免责声明:本网站持续更新。在所有内容翻译完成之前,其中一些内容可能为英文。

接种疫苗: 查找疫苗并了解全剂量接种疫苗后可以做什么。

设施、机构和工作场所的针对性废水监测

设施、机构和工作场所的针对性废水监测

使用此指导方针实施以废水为基础的疾病监测。废水相关的疾病监测是一门快速发展的科学,CDC将在获得最新资料时持续更新指导方针和相关信息。

针对性废水监测概述

针对设施、机构和高度密集型关键基础设施工作场所的废水监测已被提议作为筛查COVID-19的补充方法。迄今为止,针对性废水监测的工作主要集中于高等教育机构、惩教设施以及诸如食品加工设施等工作场所。针对性监测需要在废水网络的某些地点采样,比如建筑物外的下水道,这些地方只接收来自目标人群的废水。

针对性废水监测的潜在作用

  • 目标区域内新增病例预警。
  • 对COVID-19高风险人群的针对性监控。
  • 一种节约成本和时间的筛查方法—一个样本汇总多个个体的信息,以补充个体检测。

针对性废水监测的潜在挑战

  • 迄今为止,关于针对性废水监测对公众卫生行动或机构运营有效性的数据很少。
  • 可以通过废水监测可靠检测到的最低感染个体数量还未可知。
  • 当废水行程时间很短且粪便量低时(例如在建筑废水出口取样时),SARS-CoV-2废水浓度变化可能更大,可能使得理解目标区域的COVID-19趋势变得更加困难。
  • 由于对社区监测的处理厂级别废水检测的竞争性需求,环境实验室的处理能力可能会受到限制。
  • 对建筑废水管道取样可能要求经过改装以进入废水管道。
  • 非人类工业或设施废水输出可能干扰废水中的SARS-CoV-2检测。

与病例监测结合

针对性废水监测应补充而非取代病例监测方法,并遵守州、部落、地方和地区(STLT)的法律和法规。各STLT卫生部门应被纳入针对性废水监测策略的制定过程中。在实施针对性监测之前,请查阅CDC关于社区级废水监测的指导方针,包括制定采样策略、样本检测、数据分析和公共卫生解释的注意事项。如果在针对性监测计划中包括了建筑物级别的样本,CDC建议在社区级别收集相应的样本,以解释建筑物级别的病毒信号。不要仅以废水中没有检测到SARS-CoV-2作为放宽社区缓解措施的理由。

没有校内住宿的高等教育机构和学校

没有校内住宿的高等教育机构和学校可能使用其自有的废水处理厂。废水处理厂通常接收来自住宅、非住宅和实验室设施的废水,以及某些情况下,来自校内医院的废水。

当考虑在校园内实施废水监测时,高等教育机构应与校园卫生服务部门合作,并参考高等教育机构注意事项高等教育机构病例调查和接触者追踪临时指导方针来制定校园COVID- 19监测和缓解策略。开始取样前,确定在校园废水中检测SARS-CoV-2的影响以及由此产生的公共卫生行动。特别是,高等教育机构应考虑对废水中的SARS-CoV-2进行检测将会如何影响校园缓解策略和病例监测。

惩教设施

惩教设施居住者是废弃物的常规来源。因此,废水监测数据可以提供设施居住人群中存在COVID-19病例患者的代表性指标。

废水监测数据可以补充被监禁人员和惩教设施员工SARS-CoV-2感染者常规临床监测并与其联合使用。考虑进行废水监测时,惩教设施应参考 惩教和拘留设施新型冠状病毒肺炎 | 新冠肺炎2019(COVID-19)管理临时指导方针,为设施制定COVID-19监测和缓解策略。

高密集型关键基础设施工作场所

高密集型关键基础设施工作场所,例如食品厂,可能难以通过废水监测进行监控,因为员工只在工作时间来到设施,且相对于工业废物(例如食品生产废水),其产生的废物很少。这种工业废弃产品还可能让SARS-CoV-2监测变得复杂。检测工人主要居住社区的废水可能比从工作场所取样更好。

考虑进行废水监测时,高密集型关键基础设施工作场所应参考关于COVID-19关键基础设施部门应对计划确定COVID-19病例后,高密集型关键基础设施工作场所内的冠状病毒(COVID-19)检测策略的指导方针,为其设施制定COVID-19监测和缓解策略。

Get Vaccinated: Find a vaccine and learn what you can do after you're fully vaccinated.

Targeted Wastewater Surveillance at Facilities, Institutions, and Workplaces

Targeted Wastewater Surveillance at Facilities, Institutions, and Workplaces

Use this guidance to implement wastewater-based disease surveillance. Wastewater-based disease surveillance is a rapidly developing science, and CDC will continue to update guidance and information as it becomes available.

Overview of targeted wastewater surveillance

Targeted wastewater surveillance at facilities, institutions, and high-density critical infrastructure workplaces has been proposed as a complementary method for screening of COVID-19. To date, targeted wastewater surveillance efforts have primarily focused on institutions of higher education, correctional facilities, and workplaces like food processing facilities. Targeted surveillance entails sampling at locations in the wastewater network, such as manholes outside buildings, that receive wastewater inputs from only the targeted population.

Potential benefits of targeted wastewater surveillance

  • Early warning of new cases in a targeted area.
  • Focused monitoring of populations at higher risk for COVID-19.
  • A cost and/or time-efficient screening approach— one sample comprises a pool of many individuals – that can complement individual testing.

Potential challenges of targeted wastewater surveillance

  • To date, there are few data on the effectiveness of targeted wastewater surveillance to inform public health action or institutional operations.
  • The minimum number of infected individuals that can be reliably detected through wastewater testing is not known.
  • SARS-CoV-2 wastewater concentrations can be more variable when wastewater travel time is short and fecal load is low (e.g., sampling where waste leaves a building), potentially making it more difficult to understand COVID-19 trends in a targeted area.
  • Environmental laboratory capacity may be limited due to competing demand for treatment plant level wastewater testing for community surveillance.
  • Sampling a building wastewater stream may require modifications for waste stream access.
  • Non-human industrial or facility waste outputs may interfere with detection of SARS-CoV-2 in wastewater.

Integration with case surveillance

Targeted wastewater surveillance should complement, but not replace, case surveillance approaches in accordance with state, tribal, local, and territorial (STLT) laws and regulations. Include STLT health departments when developing targeted wastewater surveillance strategies. Prior to implementing targeted surveillance, review CDC guidance on community-level wastewater surveillance, which includes considerations for developing a sampling strategy, sample testing, data analytics, and public health interpretation. If you are including building-level sampling in your targeted surveillance plans, CDC recommends collecting accompanying samples at the community level to interpret building-level viral signals. Do not use the lack of SARS-CoV-2 detection in wastewater alone to justify relaxing community mitigation measures.

Institutions of higher education and schools with on-campus housing

Institutions of higher education and schools with on-campus housing may be served by their own wastewater treatment plant. These plants typically receive waste from residential, non-residential, and laboratory facilities, and in some cases, from on-campus hospitals.

When considering implementing wastewater surveillance on campus, institutions of higher education should work with campus health services and refer to the Considerations for Institutions of Higher Education and Interim Guidance for Case Investigation and Contact Tracing in Institutions of Higher Education (IHEs) to develop campus COVID-19 surveillance and mitigation strategies. Determine the implications of detecting SARS-CoV-2 in campus wastewater and resulting public health actions prior to beginning sampling. In particular, IHEs should consider how detection of SARS-CoV-2 in wastewater will affect campus mitigation strategies and case surveillance.

Correctional facilities

Residential occupants in correctional facilities contribute regularly to the waste stream. As a result, wastewater surveillance data may provide a representative indicator of the presence of COVID-19 case patients within the residential population of a facility.

Wastewater surveillance data can complement and be paired with routine clinical surveillance for SARS-CoV-2 of persons who are incarcerated and staff at correctional facilities. When considering implementing wastewater surveillance, correctional facilities should refer to Interim Guidance on Management of Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) in Correctional and Detention Facilities to develop COVID-19 surveillance and mitigation strategies for their facility.

High-density critical infrastructure workplaces

High-density critical infrastructure workplaces, such as food processing facilities, may be difficult to monitor using wastewater surveillance because employees are at the facility only during their work-shift and may contribute little to the waste stream relative to industrial waste (e.g., food production wastewater). Such industrial waste products may also complicate SARS-CoV-2 detection. Testing wastewater from the communities where the workers primarily live may be better than sampling from workplaces.

When considering implementing wastewater surveillance, high-density critical infrastructure workplaces should refer to guidance on COVID-19 Critical Infrastructure Sector Response Planning and Testing Strategy for Coronavirus (COVID-19) in High-Density Critical Infrastructure Workplaces after a COVID-19 Case Is Identified to develop COVID-19 surveillance and mitigation strategies for their facility.