免责声明:本网站持续更新。在所有内容翻译完成之前,其中一些内容可能为英文。

卫生部门临时指导方针:无家可归者COVID-19免疫接种的执行

卫生部门临时指导方针:无家可归者COVID-19免疫接种的执行

无家可归者免疫接种很重要。无家可归者服务通常在聚集的环境中提供,这就可能加剧感染传播,包括有COVID-19病毒引起的感染。由于很多无家可归者为老年人或患有基础疾病,他们也面临 更高的重病风险。免疫接种咨询委员会(ACIP)建议在COVID-19供应有限时,应通过分阶段方法提供免疫接种。州和地方卫生部门的公共卫生专业人员正致力于如何通过公平、道德且透明的方式为不同的群体(包括无家可归者)分配COVID-19疫苗。由于上述高风险,一些州将无家可归者和无家可归者服务工作人员纳入早期优先免疫接种阶段。

在执行免疫接种阶段时,需考虑无家可归者可能对医疗系统信任度低且通常很难通过传统医疗传达方法(例如,诊所或卫生部门)获取免疫接种。从甲肝爆发中吸取到达经验告诉我们在无家可归者会去的无家可归者服务地点和场所、以及采用移动设备提供免疫接种均是重要的策略。本页面列出提高无家可归者COVID-19免疫接种服务传达的执行策略。请查看建议接种首批COVID-19疫苗的人群应考虑的免疫接种执行策略获取免疫接种执行一般注意事项。

巩固合作伙伴关系

  • 通过加强各卫生部门、无家可归诊所医疗external icon和无家可归服务提供者的合作关系,改善COVID-19疫苗获取、接受和送达。上述实体及其他团体(例如接到外展团队)通常知道如何联系无家可归者并与该群体存在信任关系。无家可归服务提供者包括持续护理机构external icon-负责协调某一地区内全面无家可归者服务的地方规划机构。
  • 在进行社区COVID-19检测活动时利用已建立的合作伙伴关系打造疫苗分配通道。
  • 参考针对无家可归者的以往免疫接种计划。例如,应对甲肝爆发的辖区可能有甲肝免疫接种计划以覆盖无家可归人群。

预计人口数量

  • 使用住房与城市发展部最近的时间点总数external icon按州或地区预估无家可归者数量,为疫苗分配计划提供信息,或联系您的地方持续护理机构external icon获取最近预估。
  • 绘制人口分布图或无家可归者访问的设施或位置分布图。

确定疫苗何时推出

  • 查看州和地方免疫接种计划,以确定无家可归者服务人员及无家可归者何时优先进行COVID-19免疫接种。一些州在第1阶段便纳入了无家可归者。
  • 考虑无家可归者服务人员和客户免疫接种的时间安排方法。可包括下列方法:
    • 无家可归者服务人员及客户同时免疫接种,因为他们感染COVID-19病毒风险相同
    • 无家可归者服务人员错开接受免疫接种,这样并非所有服务人员都在同一天接种。这个方法可能有利于最小化由于疫苗副作用而导致的潜在人员不足。同时,我们不知道这些症状在服务人员中的普遍程度如何,但不会所有人员都会在免疫接种后出现症状而需要误工。错开无家可归者服务人员COVID-19免疫接种注意事项可能与长期护理设施医疗人员的情况类似。

查看优先排序和次优先排序

  • 与案例管理人员、医疗机构和社区组织合作确认可能由于属于州或地方免疫接种计划(例如,由于年龄、就业状况或基础疾病)另一个优先群体而具备早期免疫接种资格的无家可归者。
  • 如果疫苗供应有限,考虑住房状态次优先排序。并非所有辖区都需要次优先;但是,一些卫生部门可能次优先传播风险高的无家可归庇护所,例如人员拥挤、共享房间或流通量高的庇护所。

确认由谁执行COVID-19疫苗接种

  • 计划哪些实体(例如,卫生部门、无家可归诊所医疗设施、零售药房或其他医疗实体)将负责订购、存储、分配、执行疫苗并记录相关数据。
  • 确认过去边缘化社区认识并信任的免疫接种提供者和人员,帮助少数种族和少数民族以及LGBT无家可归人群建立对免疫接种的信任。
  • 确认免疫接种活动的增加人员配置策略。如可用,医疗后备队或护士、药剂师和急诊技师志愿者协会可提供额外人员能力。如有,药剂学、护理、社会工作及医疗计划学院可作为额外的志愿者。
  • 确保所有疫苗计划提供者完成了所有免疫接种提供者协议和要求
  • 如果寻求无保险无家可归者免疫接种的赔偿,注册卫生资源服务局的COVID-19未保险计划external icon

确定如何配送疫苗以及配送到哪里

  • 让无家可归者和无家可归者服务提供者人员参与到免疫接种计划决策过程中。
  • 确保可以循环提供疫苗;计划在同一个地点提供重复的接种活动,以改善无家可归者人群中的疫苗接种。
  • 计划使用多个针对性策略以直接对接无家可归者:
    • 配发点(POD)-通过社区提供免疫接种。确定无家可归者可以轻松到达的方便位置。
    • 现场诊所——在提供无家可归者服务的地方(例如餐食服务点、无家可归庇护所、日间照护中心或公共图书馆)设置临时诊所。
    • 外展中心或流动车——这就可以包括结合公共卫生和社区外展组织人员。经过无家可归者外展联络培训的执法人员也可能有帮助;但是,应考虑到某些无家可归者可能在之前与执法部门的互动中遇到过创伤。这个选项可能可用于露天位置居住或无法获得其他服务的无家可归者。
  • 考虑辅助性策略通过其他场所接触到无家可归者:
    • 卫生诊所——与无家可归者更可能获取服务的诊所沟通,例如无家可归者医疗计划、具备联邦资质的卫生中心以及行为卫生诊所。确保诊所了解无家可归者服务人员和无家可归者在州和地方免疫接种计划中何时优先COVID-19免疫接种。分享免疫接种提供者要求和登记程序
    • 药房——很多药房已经参与为公众提供免疫接种且可供无家可归者获取服务,特别是在农村地区。确保药房了解无家可归者服务人员和无家可归者在州和地方免疫接种计划中何时优先COVID-19免疫接种。
    • 急诊室-在急诊室确定一名疫苗“冠军”负责并主动鼓励其他医疗人员积极确认无家可归者或其他优先群体并为其提供免疫接种。利用电子提醒和常规订单精简工作流程。查看辉瑞pdf icon[186 KB, 3 页]莫德纳pdf icon[177 KB, 3 页]常规订单示例
    • 高比重客户可能无家可归的其他社会服务组织(包括减少危害服务或注射器服务计划)——考虑将它们作为现场诊所额外场所。与这些合作伙伴合作有利于强化免疫接种重要性的信息并确保在需要时接种第二剂疫苗。

免疫接种活动物流准备

  • 确保免疫接种提供者可以遵守冷链要求用于疫苗解冻后的存储和使用。
  • 确认疫苗分配地点人员有能力进行免疫接种服务安全配送,确保他们能够坚持疫苗管理临床注意事项且能够为可能的不良反应,例如过敏性反应提供临床护理。
  • 查看现有免疫接种诊所计划检查清单并确保供给充足,包括肾上腺素。
  • 向工作人员和免疫接种接受者强调COVID-19核心预防措施(口罩、保持物理距离、避免人群、洗手)并在免疫接种活动中以及免疫接种后观察期间按需提供口罩。强调必须在接下来的数月中持续这些预防措施,即使在接种COVID-19疫苗后也是如此。

制定通讯宣传策略

  • 与备受信任通讯人员联系,例如有过无家可归经验的人,他们可以为无家可归者提供免疫接种教育和信息。让这些人参与到免疫接种活动计划和执行中。
  • 提前向无家可归者宣传免疫接种活动。使用多种通讯宣传策略,例如在露营地、庇护所和公共交通工具上发传单;在医疗和其他服务机构发布公告;或通过电子邮件、短信、社交媒体、电视和广播传达消息。

预测和解答免疫接种问题

  • 为无家可归者服务提供者工作人员和客户提供机会,让其提出关于疫苗的问题。免疫接种人员可以熟悉常见问题pdf icon[217 KB, 2 页] 的解答,以帮助解决这些疑虑,包括了解疫苗事实并阅读健康护理人员pdf icon[367 KB, 4 页]信息。
  • 与无家可归者信任的组织合作。分享适用于健康护理提供者社区组织的COVID-19免疫接种通讯工具,以解决疫苗犹豫
  • 了解有效面已结账谈话的要素:从共情和理解开始,提供您强有力的建议,通过分享关键事实解决错误信息,并让人们与受信任的健康护理提供者取得联系,以获得问题解答。

提供免疫接种后观察和护理

  • 确保足够的空间和人员提供免疫接种后观察,观察潜在不良反应。
  • 考虑为出现疫苗副作用的人提供医疗短期看护和庇护选择。

确保正确的文件记录、第二剂疫苗跟进以及报告

  • 同时使用多种第二剂提醒方法,以提高两剂疫苗序列的完整接种。例如疫苗卡、短信、电子健康记录提醒以及无家可归管理信息系统external icon自动提醒或标记。通过无家可归外展团队进行个人化外展有利于与可能忘记跟进的人取得联系。
  • 在免疫接种时记录完整联系信息,以改善第二剂跟进。询问备用联系信息或替代联系信息(获得允许后)。计划由谁负责确保跟进及使用什么策略。
  • 考虑创新策略进行第二剂提醒,例如提供预付电话卡、设置提醒的预付费手机,或者第二剂激励措施。
  • 查看疫苗记录和报告一般策略,包括培训具备资质的免疫接种提供者如何使用辖区免疫信息系统(IIS)或与IIS相连的其他系统(如需),在VaccineFinderexternal icon中登记免疫接种提供者,并报告不良事件。
  • 确保免疫接种团队有充足的免疫接种记录卡

Interim Guidance for Health Departments: COVID-19 Vaccination Implementation for People Experiencing Homelessness

Interim Guidance for Health Departments: COVID-19 Vaccination Implementation for People Experiencing Homelessness

Vaccination for people experiencing homelessness is important. Homeless services are often provided in congregate settings, which could facilitate the spread of infection, including infection caused by the virus that causes COVID-19. Because many people who are homeless are older adults or have underlying medical conditions, they may also be at increased risk for severe illness. The Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) recommends that, when supplies of COVID-19 vaccine are limited, vaccination should be offered in a phased approach. Public health professionals at state and local health departments are working on how to distribute COVID-19 vaccines in a fair, ethical, and transparent way for different groups, including people experiencing homelessness. Because of the increased risk described above, some states have prioritized people experiencing homelessness and homeless service staff in earlier vaccination phases.

When implementing the vaccination phases, it is important to consider that people experiencing homelessness might have low levels of trust in the medical system and often have difficulty accessing vaccinations through traditional healthcare delivery methods, such as clinics or health departments. Lessons learned from hepatitis A outbreaks show us that offering vaccination in homeless service sites and places where people experiencing homelessness visit, as well as using mobile units, are important strategies. This webpage outlines implementation strategies to improve delivery of COVID-19 vaccination services to people experiencing homelessness. Please review Vaccination Implementation Strategies to Consider for Populations Recommended to Receive Initial Doses of COVID-19 Vaccine for general considerations for vaccination implementation.

Reinforce partnerships

  • Improve COVID-19 vaccine access, acceptance, and delivery by strengthening partnerships across health departments, health care for the homeless clinicsexternal icon, and homeless service providers. These entities and others, such as street outreach teams, generally know how to reach people experiencing homelessness and have trusted relationships with the population. Homeless service providers include Continuum of Care agenciesexternal icon —the local planning bodies responsible for coordinating the full range of homelessness services in a geographic area.
  • Leverage partnerships that were developed in conducting community-based COVID-19 testing events to establish vaccine distribution pathways.
  • Reference previous vaccination plans for reaching people experiencing homelessness. For example, jurisdictions that responded to hepatitis A outbreaks might have hepatitis A vaccination plans that they can adapt to reach people experiencing homelessness.

Estimate the population size

  • Use the Department of Housing and Urban Development’s most recent point-in-time countexternal icon to estimate the number of people experiencing homelessness by state or region and help inform vaccine distribution planning, or contact your local Continuum of Care agencyexternal icon for the most recent estimates.
  • Map the distribution of the population or the facilities or locations that are accessed by people experiencing homelessness.

Identify when vaccine roll out will take place

  • Review state and local vaccination plans to identify when homeless service staff and people experiencing homelessness are prioritized for COVID-19 vaccination. Some states have included people experiencing homelessness in Phase 1.
  • Consider approaches to the timing of vaccinating homeless service staff and clients. Approaches might include the following:
    • Vaccinating homeless service clients at the same time as staff because they have a shared increased risk for becoming infected with the virus that causes COVID-19.
    • Staggering homeless service staff who receive vaccination, so that not all staff are vaccinated on the same day. This approach might help minimize potential staff shortages resulting from vaccine side effects. At this time, we do not know how common these symptoms will be among staff but do not expect that all staff who experience symptoms following vaccination will need to miss work. Considerations for staggering COVID-19 vaccination for homeless service staff might be similar to some of those for healthcare personnel in long-term care facilities.

Review prioritization and sub-prioritization

  • Work with case managers, healthcare agencies, and community organizations to identify people experiencing homelessness who might be eligible for vaccination in earlier phases due to belonging to another group prioritized by state or local vaccination plans (e.g., due to age, employment, or underlying medical conditions).
  • Consider sub-prioritization by housing status if there is limited vaccine supply. Not all jurisdictions will need to sub-prioritize; however, some health departments might sub-prioritize homeless shelters with increased risk of transmission, such as those with increased crowding, shared rooms, or higher turnover.

Identify who will administer COVID-19 vaccines

  • Plan which entities (e.g., health department, health care for the homeless clinic, retail pharmacy, or other health care entity) will be responsible for ordering, storing, distributing, administering, and documenting data pertaining to vaccines.
  • Identify vaccination providers and staff who are known and trusted by historically marginalized communities to help build vaccination confidence among racial and ethnic minorities and lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people experiencing homelessness.
  • Identify strategies for surge staffing for vaccination events. When available, Medical Reserve Corps or volunteer associations for nurses, pharmacists, and emergency medical technicians can provide additional staffing capacity. Students in pharmacy, nursing, social work, and medical programs can serve as additional volunteers if available.
  • Ensure all vaccine program providers have completed all vaccination provider agreements and requirements.
  • Register with Health Resources and Services Administration’s COVID-19 Uninsured Programexternal icon if seeking reimbursement for vaccinating uninsured people experiencing homelessness.

Determine how and where vaccines will be delivered

  • Involve people experiencing homelessness and homeless service provider staff in the decision-making process for vaccination planning.
  • Ensure vaccines can be offered on a recurring basis; plan to offer repeat events in the same location to improve vaccine uptake among people experiencing homelessness. Work with homeless service providers to identify the most convenient days and times to reach the highest number of individuals.
  • Plan to use multiple, focused strategies to reach people experiencing homelessness directly:
    • Points of dispensing (POD) – Establish locations throughout the community to offer vaccination. Identify convenient locations that people experiencing homelessness can easily access.
    • On-site clinics – Set up temporary locations where homeless services are offered, such as meal service sites, homeless shelters, day centers, or public libraries.
    • Outreach teams or mobile vans – This can include a combination of staff from public health and community outreach organizations. Law enforcement officers with training as homeless outreach liaisons might also be helpful; however, consider that some people experiencing homelessness might have encountered trauma in prior interactions with law enforcement. This might be an option for reaching people living in unsheltered locations or who do not access other services.
  • Consider complementary strategies to reach people experiencing homelessness through other venues:
    • Health clinics – Communicate with clinics where people experiencing homelessness might be more likely to access services, such as Health Care for the Homeless, Federally Qualified Health Centers, and behavioral health clinics. Ensure that clinics are aware of when homeless service staff and people experiencing homelessness are prioritized for COVID-19 vaccination in state and local vaccination plans. Share vaccination provider requirements and enrollment procedures.
    • Pharmacies – Many pharmacies are already involved in providing vaccination to the public and can be accessible for people experiencing homelessness, especially in rural areas. Ensure that pharmacies are aware of when homeless service staff and people experiencing homelessness are prioritized for COVID-19 vaccination in state and local vaccination plans.
    • Emergency departments – Identify a vaccine “champion” who takes responsibility and initiative in emergency departments to encourage other healthcare providers to identify people experiencing homelessness or other priority populations proactively and offer vaccination. Utilize electronic alerts and standing orders to streamline workflows. See example standing orders for Pfizer pdf icon[186 KB, 3 pages] and Moderna pdf icon[177 KB, 3 pages]
    • Other social service organizations where a high proportion of clients might be experiencing homelessness, including harm reduction services or syringe services programs – Consider these as additional venues for on-site clinics. Collaborating with these partners can help to reinforce messages on the importance of vaccination and ensure follow-up of a second dose when needed.

Prepare logistics for vaccination events

  • Ensure that the vaccination provider can follow cold chain requirements for vaccine storage and use once thawed.
  • Confirm that vaccine distribution locations have staff with capacity to perform safe delivery of vaccination services, who can adhere to clinical considerations for vaccine administration, and who can provide clinical care for potential adverse events, such as anaphylaxis.
  • Review existing vaccination clinic planning checklists and ensure adequate supplies, including epinephrine.
  • Reinforce to staff and vaccination recipients the core COVID-19 prevention measures (masks, physical distancing, avoiding crowds, handwashing) and provide masks as needed during vaccination events and post-vaccination observation periods. Reinforce that these prevention measures must be sustained for the coming months, even after people receive COVID-19 vaccination.

Develop a communication strategy

  • Connect with trusted communicators, such as people with lived experience of homelessness, who can provide vaccination education and information to people experiencing homelessness. Engage these individuals in planning and implementation of vaccination events.
  • Advertise vaccination events for people experiencing homelessness in advance. Use multiple communication strategies such as flyers at encampments, in shelters, and on public transportation; announcements at healthcare and other service programs; or messages via email, text messaging, social media, television, and radio.

Anticipate and address vaccination questions

  • Provide opportunities for homeless service provider staff and clients to ask questions about the vaccines. Vaccinators can familiarize themselves with answers to common questions pdf icon[217 KB, 2 pages] to help address these concerns including learning vaccine facts and reading information for healthcare providers pdf icon[367 KB, 4 pages].
  • Partner with organizations that have established trusted relationships with people experiencing homelessness. Share COVID-19 vaccination communication toolkits for healthcare providers and community-based organizations to address vaccine hesitancy.
  • Know the elements of effective vaccination conversations: start from a place of empathy and understanding, give your strong recommendation, address misinformation by sharing key facts, and connect people with trusted healthcare providers to answer questions.

Provide post-vaccination observation and care

  • Ensure adequate space and staff for post-vaccination observation for potential adverse reactions.
  • Consider providing medical respite care and shelter options for people experiencing vaccine side effects.

Ensure appropriate documentation, second-dose follow-up, and reporting

  • Use multiple second-dose reminder methods simultaneously to improve completion of each vaccinee’s two-dose series. Examples include vaccine cards, text messaging, electronic health record alerts, and automated reminders or flags in Homeless Management Information Systemsexternal icon. Personal outreach through homelessness outreach teams can help to connect with individuals who might be lost to follow-up.
  • Record complete contact information at the time of vaccination to improve second-dose follow-up. Ask for back-up contact information or an alternate contact (with permission). Plan for who will be responsible for ensuring follow-up and what strategies they will use.
  • Consider innovative strategies for second-dose reminders such as providing prepaid phone cards, prepaid cell phones with programed reminders, or second-dose incentives.
  • Review general strategies for vaccine documentation and reporting, including training qualified vaccination providers on use of the jurisdiction’s immunization information system (IIS) or other system connected to the IIS if needed, enrolling vaccination providers in VaccineFinderexternal icon, and reporting adverse events.
  • Ensure that vaccination teams have sufficient vaccination record cards.