivery: In this model, school nutrition programs distribute meals using school bus routes and stops.

  • Prioritize use of existing school bus routes, rather than modifying or creating new routes, so students and families can easily access a familiar location. Consider use of yard or wayfinding signs to physically mark bus stop locations where distribution will take place.
  • Distribute meals off the bus to one student or family at a time, while maintaining 6 feet of distance.

Distribution Models for Meals Eaten at School

Schools that are serving meals to in-person learners eating at school can consider the following models:

Schools should implement COVID-19 mitigation strategies outlined in Mitigation Strategies for All School Meal Distribution Models section above. Distribution models used for meals eaten at school tend to be indoors but can be adapted for outdoor seating and distribution. When serving indoors, weather permitting, doors or windows are open to increase ventilation, and fans are used to increase the effectiveness of open windows. Do not open windows and doors if doing so poses a safety or health risk (e.g., risk of falling, triggering asthma symptoms) to children using the facility. Decrease occupancy in areas where outdoor ventilation cannot be increased.

Because distribution of meals that will be eaten at school occurs over periods longer than 15 minutes, and may occur in close proximity to unmasked students and staff who are eating and drinking and do not live in the same household, it is important for school staff and administration to strictly enforce all COVID-19 mitigation strategies outlined above, such as wearing a mask between periods of eating and drinking, frequent hand-hygiene, improving airflow and ventilation, and remaining at least 6 feet apart from others.

meals are delivered directly to the classroom and eaten in the classroom.

Meals in the Classroom: In this model, meals are delivered directly to the classroom and eaten in the classroom.

  • Use rolling carts or coolers to deliver no-contact grab-and-go meals to the classroom. If feasible, staff or teachers can deliver a meal to the student’s desk to avoid crowding.
  • Assist teachers to ensure food contact surfaces (e.g., student’s desk) are washed, rinsed, and sanitized (using an EPA-approvedexternal icon food contact surface disinfectant) before and after meals.
  • Create a plan between teachers and school nutrition staff to return reusable items to the cafeteria (e.g., students and teachers place in a bin and staff returns to cafeteria/dish room), including handling used or dirty non-disposable food service items with gloves.

Meals in the Cafeteria: In this model, meals are served and eaten in the cafeteria.

  • Image of school meals are served and eaten in the cafeteria

    Modify layouts and procedures to facilitate physical distancing among students and staff.

    • Stagger meal distribution times.
    • Set up multiple food pick-up points to facilitate social distancing, as well as multiple drop-off points where students or a staff member can throw away disposable trays, utensils, and leftovers or return non-disposable food service items For schools with limited space, consider using tables or rolling kiosks to offer meals in a nearby area, like the hallway, to set up meal service.
    • Ensure the safety of students with allergies and help expedite meal choice by familiarizing students and staff with daily menu offerings, such as providing menu options in advance or clearly labeling food items with simple menu item descriptions (e.g., “turkey and cheese wrap,” “carrot sticks,” “sliced peaches”) and other important indicators for food allergies or dietary restrictions (e.g., top 8 allergens, kosher, vegetarian).
  • Ensure food contact surfaces (e.g., lunch table) are washed, rinsed, and sanitized (using an EPA-approvedexternal icon food contact surface disinfectant) before and after meals.
  • Avoid offering any self-serve food or drink options, such as hot and cold food bars, salad or condiment bars, and drink stations. Serve grab-and-go items or individually plated meals, instead.
    • For individually plated meals, identify one staff per meal service station to serve food so that multiple staff are not handling the same serving utensils.
    • Avoid use of milk coolers or other reach-in units that students typically grab items out of. Instead, serve individual cartons or bottles with student’s meal.
  • Encourage students and staff to remain at least 6 feet apart in areas that can easily become crowded (e.g., standing in line, dish return) and while eating by providing physical guidance, such as tape or graphics on floors or sidewalks and signs on walls.