免责声明:本网站持续更新。在所有内容翻译完成之前,其中一些内容可能为英文。

法医死亡调查员常见问题解答

法医死亡调查员常见问题解答

法医学死因调查员在法医学死因调查系统(即法医办公室和验尸所)内工作,负责调查突发、意外和非自然死亡。 死亡现场调查通常包括向死者家属和其他证人处了解信息、确认死者身份、记录和评估现场和死者遗体、描述死后变化、收集尸检样本进行检测、收集和保存死因相关证据、确保尸体正确标记,以及确保以尊重和安全的方式完成尸体运输准备工作。

收到死亡报告的法医学死因调查员和其他法医或验尸所工作人员应询问死者是否COVID-19检测呈阳性,是否出现过COVID-19感染的体征或症状,以及死者是否有过任何接触COVID-19的风险因素。调查员可以与当地卫生部门、家庭医生、家庭成员或死者的同住者沟通,以便确定这些问题的答案。如果没有人可以回答这些问题(例如无人见证死亡、死者独居、无病史),调查员应采取预防措施,将死者视作曾是COVID-19确诊病例。目前可在CDC的2019年新型冠状病毒肺炎网站上查找有关COVID-19的体征、症状和其他风险因素的指导方针。

如果怀疑死者患有COVID-19,慎重做法是假设死者所在建筑中的其他人可能已被感染。此外,虽然呼吸道分泌物以外的其他体液与COVID-19的传播没有明显联系,但在无保护的情况下与其他体液(包括血液、粪便、呕吐物和尿液)可能会使调查员面临感染COVID-19和其他传染病的风险。

  • 收集有关死亡情况的信息(按照标准实践),以便进行危害/风险评估,包括潜在的COVID-19风险,以及在死亡之前或之后是否排出了飞沫、气溶胶、体液、排泄物或分解物质。
  • 计划并实施身体距离措施
    • 在现场尽量减少与任何人的密切接触,包括家庭成员、死者的负责人和证人。
    • 如有可能,应通过电话或视频会议进行调查前采访。
    • 如果无法通过电话或其他虚拟方式进行采访,则应在死亡发生的住所或建筑外或其他室外空间进行采访。在任何面对面采访或其他互动中,调查员应保持身体距离(至少6英尺),并鼓励所有受访者也采取同样措施。
    • 面对面访谈期间,调查员和受访者应佩戴布制面罩,特别是在无法保持至少6英尺身体距离的情况下。了解并遵守有关面罩使用的州和地方法规。
  • 如果调查员确定有必要进入死亡发生的住所或建筑,应务必采取以下措施:
    • 慎重计划开展调查所需的设备,避免将非必要物品带入房屋。计划为家庭成员准备额外的面罩
    • 在房屋外设立单独的指定位置用于穿戴和脱卸个人防护用品。使用物理方式将脱卸区与穿戴区隔开,因为用过的个人防护用品可能已受到污染。确保脱卸区备有免洗手消毒液、消毒喷剂或消毒湿巾,以及用于处置用过的个人防护用品的废物容器或生物危险品袋。请参见可用于消灭SARS-CoV-2的美国国家环境保护局(EPA)批准消毒剂external icon
    • 询问死亡发生的建筑内是否有人出现符合COVID-19的症状(可能包括发烧、咳嗽、气短),或已确诊患有COVID-19或正在等待检测结果。应该要求此类人群留在室外或待在调查期间无需进入的房屋内其他的房间。
    • 要求留在房内的所有人佩戴口罩或布制面罩,并在整个调查期间始终保持佩戴。调查员也应在整个调查期间佩戴面罩(更多有关呼吸保护的信息,请参见下文)。
    • 提醒该房屋内的所有人员,调查员将会进入该房屋,如有可能,要求留在房内的人转移到其他房间,或与调查员保持至少6英尺的身体距离。

如果为死者安排了现场COVID-19尸检样本收集,应遵循CDC的尸检收集指导方针,并与主管法医或验尸官密切协商。

  • 应在进入房屋前穿戴好个人防护用品。
  • 个人防护用品最低要求包括:
    • 一双非无菌一次性医用检查手套,但如果调查员确定存在割破、撕裂、刺破、擦破或可能穿透皮肤的危险,则应在检查手套的基础上穿戴耐用的防撕裂手套。
    • 眼部防护,如护目镜或可遮住脸部正面和两侧的面罩。
    • 防液体或不渗透的干净长袖防护服,可为皮肤和衣物提供阻隔防护。
    • 防滑胎面鞋套。
    • 一次性口罩。但如果在调查期间,家庭成员待在家中并且与法医学死因调查员距离很近(小于6英尺),或者如果存在接触传染性飞沫或气溶胶的风险,那么调查员应佩戴经过其适应性测试且NIOSH认可的N95微粒过滤面罩呼吸器或更高级别的呼吸器。调查员必须经过医学检查方可佩戴呼吸器,并且接受过有关正确选择和使用呼吸防护及其局限性的培训。呼吸器的使用必须符合美国职业安全与健康管理局(OSHA)的呼吸保护标准。

  • 离开房屋后,将可能接触到体液(如血液、唾液、粪便)的物品放入生物危险品袋或废物容器中,并遵循州和当地的废物处置指导方针。
  • 遵循CDC建议的脱卸程序pdf icon小心地脱下个人防护用品,然后使用酒精含量为60至95%的免洗手消毒液进行手部清洁。
  • 戴上一双新的一次性医用检查手套,清洁和消毒任何在调查期间可能被污染的无孔表面,包括写字板、文件资料(考虑在使用前覆膜)、电子设备(如笔记本电脑或照相机)、钢笔或铅笔、门把手以及脱卸区的废物容器或生物危险品袋。请参见可用于消灭SARS-CoV-2的美国国家环境保护局(EPA)批准消毒剂external icon。在使用前,穿戴消毒剂制造商建议的任何其他个人防护用品。
  • 遵循个人防护用品制造商的建议,清洁和消毒任何可重复使用的个人防护用品(如护目镜)的表面。
  • 离开现场前,应再次进行手部清洁。

法医学死因调查员可能负责监督或参与遗体运输任务。以下是准备和运输确诊或疑似感染COVID-19的死者时需要注意的重要事项:

  • 目前的CDC指导方针建议了针对COVID-19疑似死者的标准尸体装袋程序(与非COVID-19疑似死者相同)。其中包括使用一只运尸袋(厚度至少为6密耳),将死者装入运尸袋后,使用美国国家环境保护局(EPA)批准的消毒剂external icon将袋体擦拭干净。
  • 处理尸体时,应穿戴以下个人防护用品:
    • 一双非无菌一次性医用检查手套,但如果存在割破、撕裂、刺破、擦破或尸体上或周围有可能穿透皮肤的危险,则应在检查手套的基础上穿戴覆盖面高于手腕的耐用防撕裂手套(或两双一次性手套)。
    • 防液体或不渗透的干净长袖防护服,可为皮肤和衣物提供阻隔防护。
    • 一次性口罩。
    • 护目镜或可遮住脸部正面和两侧的面罩。
    • 防滑胎面鞋套。
  • 调查员应注意,某些特殊情况下可能有必要使用两只或更多运尸袋或更坚固的运尸袋(如厚度至少8密耳),例如:
    • 死者的体重和体型以及运尸袋和袋提手的构造和情况都存在较大差异。调查员应谨慎判断运尸袋是否存在被刺破、撕裂或破损的风险,以及是否需要使用两只运尸袋或更坚固厚实的运尸袋。如有可能,应参考运尸袋的重量容量。
    • 死者身上有可能导致刺破或撕裂的尖锐物体(如珠宝或穿孔)。
    • 使用的首个运尸袋的厚度(6密耳、8密耳、15密耳等)
    • 如果出现刺破、撕裂或首个运尸袋破损的情况,体液的存在可能会使处理和/或运输尸体的工作人员面临接触风险。应始终采取标准预防措施,防止接触血源性病原体。
    • 由于接触周围环境或在尸体运输过程中,运尸袋的外部有明显的污染物。
  • 正确做法应该是,将尸体放入运输车辆之前,使用美国国家环境保护局(EPA)批准的消毒剂external icon擦拭运尸袋外部。这可以保护之后可能接触运尸袋的死亡服务人员。

2020年7月23日最后更新

IF YOU ARE FULLY VACCINATED
CDC has updated its guidance for people who are fully vaccinated. See Recommendations for Fully Vaccinated People.
IMPORTANT UPDATE FOR SCHOOLS
CDC recommends schools continue to use the current COVID-19 prevention strategies for the 2020-2021 school year. Learn more
Important update: Healthcare facilities
CDC has updated select ways to operate healthcare systems effectively in response to COVID-19 vaccination. Learn more
UPDATE
Getting vaccinated prevents severe illness, hospitalizations, and death. Unvaccinated people should get vaccinated and continue masking until they are fully vaccinated. With the Delta variant, this is more urgent than ever. CDC has updated guidance for fully vaccinated people based on new evidence on the Delta variant.
UPDATE
Given new evidence on the B.1.617.2 (Delta) variant, CDC has updated the guidance for fully vaccinated people. CDC recommends universal indoor masking for all teachers, staff, students, and visitors to K-12 schools, regardless of vaccination status. Children should return to full-time in-person learning in the fall with layered prevention strategies in place.

FAQs for Medicolegal Death Investigators

FAQs for Medicolegal Death Investigators

Medicolegal death investigators work within the medicolegal death investigation systems (i.e., offices of medical examiners and coroners) to investigate sudden, unexpected, and unnatural deaths.  Investigation at the scene of death typically includes obtaining information from the family and other witnesses, confirming identity of the decedent, documenting and evaluating the scene and decedent’s body, describing any postmortem changes, collecting post-mortem specimens for testing, collecting and preserving evidence related to the death, ensuring correct labeling of the body, and supervising respectful and secure preparation of the body for transportation.

Medicolegal death investigators and other medical examiner or coroner office staff receiving reports of deaths should inquire about whether the decedent was COVID-19 positive, showed signs or symptoms of COVID-19 infection, and if the decedent had any risk factors for COVID-19 exposure. Investigators may talk with the local health department, family physician, family members, or others who lived with the decedent to help answer these questions. If there is no one to answer these questions (e.g., unwitnessed death, person lived alone, no medical history), investigators should take precautions as if the decedent was a known COVID-19 case. Current guidance on signs, symptoms, and other risk factors for COVID-19 can be found on the CDC Coronavirus Disease 2019 website.

If the decedent is suspected to have had COVID-19, it is prudent to assume others in the building where the death occurred could be infected. In addition, while body fluids other than respiratory secretions have not been clearly implicated in transmission of COVID-19, unprotected contact with other body fluids, including blood, stool, vomit, and urine, might put the investigator at risk of COVID-19 and other infectious diseases.

  • Gather information regarding the circumstances of the death (as is standard practice) to aid in the hazard/risk assessment, including risk for possible COVID-19 and whether droplets, aerosols, body fluids, purge, or decomposition materials were expelled before or after the death.
  • Plan for and implement physical distancing measures
    • Minimize close contact with anyone at the scene, including family members, responsible person(s) of the decedent, and witnesses.
    • Arrange to conduct pre-investigation interviews by telephone or video conference, if possible.
    • If interviews cannot be conducted by telephone or other virtual means, conduct interviews outside the residence or building where the death occurred or in other outdoor spaces. During any in-person interview or other interactions, the investigator should practice physical distancing of at least 6 feet and encourage all persons being interviewed to do the same.
    • The investigator and those being interviewed should wear cloth face coverings during the in-person interviews, especially if physical distancing of 6 feet or more cannot be maintained. Be aware of and follow state and local ordinances regarding use of face coverings.
  • If the investigator determines that it is necessary to enter the residence or building where the death occurred, then it is important to:
    • Carefully plan equipment needed for the investigation to avoid bringing unnecessary items into the structure. Plan to have extra face coverings for household members.
    • Set up separate, designated locations for donning and doffing PPE outside the structure. The doffing station should be physically separated from the donning station because used PPE could be contaminated. Make sure the doffing station has hand sanitizer, disinfectant sprays or wipes, and waste containers or biohazard bags for used PPE. See Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)-approved disinfectants external iconfor use against SARS-CoV-2.
    • Inquire if any persons in the building where the death occurred are experiencing symptoms consistent with COVID-19 (which may include fever, cough, shortness of breath) or have been diagnosed with COVID-19 or are awaiting test results. These individuals should be asked to remain outdoors or in a room of the structure that does not need to be accessed during the investigation.
    • Ask anyone remaining inside the structure to wear facemasks or cloth face coverings and keep the face covering on throughout the investigation. The investigator should also wear a face covering throughout the investigation (see below for further details regarding respiratory protection).
    • Alert all persons in the structure that the investigator will be entering and ask anyone remaining in the structure to move to a different room if possible, or to maintain physical distancing of at least 6 feet from the investigator.

If on-scene post-mortem COVID-19 specimen collection is planned for the decedent, follow the CDC Guidance for Postmortem Collection in close consultation with the supervising medical examiner or coroner.

  • PPE should be put on outside of the structure before entry.
  • Minimum PPE should include:
    • A single pair of non-sterile disposable medical examination gloves, but if the investigator determines that there is a risk of cuts, tears, punctures, abrasions, or hazards that could penetrate the skin, heavy-duty tear-resistant gloves should be worn over the examination gloves.
    • Eye protection, such as goggles or face shield that covers the front and sides of the face.
    • Clean, long-sleeved, fluid-resistant or impermeable isolation gown for barrier protection of skin and clothing.
    • Shoe coverings with non-slip tread.
    • Disposable facemask. However, if family members are going to be in the home and in close proximity (less than 6 feet) to the medicolegal death investigator during the investigation or if there is risk of exposure to infectious droplets or aerosols, then the investigator should wear a NIOSH-approved N95 particulate filtering facepiece respirator or higher level respirator for which the investigator has been fit tested. The investigator must have been medically cleared to wear the respirator and have appropriate training in the correct selection, use, and limitations of respiratory protection. Use of respirators must be consistent with the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Respiratory Protection Standard.

  • After exiting the structure, place items that were likely exposed to body fluids (e.g., blood, saliva, feces) in biohazard bags or waste containers and follow state and local guidelines for disposal of this waste.
  • Carefully remove PPE following CDC recommended doffing procedurespdf icon and then perform hand hygiene with alcohol-based hand sanitizer that contains 60 to 95% alcohol.
  • Put on a new pair of disposable medical examination gloves and clean and disinfect any non-porous surfaces that were potentially contaminated during the investigation, including clipboards, paperwork (consider laminating prior to use), electronic devices (e.g., laptops or cameras), pens or pencils, door handles, and waste containers or biohazard bags at the doffing station. See Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)-approved disinfectants external iconfor use against SARS-CoV-2. Wear any other PPE recommended by the manufacturer of the disinfectant before applying.
  • Clean and disinfect surfaces of any reusable PPE (e.g., goggles) by following the PPE manufacturer’s recommendations.
  • Before departing the location, perform hand hygiene again.

Medicolegal death investigators may supervise or be involved in the transportation of human remains. The following are important considerations for preparation and transport of a decedent where COVID-19 infection is known or suspected:

  • Current CDC guidance recommends standard body bagging procedures for decedents with suspected COVID-19 (consistent with those for decedents where COVID-19 is not suspected). This includes the use of a single body bag (minimum 6 mil thickness) that is wiped down with an Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)-approved disinfectantexternal icon after the decedent has been placed inside.
  • When handling the body, the following PPE should be worn:
    • A single pair of non-sterile disposable medical examination gloves. However, heavy-duty tear-resistant gloves preferably with coverage above the wrists (or double pair of disposable gloves) should be worn over the examination gloves if there is a risk of cuts, tears, punctures, abrasions, or hazards on or around the body that could penetrate the skin.
    • Clean, long-sleeved fluid-resistant or impermeable isolation gown for barrier protection of skin and clothing.
    • Disposable facemask.
    • Goggles or face shield that covers the front and sides of the face.
    • Shoe coverings with non-slip tread.
  • The investigator should be aware of special circumstances that may warrant the use of two or more body bags or bags of stronger material (e.g., 8 mil or thicker), such as:
    • Decedents’ body weights and sizes vary greatly as does construction and conditions of body bags and bag handles. Investigators should use prudent judgement determining if risks for puncture, tearing, or failure of body bags could occur and whether a second body bag or a body bag of thicker, stronger material is necessary. Refer to body bag weight capacities, if available.
    • Presence of sharp objects on the decedent that could cause punctures or tears (e.g., jewelry or piercings).
    • Thickness of the initial body bag (6 mil, 8 mil, 15 mil, etc.)
    • Presence of body fluids that could pose exposure risks to workers handling and/or transporting the body should a puncture, tear, or failure to the initial body bag occur. Standard precautions should always be taken to prevent exposure to bloodborne pathogens.
    • Visible contamination on the outside of the body bag that occurred by contact with the environs or during body transport.
  • It is good practice to wipe down the outside of the bag with an Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)-approved disinfectant external iconbefore putting the body in the transport vehicle. This protects death care workers who may be in contact with the bag in the future.