免责声明:本网站持续更新。在所有内容翻译完成之前,其中一些内容可能为英文。

卫生部门对无家可归者收容所和营地进行SARS-CoV-2检测的临时考虑事项

卫生部门对无家可归者收容所和营地进行SARS-CoV-2检测的临时考虑事项

这些临时考虑事项根据截至2020年7月1日对SARS-CoV-2和COVID-19的已知情况而制定。

美国疾病控制预防中心 (CDC) 将根据需要和其他信息更新这些考虑事项。请定期查阅以下CDC网站以了解最新的临时指导方针。

注:除其他实体或联邦或州机构引用(或规定)的情况外,本文件旨在提供有关适当使用检测的考虑事项,不规定此类检测的支付决定或保险范围的确定。CDC是一家非监管机构,本文件中的信息旨在帮助卫生部门和无家可归者服务机构做出决策,而非制定监管要求。

无家可归者服务机构的场所和营地可能对2019新型冠状病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 调查和公共卫生措施提出了独特的挑战。在诸如无家可归者收容所之类的聚集场所中,该病毒可能会在住客、员工和志愿者之间轻易传播。此外,许多无家可归者都是老年人或患有基础疾病 [1], [2],这增加了他们罹患COVID-19重症的风险。本文件介绍无家可归者收容所和营地的检测策略。COVID-19诊断检测是综合策略的组成部分,应与促进减少传播的行为维护健康环境维持健康运营以及为有人生病做好准备等措施结合使用。

州、部落、领地和地方卫生部门应在当地建议、资源、可接受性和可行性的背景下考量这些因素。这些考虑事项是为了补充而非取代任何联邦、州、地方、领地或部落的健康和安全法律、法规和规定。有关检测过程中使用的适当程序、安全措施和个人防护设备的详细信息,请参见集体环境中的检测程序

所有检测和其他公共卫生活动的目的和过程应明确告知无家可归者服务场所的服务对象和工作人员,以促进理解和接受。检测策略的实施应尽可能保护隐私和机密性,并符合适用法律和法规的要求。除了州和地方法律、法规和政策外,场所管理人员在为员工提供检测时还应遵循平等就业机会委员会external icon的指导方针。在发现阳性检测结果时,确保迅速和适当地通知个人,将其与其他人隔离,提供适当的医疗护理,并在必要时将其安排到适当的隔离备用住房。此外,请查阅有关无家可归者收容所病例应对指导方针

COVID-19检测类型

建议进行病毒检测,以诊断SARS-CoV-2的当前感染(导致COVID-19的病毒)。病毒检测评估呼吸道样本中是否存在病毒。这些检测结果有助于公共卫生官员识别和隔离感染者,以最大程度地减少COVID-19的传播。

抗体测试用于确定SARS-CoV-2的既往感染。CDC目前不建议使用抗体检测作为诊断当前感染的唯一依据。由于目前尚不清楚抗体检测结果呈阳性是否表明对SARS-CoV-2具有免疫力,抗体检测不能用于确定个人是否具有免疫性。

CDC对SARS-CoV-2检测的建议基于目前对COVID-19的了解而制定,并可能随着获得更多信息而更改。

何时需要检测

以下文件描述在无家可归者收容所和营地进行SARS-CoV-2病毒检测可能适用的情况,并概述如何根据社区传播水平来指导采用何种检测策略:

  • 检测体征或症状符合COVID-19的个人
  • 检测最近已知或怀疑接触过SARS-CoV-2的无症状个人,以控制传播

检测体征或症状符合COVID-19的个人

根据CDC的建议,出现COVID-19症状的个人应转诊到医疗服务机构进行评估和可能的检测。识别症状患者的措施是在标准的收容服务和拓展服务期间进行症状筛查。但是,由于筛查无法识别可能无症状或症状前的COVID-19患者,仅凭这一措施将无法阻止所有COVID-19患者进入无家可归者服务机构场所。筛查应以安全、尊重的方式进行,并遵守所有适用的隐私法律和法规。

如果可能,出现符合COVID-19症状的住客、员工或志愿者应佩戴口罩。应建议出现症状的员工和志愿者回家。出现症状的住客应被带到并留在预先指定的区域,最好是单独的房间,与收容所其他住客隔开。

公共卫生规划应包括安排有症状的无家可归者进行检测的方式,无论是通过联邦合格卫生中心或其他社区机构、收容所诊所或移动检测来获得医疗服务,过程最好方便快捷。应特别考虑确保无家可归者和有COVID-19症状患者获得医疗服务。

检测最近已知或怀疑接触过SARS-CoV-2的无症状个人,以控制传播

建议对COVID-19患者的所有密切接触者进行检测。通常,通过基于人的接触者追踪来确定密切接触者。但是,在无家可归者服务场所和营地中,拥挤的环境、住客和工作人员混杂以及其他限制因素可能会限制基于人的接触者追踪的有效性。考虑到追踪无家可归者密切接触者的难度,基于位置的接触者追踪(而不是基于人的接触者追踪)可用于识别潜在的接触地点。在这些情况下,可以将对住客、员工和志愿者进行更广泛的检测(如下文定义的全设施范围检测)视为控制SARS-CoV-2传播策略的一部分。隔离期间和等待检测结果时的其他注意事项包括:

  • 如果可能,所有存在潜在接触史的人均应佩戴口罩
  • 住客可能需要住进特定隔离间,应建议工作人员尽可能居家隔离。
  • 出现症状的已知或疑似接触者应与后续检测挂钩,即使他们最初的检测结果为阴性。

请参阅下文关于将基于接触的检测纳入公共卫生策略的详细信息。 

检测无家可归者收容所和营地中未接触过SARS-CoV-2的无症状个人以尽早识别

在特殊人群中,对没有SARS-CoV-2已知接触史的无症状个人进行检测,可能有助于早期识别COVID-19的病例和疫情,特别是在聚集生活环境的人群中。如果在社区中出现中度或大量传播,可考虑在整个设施范围内进行初步和定期检测,以控制病毒在收容所中的传播 [3]

目前尚不清楚,除实施其他感染预防措施(如保持社交距离、佩戴口罩、洗手、加强清洁和消毒)取得的预期效果外,对无家可归者服务场所和营地进行的入门检测是否能进一步减少病毒在人与人之间的传播。因此,CDC不建议对无家可归者服务场所和营地进行入门检测

使用社区传播水平指导无症状检测

必须采取灵活策略来减缓COVID-19突发公共卫生事件 (PHE) 对无家可归者收容所和营地的影响。本节描述如何使用社区传播水平来指导有关可能考虑的检测策略类型的决策。卫生部门和无家可归者服务场所的管理人员应与医疗服务机构合作,决定是否以及如何实施这些检测考虑,以确定无症状人群中的病例,包括COVID-19的已知接触者和未知接触者。

为无家可归者提供服务的机构应在无家可归者收容所居住者或无家可归者中继续遵循预防COVID-19的基本指导方针。

设施范围(普遍)检测是指在有人开始出现症状的前2天,或在无症状患者检测结果呈阳性的前2天直到他们被隔离,对在此期间的该场所或营地所有相关住客和工作人员进行SARS-CoV-2病毒测试。

  • 任何检测结果呈阳性的住客都应安排到可以安全隔离和获得必要服务的地方,直到满足结束隔离标准
  • 应建议检测呈阳性的工作人员根据需要寻求医学护理,并待在家里,直到他们满足结束隔离标准
  • 建议对所有之前检测结果呈阴性或未检测的住客、工作人员和志愿者进行重复检测(例如每周一次),直到检测自最近的阳性结果以来至少14天内未发现新的COVID-19病例。
  • 不可能始终对符合检测条件的每个人提供测试,但目的是广泛地向任何可能接触过病毒的人提供检测。 

社区传播类别CDC社区缓解框架描述了表1中包含的传播类别。卫生部门应考虑制定反映这些类别并适合当地情况的准确发病率指标。

表1:确定何时在无家可归者收容所或营地进行全设施范围内检测

表1:确定何时在无家可归者收容所或营地进行全设施范围内检测
无至轻微 轻微至中度 中度至重度
社区传播描述 孤立病例或有限的社区传播;病例调查正在进行;没有大型公共场所接触的证据 持续性传播的规模不大,但公共场所有很高可能性或已确认的接触,有可能使病例迅速增加 大规模、不受控或受控的社区传播,包括在公共场所
基准活动 定期进行病例识别和调查* 根据指定标准增加在场所进行测试检测的机会** 考虑在整个设施范围内进行初步和定期检测
何时进行全设施范围检测 在场所发现实验室确诊病例,或
在前哨点发现实验室确诊病例***,或
场所的一系列疑似病例超过了预定阈值,或
在基于位置的接触者追踪中发现某场所
不需要触发;如果发现病例,则启动跟进检测

**被动监测。
****主动监测; 参见下面的示例标准。
******前哨点 = 提供邻近地点是否可能发生疫情迹象的地点。

无至轻微社区传播:定期进行病例识别和调查

在无至轻微程度社区传播的地区,卫生部门应使用其标准监测系统(被动监视)和病例调查程序,在无家可归者或无家可归者服务人员中识别确诊和疑似病例(根据州和地区传染病学家委员会对COVID-19病例的定义pdf iconexternal icon):

  • 调查感染者在出现症状前48小时到隔离期间是否与任何无家可归者服务机构或营地(例如在那里工作或逗留)有关联,即使那里不是他们的主要工作或住所。
  • 如果与场所有关的人员被确诊患有COVID-19,应尽快在全设施范围内进行检测。
  • 查阅CDC关于在无家可归者服务场所应对病例的指导方针,以获得关于病例调查和疫情应对的更多信息。

轻微到中度社区传播:增加无症状检测的机会

除上述常规病例识别和调查策略外,轻微到中度社区传播地区的卫生部门可考虑与合作伙伴合作,增加在无家可归者收容所和营地的检测机会(如创建主动监测系统)。根据指定的标准,系统地向与该场所有关的个人提供检测,可以增加早期发现病例的可能性。卫生部门或卫生护理机构可以单独或结合用于无家可归者收容所加强检测策略的示例包括:

  • 增强基于症状的检测:通过向无家可归者服务场所派驻医疗人员,向任何有COVID-19症状的人提供检测,增加检测和早期发现病例的机会。如果任何住客、工作人员或志愿者的检测结果呈阳性,则进行全设施范围的检测。
  • 随机选择检测:定期在现场对随机选择的住客、工作人员或志愿者(如每个第三方人员)进行检测。 如果住客或工作人员的检测结果呈阳性,则进行全设施范围检测。虽然各辖区可以选择使用这种方法,但理想的检测频率仍然未知。
  • 设定阳性症状筛查阈值:如果检测暂停或无法提供,则追踪该场所类似COVID的病例(例如,疑似病例pdf iconexternal icon)。设置与在长期护理机构中可能使用的应对措施类似的阈值,例如,设施在14内发现超过2例类似COVID的疾病。如果超过了预定义的阈值,则进行全设施范围检测。
  • 前哨点:选择一个地点进行定期(例如每周)全设施范围检测。或者,可以将相互连接的场所视为彼此的前哨点(例如,惩教所或附近的无家可归者收容所)。如果在前哨点发现一个或多个病例,则在每个地点进行全设施范围检测。

重度社区传播:进行初步和定期检测

在重度社区传播地区,无论是否已确定最初的COVID-19病例,卫生部门可考虑与合作伙伴协作,为所有场所的所有住客、志愿者和工作人员至少提供一次全设施范围检测。建议对所有以前检测呈阴性或未检测的住客、志愿者和工作人员进行重复检测(例如每周一次),直到检测在最近的阳性结果出现后至少14天内未发现新的COVID-19病例。如果检测资源有限,请考虑根据以下一个或多个因素确定检测场所的优先次序:

  • 规模。考虑对更大的场所开始检测。
  • 人员流动。考虑在每周有很多新进人员的地方开始检测。
  • 与其他设施的关联。考虑在使用相同工作人员或住客重叠的设施开始检测。
  • 拥挤程度。考虑在难以建立住客之间身体距离的场所开始检测。
  • 聚集场所与收容所单独房间。考虑在共用睡眠区域的场所开始检测。
  • 易感染人群。考虑在有重症高风险人群的场所开始检测。

1住房和城市发展部向国会提交的《2017年度无家可归评估报告 (AHAR)》 第2部分:“美国无家可归者人数估计”,2018年10月。请访问:https://files.hudexchange.info/resources/documents/2017-AHAR-Part-2.pdfpdf iconexternal icon

2 Fazel S、 Geddes J、 Kushel M,《高收入国家无家可归者的健康:描述性流行病学、健康后果以及临床和政策建议》,The Lancet,2014年10月25日;384(9953):1529-40

3 Mosites E、Parker EM、Clarke KE 等:《美国四城市无家可归者收容所SARS-CoV-2感染率评估》, 2020年3月27日- 4月15日, MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep 2020;69:521-522. DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.15585/mmwr.mm6917external icon

2020年8月3日最后更新

Interim Considerations for Health Departments for SARS-CoV-2 Testing in Homeless Shelters and Encampments

Interim Considerations for Health Departments for SARS-CoV-2 Testing in Homeless Shelters and Encampments

These interim considerations are based on what is currently known about SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 as of the date of posting, July 1, 2020.

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) will update these considerations as needed and as additional information becomes available. Please check the following CDC website periodically for updated interim guidance.

Note: This document is intended to provide considerations on the appropriate use of testing and does not dictate the determination of payment decisions or insurance coverage of such testing, except as may be otherwise referenced (or prescribed) by another entity or federal or state agency. CDC is a non-regulatory agency; therefore, the information in this document is meant to assist health departments and homeless service providers in making decisions rather than establishing regulatory requirements.

Homeless service provider sites and encampments can present unique challenges for coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) investigations and public health action. In congregate settings such as homeless shelters, the virus may spread easily among clients, staff, and volunteers. Additionally, many people experiencing homelessness are older adults or have underlying medical conditions [1], [2], which increases their risk of severe illness from COVID-19. This document describes testing strategies for homeless shelters and encampments. Testing to diagnose COVID-19 is one component of a comprehensive strategy and should be used in conjunction with promoting behaviors that reduce spread, maintaining healthy environments, maintaining healthy operations, and preparing for when someone gets sick.

State, Tribal, territorial, and local health departments should review these considerations in the context of local recommendations, resources, acceptability, and feasibility. These considerations are meant to supplement—not replace—any federal, state, local, territorial, or Tribal health and safety laws, rules, and regulations. For details on appropriate procedures and safety measures and personal protective equipment to use during testing, see procedure for testing in congregate settings.

The purpose and process of all testing and other public health activities should be clearly communicated to clients and staff at the homeless service site to promote understanding and acceptability. Testing strategies should be carried out in a way that protects privacy and confidentiality to the extent possible and that is consistent with applicable laws and regulations. In addition to state and local laws, regulations and policies, site administrators should follow guidance from the Equal Employment Opportunity Commissionexternal icon when offering testing to staff. Any time a positive test result is identified, ensure that the individual is rapidly and appropriately notified, separated from others, provided appropriate medical care, and linked to appropriate alternative housing for isolation, as necessary. Additionally, review the guidance for responding to cases at homeless shelters.

Types of COVID-19 tests

Viral tests are recommended to diagnose current infection with SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19. Viral tests evaluate whether the virus is present in a respiratory sample. Results from these tests help public health officials identify and isolate people who are infected to minimize COVID-19 transmission.

Antibody tests are used to determine a past infection with SARS-CoV-2. CDC does not currently recommend using antibody testing as the sole basis for diagnosing current infection. Because it is currently not clear whether a positive antibody test indicates immunity against SARS-CoV-2, antibody tests cannot be used to determine if an individual is immune.

CDC recommendations for SARS-CoV-2 testing have been developed based on what is currently known about COVID-19 and are subject to change as additional information becomes available.

When testing might be needed

The following document describes scenarios when SARS-CoV-2 viral testing may be appropriate in homeless shelters and encampments and outlines how to use community transmission levels to guide which testing strategies to use:

  • Testing individuals with signs or symptoms consistent with COVID-19
  • Testing asymptomatic individuals with recent known or suspected exposure to SARS-CoV-2 to control transmission

Testing individuals with signs or symptoms consistent with COVID-19

Consistent with CDC’s recommendations, individuals with symptoms consistent with COVID-19 should be referred to a healthcare provider for evaluation and possible testing. One strategy to identify people with symptoms is to conduct symptom screening during standard shelter and outreach practices. However, because screening cannot identify individuals with COVID-19 who may be asymptomatic or pre-symptomatic, this strategy alone cannot prevent all individuals with COVID-19 from entering homeless service provider sites. Screenings should be conducted safely and respectfully and in accordance with any applicable privacy laws and regulations.

Clients, staff, or volunteers who have symptoms consistent with COVID-19 should wear a mask, if able. Staff and volunteers with symptoms should be advised to go or stay home. Clients with symptoms should be directed to stay in a pre-designated area, separated from other shelter clients and ideally in individual rooms.

Public health planning should incorporate arrangements for how symptomatic people who are experiencing homelessness will access testing, ideally with a rapid turnaround, whether by facilitating access to healthcare through Federally Qualified Health Centers or other community providers, shelter-based clinics, or mobile testing. Special consideration should be given to ensuring that people who are experiencing homelessness and have symptoms of COVID-19 have access to medical care.

Testing asymptomatic individuals with recent known or suspected exposure to SARS-CoV-2 to control transmission

Testing is recommended for all close contacts of persons with COVID-19. Typically, people who are close contacts are identified through person-based contact tracing. However, in homeless service sites and encampments, crowding, mixing of clients and staff, and other constraints can limit the effectiveness of person-based contact tracing. Given challenges with tracing close contacts of people experiencing homelessness, location-based contact tracing can be used to identify potentially exposed sites rather than individual contact-based tracings. In these situations, broader testing of clients, staff, and volunteers (e.g., facility-wide testing, as defined below) can be considered as a part of a strategy to control transmission of SARS-CoV-2. Additional considerations during quarantine and while awaiting test results include:

  • All individuals with potential exposure should wear masks, if able.
  • Clients may need access to specific quarantine housing and staff should be advised to quarantine at home, as possible.
  • Anyone with known or suspected exposure who develops symptoms should be linked to follow-up testing, even if they had initially tested negative.

See further details below on integrating exposure-based testing into a public health strategy. 

Testing asymptomatic individuals without known exposure to SARS-CoV-2 for early identification in homeless shelters and encampments

In special populations, testing of asymptomatic individuals without known exposure to SARS-CoV-2 may allow for early identification of COVID-19 cases and outbreaks, especially among persons in congregate living settings. If there is moderate or substantial transmission in the community, initial and regular facility-wide testing may be considered as approaches to limit the virus’s spread in homeless shelters [3].

It is unknown if entry testing for homeless service sites and encampments provides any additional reduction in person-to-person transmission of the virus beyond what would be expected with implementation of other infection preventive measures (e.g., social distancing, masks, hand washing, enhanced cleaning and disinfection). Therefore, CDC does not recommend entry testing for homeless service sites and encampments.

Using community transmission levels to guide asymptomatic testing

Flexible strategies are necessary to mitigate the effects of the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (PHE) in homeless shelters and encampments. This section describes how the level of community transmission can be used to guide decisions about the types of testing strategies that may be considered. Health departments and administrators of homeless service sites, in partnership with healthcare providers, should decide whether and how to implement these testing considerations to identify cases among people who are asymptomatic, including both those with and without known exposure to COVID-19.

Those providing services for people experiencing homelessness should continue to follow guidance for basic COVID-19 prevention among people who are staying in homeless shelters or experiencing unsheltered homelessness.

Facility-wide (universal) testing involves offering viral testing for SARS-CoV-2 to all clients and staff who were affiliated with the site or encampment any time from 2 days before the individual began experiencing symptoms, or 2 days before a positive test in an asymptomatic individual, until they were isolated.

  • Any client who tests positive should be connected to a place where they can safely isolate and access necessary services until they meet criteria to discontinue isolation.
  • Staff who test positive should be advised to seek medical care as needed and to stay home until they meet criteria to discontinue isolation.
  • Repeat testing of all previously negative or untested clients, staff, and volunteers (e.g., once a week) is recommended until the testing identifies no new cases of COVID-19 for at least 14 days since the most recent positive result.
  • It will not always be possible to provide testing to every individual who would qualify, but the intent is to broadly offer testing to anyone who might have been exposed. 

Community transmission categories: The transmission categories included in Table 1 are described in the CDC Community Mitigation Framework. Health departments should consider setting precise incidence indicators that reflect these categories and are suitable to the local context.

Table 1: Identifying when facility-wide testing in homeless shelters or encampments is indicated

Table 1: Identifying when facility-wide testing in homeless shelters or encampments is indicated
None to Minimal Minimal to Moderate Moderate to Substantial
Community Transmission Description Isolated cases or limited community transmission; case investigations under way; no evidence of exposure in large communal setting Sustained transmission that is not large-scale but with high likelihood or confirmed exposure in communal settings and with the potential for rapid increase in cases Large-scale, uncontrolled or controlled community transmission, including in communal settings
Baseline Activities Conduct regular case identification and investigation* Increase access to testing at the site according to designated criteria** Consider initial and regular facility-wide testing
When to Conduct Facility-wide Testing A laboratory-confirmed case is identified at the site, or
A laboratory-confirmed case is identified in a sentinel site***, or
A cluster of probable cases at the site exceeds a pre-determined threshold, or
A site is identified in location-based contact tracing
No trigger needed; follow-up testing triggered if cases are identified

*Passive surveillance.
**Active surveillance; see below for example criteria.
***Sentinel site= a site that provides a signal for whether outbreaks might be occurring at adjacent sites.

Community transmission is none to minimal: Regular case identification and investigation

In areas where community transmission is none to minimal, health departments should use their standard surveillance system (passive surveillance) and case investigation processes to identify confirmed and probable cases (according to the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists case definition of COVID-19pdf iconexternal icon) among people experiencing homelessness or homeless service staff:

  • Investigate whether infected individuals have been affiliated with any homeless service facility or encampment (e.g., working or staying there) from 48 hours before they had symptoms until they were isolated, even if it was not their primary place of work or shelter.
  • Conduct facility-wide testing as soon as possible if a person affiliated with the site is confirmed to have COVID-19.
  • Review CDC guidance for responding to cases at homeless service sites for further information about case investigation and outbreak response.

Community transmission is minimal to moderate: Increase asymptomatic testing access

In addition to the regular case identification and investigation strategies described above, health departments in areas where community transmission is minimal to moderate can consider working with partners to increase testing access in homeless shelters and encampments (i.e., creating an active surveillance system). Offering testing systematically to individuals affiliated with the site according to designated criteria can increase the likelihood of early identification of cases. Examples of increased testing strategies that health departments or health care providers could use alone or in combination for homeless shelters include:

  • Enhanced symptom-based testing access: Increase access to testing and early identification of cases by stationing medical providers at homeless service sites to offer testing to anyone with symptoms of COVID-19. If any client, staff member, or volunteer tests positive, then conduct facility-wide testing.
  • Random-selection testing: Offer testing to randomly selected clients, staff, or volunteers (e.g., every third person) at the site on a regular basis. If a client or staff member tests positive, then conduct facility-wide testing. Although jurisdictions may choose to use this option, the ideal frequency of testing is still unknown.
  • Setting positive symptom screening thresholds: Track instances of COVID-like illness (e.g., probable casespdf iconexternal icon) at the site if testing is pending or not available. Set a threshold for response similar to what you might use at a long-term care facility, for example >2 cases of COVID-like illness are identified at the facility within 14 days. If the pre-defined threshold is surpassed, then conduct facility-wide testing.
  • Sentinel sites: Choose a single site to conduct regular (e.g., weekly), facility-wide testing. Or, consider connected sites to be sentinel sites for each other (e.g., correctional facilities or nearby homeless shelters). If one or more cases are identified in the sentinel site, then conduct facility-wide testing at each site.

Community transmission is substantial: Initial and regular testing

In areas where community transmission is substantial, health departments may consider coordinating with partners to offer facility-wide testing for all clients, volunteers, and staff in all sites at least once, regardless of whether an initial case of COVID-19 has been identified. Repeat testing of all previously negative or untested clients, volunteers, and staff (e.g., once a week) is recommended until the testing identifies no new cases of COVID-19 for at least 14 days since the most recent positive result. If resources for testing are limited, consider prioritizing sites for testing according to one or more of these factors:

  • Size. Consider starting testing in larger sites.
  • Turnover. Consider starting testing in locations that have many new admissions per week.
  • Connectedness with other facilities. Consider starting testing with facilities that share staff or have overlaps in clients.
  • Crowding levels. Consider starting testing at sites that have difficulty creating physical distance between clients.
  • Congregate vs. individual rooms in shelters. Consider starting testing at sites that have shared sleeping areas.
  • Vulnerability of population. Consider starting testing at sites where people are at increased risk for severe illness.

1 Department of Housing and Urban Development. The 2017 Annual Homeless Assessment Report (AHAR) to Congress, PART 2: Estimates of Homelessness in the United States. October 2018. Available at: https://files.hudexchange.info/resources/documents/2017-AHAR-Part-2.pdfpdf iconexternal icon

2 Fazel S, Geddes J, Kushel M. The Health of Homeless People in High-Income Countries: Descriptive Epidemiology, Health Consequences, and Clinical and Policy Recommendations. The Lancet. 2014 Oct 25;384(9953):1529-40

3 Mosites E, Parker EM, Clarke KE, et al. Assessment of SARS-CoV-2 Infection Prevalence in Homeless Shelters — Four U.S. Cities, March 27–April 15, 2020. MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep 2020;69:521–522.