免责声明:本网站持续更新。在所有内容翻译完成之前,其中一些内容可能为英文。

残障人士集体家庭的指导方针

残障人士external icon设计的集体家庭(GH)大小不一,包括从小型到大型的集体场所。在集体生活环境中,有些因素可能会促进SARS-CoV-2(导致COVID-19的病毒)的引入和传播。这些因素包括在外就业的居民、需要与工作人员或直接服务提供者密切接触的居民、在理解信息或实施预防措施方面有困难的居民以及共享生活空间的居民。此外,患有基础疾病的GH居民可能面临因COVID-19而患重症的风险。

集体家庭管理人员和工作人员需要了解哪些关于COVID-19的知识?

CDC提供了有关长期护理机构和疗养院辅助生活机构退休社区和独立生活机构以及共享或集体住房的指导方针。这些文件中描述的许多针对COVID-19的建议也适用于GH。GH管理员可以考虑实施几种策略来鼓励减少COVID-19传播的行为。

  • 与员工和住户沟通。
    • 与COVID-19相关的信息以及与GH政策和程序相关的更改应以易于获取和理解的方式提供,且使用适当的语言,并以适合所有员工的读写水平提供。示例包括情况介绍和海报以及美国手语视频
    • 支持残障人士的组织制作了交流工具和COVID-19资源。请参见下面的其他参考资料。
  • 为GH居民提供变通、修改和帮助的计划。
    • 对于行动不便、难以获得信息、需要与直接服务提供者密切接触、理解信息有困难、难以改变常规或有其他与残疾有关问题的身体和智力残障人士,可能需要采用应对COVID-19的个性化方法。这种方法应该考虑以下几点:
      • 对许多残障人士来说,在GH中保持社交距离和隔离都很困难。
      • 对于有感知、认知或行为问题的人来说,佩戴布制面罩可能很困难。对于2岁以下儿童,或任何有呼吸困难、无意识、丧失行为能力或在没有帮助的情况下无法摘下面罩的人,均不建议使用布制面罩。
      • 居民可能需要帮助或视觉和口头提醒才会使用纸巾遮住口鼻,用后扔进垃圾箱,然后洗手。
      • 清洁和消毒可能会影响有感觉或呼吸问题的人。
      • 洗手或使用酒精含量至少为60%的免洗手消毒液时可能需要帮助或监督。
      • 清洁和消毒时可能需要帮助或监督。
    • GH中已经使用的行为技能可以帮助居民适应日常生活的变化并采取预防措施。这些技能包括做示范和强化需要的行为、图片时间表、定时器和视觉提示。支持残障人士的组织拥有关于行为技能的信息和资源。行为治疗师或当地的行为健康和发育障碍部门可以为特定问题提供咨询。
    • 储存额外数量的必需食品、医疗用品和其他必要用品。
  • 直接服务提供者(DSP)遵循指导方针。

    直接服务提供者(个人护理服务人员、直接支持专业人员、辅助专业人员、治疗师和其他人员)提供各种各样以家庭和社区为基础的、与健康相关的服务,以支持残障人士。所提供的服务可能包括个人护理、日常生活活动、获得健康服务等。DSP对其所服务的个人的健康和福祉至关重要。他们为居住在GH的残障人士提供基本服务。

    • 在DSP进入GH之前,先询问他们是否出现任何COVID-19症状,或是否与COVID-19患者有过接触。如果DSP在其他集体家庭提供服务,请详细询问其他GH是否有阳性病例。
    • CDC已经制定了DSP指导方针。GH的负责人应查看DSP指导方针,并确保需要进入GH的DSP了解这些预防措施。
  • 筛查居民、工作人员和必要义工,并提供建议。
    • GH管理员可能要考虑对居民、工作人员和必要义工进行筛查,以发现COVID-19的体征和症状。
    • 筛查包括使用非接触式温度计主动获取每个人的体温,并询问他们是否出现气短或咳嗽等症状
    • 工作人员及必要义工如在工作时出现发烧或呼吸道感染症状,应立即戴上口罩,通知主管,并离开工作场所。
    • 出现COVID-19症状的居民、其室友和密切接触过的居民应自我隔离,尽可能限制他们使用共享空间。
  • 计划必要外出。
  • 继续对基础疾病的医学护理
    • 残障成年人患上严重基础疾病的可能性是非残障成年人的三倍[1]​​​​​​​老年​​​​​​​或者患有特定基础慢性病的残障人士因COVID-19而重病的风险更高。
    • GH的COVID-19应对计划应包括确认患有严重基础疾病的居民并审查其护理计划
      • 护理计划通常包括个人健康问题的重要信息;如何管理这些情况;如何与他们的医疗服务提供者、治疗师和药房取得联系;过敏和药物的相关信息(名称、剂量和使用说明);个人偏好(食物及其他)或特别需要;日常生活和活动;朋友;以及对支持行为和情感健康很重要的日常活动细节。
    • 确定您的GH可用于应对紧急情况的工具并获得足够医疗物资和药品以持续护理居民基础疾病。
    • 居民应继续接受基础疾病的医学护理,并对新症状或疾病进行评估。
      • 确定为您的居民服务的医疗保健提供者(包括医生和治疗师)是否有新的联系方式或新的预约方式。
        • 如果他们提供远程医疗服务external icon,了解这些服务如何安排以及其他所需信息。居民可能需要协助才能访问或理解如何通过远程医疗获得医学护理服务。
      • 由于COVID-19疫情,许多医疗机构开始限制访客的进入。如果GH居民需要去医疗机构进行检测、评估或入院,则应允许工作人员、DSP或家庭成员作为基本需要陪同他们。
  • 考虑限制非必要访客的数量。
    • GH可能要限制探访(例如,每位居民每天最多只能有一位访客,限制最近旅行的访客和有COVID-19症状的访客进入),特别是在公共区域,只允许对保护居民身心健康、福祉和安全至关重要的工作人员、义工和访客进入。
    • 建议访客保持社交距离(至少6英尺)并佩戴布制面罩,以帮助减少冠状病毒的传播。
    • 如果可能,管理人员可能需要考虑对访客进行COVID-19体征和症状筛查。这包括使用非接触式温度计主动测量每个人的体温,并询问他们是否感到气短或咳嗽。出现COVID-19 症状或发烧的访客不应进入GH。
  • 应对压力和焦虑。

    当日常生活被打乱时,工作人员和居民可能会出现更多的压力、焦虑、沮丧、失望或相关情绪。在本次全球流行病疫情期间,至关重要的是,工作人员应认识到什么是压力,采取措施增强抵御能力并应对压力,还要知道如何寻求帮助。此外,GH管理员和员工也可以:

    • 向居民和工作人员提供有关自我保健和应对压力的信息。
    • 留意睡眠、饮食和情绪的变化,这表明在GH中工作和生活的人可能需要其他帮助来适应变化、管理情绪或实施健康策略。
    • 制定在执行社交距离措施期间居民与朋友和家人保持社交联系的方式。
    • 尽可能保持日常生活习惯。
    • 采取健康活动,以帮助抵消GH以外活动的限制。
    • 如果健康活动以集体形式进行:
      • 采纳保持社交距离的方法。
      • 避免触摸同一设备(如球或其他娱乐设施),除非设备在不同用户使用之间进行消毒。
      • 建议人们在适当的时候佩戴布制面罩。
  • 为工作人员短缺做好准备
    • 培训工作人员如何防止COVID-19传播并制定缺勤情况下连续工作的计划
    • 实施灵活且无惩罚性的病假政策。
    • 关注工作人员的压力、焦虑、疲劳和沮丧情绪。
    • 维持人员配备处于安全水平,并尽可能避免为解决人员配备问题而将残障人士转移到其他地点。
      • 残障人士有权在社区内获得服务。
      • 尽可能保持常规和护理的连续性很重要。
      • 避免可能会导致居民失去工作、支持服务和适当住房的非必要性转移。

如果GH居民接触过COVID-19、出现COVID-19症状或COVID-19检测呈阳性,该怎么做

在GH中识别和控制COVID-19传播的计划需要针对GH及其居民量身定制。请参阅有关长期护理机构和疗养院辅助生活机构退休社区和独立生活机构以及共享或集体住房的指导方针。在GH环境中,对于COVID-19的其他注意事项包括:

  • 当地卫生部门external icon报告工作人员或居民中疑似或确诊的COVID-19病例,同时按照《美国残疾人法》(ADA) 和《健康保险携带和责任法案》 (HIPAA) 的要求对患者的信息保密。报告有助于地方卫生部门应对COVID-19,并与GH合作确定一套适合您所在社区情况的策略。
  • 根据州和联邦的要求,制定计划pdf iconexternal icon ,对居民和GH工作人员进行SARS-CoV-2检测。了解更多有关COVID-19检测的信息。
  • 鼓励出现COVID-19症状的GH居民及其室友和密切接触者自我隔离,并限制他们使用共享空间。
  • 如果可能,为出现COVID-19症状的住户指定单独的浴室。
    • 考虑将出现COVID-19症状的患者专用的卧室和浴室的清洁频率降为按需清洁(例如清洁有污渍的物品和表面),以避免与患者不必要的接触。
  • 遵守关于何时结束隔离的指导方针。
  • 最大限度减少与疑似或确诊COVID-19的住户面对面互动的员工数量。
  • 鼓励员工、其他住户、护理人员(如外展工作人员)和探望COVID-19症状者的其他人遵守建议的预防措施以防止病毒传播。
  • 尽可能避免让COVID-19重病高风险工作人员密切接触疑似或确诊患有COVID-19的居民。
  • 密切监测与确诊或疑似患有COVID-19的居民密切接触(即小于6英尺距离)人员的健康状况。如果他们出现COVID-19疑似症状,请致电居民的医疗服务提供者。
  • 为运送疑似或确诊COVID-19患者进行检测或非紧急医疗做好准备。建议避免使用公共交通工具、拼车或出租车。GH居民需要被运送进行检测或非紧急医疗护理时,应由工作人员、DSP或家庭成员作为必要服务而陪同前往。
  • 定期查阅管理COVID-19疫情期间的社区生活external icon网站获取信息,并与您所在州的发展残疾管理局和残疾理事会联系,获取当地信息,包括可用性和获取资源方面的帮助。

 

[1] Carroll D, Courtney-Long E, Stevens A, Sloan M, Lullo C, Visser S, Fox M, Armour B, Campbell V, Brown D 和 Dorn, J. :残障与体力活动 - 美国,2009-2012,《发病率与死亡率周报》,2014。

有关残障人士和COVID-19的其他资源
  1. COVID-19残障人士资源external icon,由俄亥俄州发育残障人士委员会收集的个人、家庭和护理人员资源合集。
  2. 全国独立生活委员会external icon为独立生活中心提供的资源,包括针对COVID-19的信息和资源。
  3. 管理社区生活external icon关于联邦资源的信息、残障人士网络external icon、残疾人组织资源等等。
  4. 美国ARCexternal iconCOVID-19资源,包括简明语言材料。
  5. 自闭症集中干预资源和模型 (AFIRM) 已开发了免费资源和工具包external icon,在不稳定时期以多种语言支持个人(成人和年轻人)
  6. 全国独立生活委员external iconexternal icon为独立生活中心提供资源,包括针对COVID-19的信息和资源。
页面最后审核时间:2020年5月30日

Guidance for Group Homes for Individuals with Disabilities

Group homes (GHs) for people with disabilitiesexternal icon can vary in size from small to larger congregate settings. In congregate living settings, several factors may facilitate the introduction and spread of SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19. Some of these factors include residents employed outside the home, residents who require close contact with staff or Direct Service Providers, residents who have trouble understanding information or practicing preventive measures, and residents in shared living spaces. In addition, GH residents who have  underlying medical conditions may be at risk of serious illness with COVID-19.

What do Group Home Administrators and staff need to know about COVID-19?

CDC has guidance for long-term care facilities and nursing homes, assisted living facilities, retirement communities and independent living facilities, and shared or congregate housing. Many of the recommendations for COVID-19 described in these documents also apply to GHs. GH administrators may consider implementing several strategies to encourage behaviors that reduce the spread of COVID-19.

  • Communicate to staff and residents.
    • Information related to COVID-19 and changes related to GH policies and procedures should be provided in an accessible and easy-to-understand format, in an appropriate language, and at a literacy level appropriate for all staff and employees. Examples include fact sheets and posters and American Sign Language videos.
    • Organizations that support individuals with disabilities have developed communication tools and COVID-19 resources. See additional resources below.
  • Plan for accommodations, modifications, and assistance for GH residents.
    • An individualized approach for COVID-19 may be needed for individuals with physical and intellectual disabilities who have limited mobility and difficulty accessing information, require close contact with direct service providers, have trouble understanding information, have difficulties with changes in routines, or have other concerns related to their disability. This approach should account for the following:
      • Social distancing and isolating within a GH may be difficult for many people with disabilities.
      • Wearing cloth face coverings may be difficult for people with sensory, cognitive, or behavioral issues. Cloth face coverings are not recommended for children under 2 or anyone who has trouble breathing or is unconscious, incapacitated, or otherwise unable to remove the covering without assistance.
      • Residents may require assistance or visual and verbal reminders for the mouth and nose with a tissue, throwing it in the trash, and washing hands afterwards.
      • Cleaning and disinfecting may affect those with sensory or respiratory issues.
      • Hand washing or using a hand sanitizer containing at least 60% alcohol may require assistance or supervision.
      • Cleaning and disinfecting may require assistance or supervision.
    • Behavioral techniques already used in the GH can help residents adjust to changes in routines and take prevention actions. These techniques include modeling and reinforcing desired behaviors, picture schedules, timers, and visual cues. Organizations that support individuals with disabilities have information on and resources for behavioral techniques. Behavioral therapists or local Departments of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities may be able to provide consultation for specific concerns.
    • Keep extra quantities on hand of essential food, medical, and other necessary supplies.
  • Follow guidance for Direct Service Providers (DSPs).

    Direct Service Providers (personal care attendants, direct support professionals, paraprofessionals, therapists, and others) provide a wide variety of home and community-based, health-related services that support individuals with disabilities. Services provided may include personal care, activities of daily living, access to health services, and more. DSPs are essential for the health and well-being of the individuals they serve. They provide essential services to people with disabilities living in GHs.

    • Ask DSPs, before they enter the GH, if they are experiencing any symptoms of COVID-19 or if they have been in contact with someone who has COVID-19. If DSPs provide services in other group homes, ask specifically whether any of the other GHs have had positive cases.
    • CDC has developed guidance for DSPs. Those in charge of GHs should review the DSP guidance and ensure that DSPs needing to enter the GH are aware of those preventive actions.
  • Screen and advise residents, staff, and essential volunteers.
    • GH administrators may want to consider screening residents, workers, and essential volunteers for signs and symptoms of COVID-19.
    • Screening includes actively taking each person’s temperature using a no-touch thermometer, and asking whether or not the person is experiencing symptoms such as shortness of breath or has a cough.
    • Staff and essential volunteers should be advised that if they develop fever or symptoms of respiratory infection while at work, they should immediately put on a facemask, inform their supervisor, and leave the workplace.
    • Residents with COVID-19 symptoms, their roommates, and close contacts should self-isolate, limiting their use of shared spaces as much as possible.
  • Plan for essential outings.
  • Continue medical care for underlying conditions.
    • Adults with disabilities are three times[1] more likely than adults without disabilities to have serious underlying medical conditions. Individuals with disabilities are at higher risk for serious illness from COVID-19 if they are older adults or have certain underlying chronic medical conditions.
    • Planning for COVID-19 in GHs should include identifying residents with serious underlying medical conditions and reviewing their care plans.
      • Care plans typically include important information about an individual’s medical conditions; how to manage those conditions; how to get in touch with their health care providers, therapists and pharmacy; information on allergies and medications (names, dosages, and administration instructions); preferences (food and other) or special needs; daily routines and activities; friends; and details about routines that are important to support behavioral and emotional health.
    • Identify tools your GH can use to prepare for emergencies and obtain adequate medical supplies and medications for continued management of the residents’ underlying conditions.
    • Residents should continue to receive medical care for underlying conditions and evaluation for new symptoms or illnesses.
      • Determine if providers of healthcare for your residents, including doctors and therapists, have new ways to be contacted or new ways of providing appointments.
        • If they offer telehealth services,external icon find out how those are arranged and any additional information needed. Residents may need assistance accessing or learning how to receive medical care through telemedicine.
      • Because of COVID-19 healthcare facilities are limiting visitors’ access. If GH residents need to go for testing, evaluation, or admission at a healthcare facility, a staff member, DSP, or family member should be allowed to accompany them as an essential accommodation.
  • Consider limiting the number of non-essential visitors.
    • GH may want to limit visitation (e.g., maximum of one visitor per resident per day, restricting visitors with recent travel and those with symptoms of COVID-19), especially in common areas, allowing only workers, volunteers, and visitors who are essential to preserving the physical and mental health, well-being, and safety of residents.
    • Advise visitors that maintaining social distancing (at least 6 feet) and wearing a cloth face covering can help reduce coronavirus transmission.
    • When possible, administrators may want to consider screening visitors for signs and symptoms of COVID-19. This includes actively taking each person’s temperature using a no-touch thermometer and asking whether or not the person is experiencing shortness of breath or has a cough. Visitors with symptoms of COVID-19 or fever should not enter the GH.
  • Manage stress and anxiety.

    Staff and residents may experience increased stress, anxiety, depression, frustration, or concerning behaviors when routines are disrupted. During this pandemic, it is critical that staff recognize what stress looks like, take steps to build resilience and cope with stress, and know where to go for help. Additionally, GH administrators and staff can:

    • Provide information to residents and staff on self-care, stress, and coping.
    • Watch for changes in sleep, eating, and mood as indications that individuals working and living in GHs may need additional assistance adapting to changes, processing emotions, or implementing wellness strategies.
    • Develop ways for residents to maintain social connections with friends and family while social distancing.
    • Maintain routines as much as possible.
    • Incorporate wellness activities to help offset restrictions of activities outside of the GH.
    • If wellness activities are group-based:
      • Include social distancing.
      • Avoid touching the same equipment (such as balls or other recreational equipment) unless the equipment is disinfected between one user and the next.
      • Advise people to wear cloth face coverings, when appropriate.
  • Prepare for Staff Shortages
    • Train staff how to prevent the spread of COVID-19 and develop continuity plans for absenteeism.
    • Implement sick leave policies that are flexible and non-punitive.
    • Monitor staff for increased stress, anxiety, fatigue, and depression.
    • Maintain a safe level of staffing, and avoid transferring residents with disabilities to alternate settings, whenever possible, as a solution to staffing issues.
      • Individuals with disabilities have the right to receive services within the community.
      • It is important to maintain routines and continuity of care as much as possible.
      • Avoid unnecessary transfers that can cause residents to lose their jobs, support services, and appropriate housing.

What to do if a GH resident has been exposed to COVID-19, has symptoms of COVID-19, or tests positive for COVID-19

Planning for identification and control of COVID-19’s spread within a GH will need to be individually tailored for the GH and its residents. See guidance for long-term care facilities and nursing homes, assisted living facilities, retirement communities and independent living facilities, and shared or congregate housing. Other considerations for COVID-19 in a GH setting include:

  • Report suspected or positive cases of COVID-19 in staff or residents to the local health departmentexternal icon, while maintaining the confidentiality of the sick person as required by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and, if applicable, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). Reporting helps local health departments respond to COVID-19 and work with the GH to determine a set of strategies appropriate for your community’s situation.
  • Create a planpdf iconexternal icon for testing residents and GH staff for SARS-CoV-2, in alignment with state and federal requirements. Learn more about testing for COVID-19.
  • Encourage GH residents with COVID-19 symptomsand their roommates and close contacts to self-isolate and limit their use of shared spaces.
  • If possible, designate a separate bathroom for residents with COVID-19 symptoms.
    • Consider reducing cleaning frequency in bedrooms and bathrooms dedicated to persons with COVID-19 symptoms to as-needed cleaning (e.g., soiled items and surfaces) to avoid unnecessary contact with the ill persons.
  • Follow guidance on when to stop isolation.
  • Minimize the number of staff members who have face-to-face interactions with residents who have suspected or confirmed COVID-19.
  • Encourage staff, other residents, caregivers such as outreach workers, and others who visit persons with COVID-19 symptoms to follow recommended precautions to prevent the virus’s spread.
  • Keep staff at higher risk of severe illness from COVID-19 from close contact with residents who have suspected or confirmed COVID-19, if possible.
  • Monitor the health of persons who have been in close contact (i.e., less than 6 feet ) with a resident who has confirmed or suspected COVID-19. Call the resident’s healthcare provider(s) if they develop symptoms suggestive of COVID-19.
  • Prepare for transporting persons with suspected or confirmed COVID-19 for testing or non-urgent medical care. Suggest avoiding using public transportation, ride-sharing, or taxis. GH residents needing to be transported for testing or non-urgent medical care should be accompanied by a staff member, DSP, or family member as an essential accommodation.
  • Review the Administration for Community Living COVID-19external icon website regularly for information and contact your state’s Developmental Disability Administration and Disability Council for local information including availability and assistance in obtaining resources.

 

[1] Carroll D, Courtney-Long E, Stevens A, Sloan M, Lullo C, Visser S, Fox M, Armour B, Campbell V, Brown D, and Dorn, J. Disability and Physical Activity – United States, 2009-2012. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report. 2014.

Additional Resources related to Disabilities and COVID-19
  1. COVID-19 Resources for People with Developmental Disabilitiesexternal icon¸ a collection of resources for individuals, families, and caregivers put together by the Ohio Developmental Disabilities Council.
  2. The National Council on Independent Livingexternal icon offers resources for Centers for Independent Living, including information and resources specific to COVID-19.
  3. The Administration for Community Livingexternal icon information on federal resources, disability networksexternal icon, disability organization resources and more.
  4. The ARC of the United Statesexternal icon COVID-19 resources including plain language materials.
  5. Autism Focused Intervention Resources and Models (AFIRM) has developed free resources and a toolkitexternal icon for supporting individuals (adults and youth) through uncertain times available in multiple languages
  6. The National Council on Independent Livingexternal iconexternal icon offers resources for Centers for Independent Living, including information and resources specific to COVID-19.