免责声明:本网站持续更新。在所有内容翻译完成之前,其中一些内容可能为英文。

献血者SARS-CoV-2血清阳性率的多状态评估

献血者SARS-CoV-2血清阳性率的多状态评估

关于此次调查

CDC正在美国25个大都市地区开展全国性的COVID-19血清阳性率调查,以了解美国可能感染导致COVID-19的SARS-CoV-2病毒的人口比例。

这是迄今为止最大的全国性COVID-19血清阳性率调查,将与国家卫生研究院、食品药品监督管理局 (FDA)、Vitalant研究所 (VRI) 以及大型采血组织(包括 Vitalant、美国红十字会、西北血液中心、纽约血液中心、OneBlood、血液中心、Versity、夏威夷血库、Carter Blood Care和Sangre de Servicios Mutuos银行等)合作进行。

这项血清阳性率调查将扩大正在进行的国家过敏与传染病研究所和国家心肺血液研究所 (NHLBI) 与 VRI 共同资助的项目,其中包括 NHLBI REDS(受体流行病学和供体评估研究)external icon项目。 SARS-CoV-2 REDS 项目计划从2020年3月至8月,每个月检测来自马萨诸塞州波士顿市、加利福尼亚州洛杉矶、明尼苏达州明尼阿波利斯、纽约州纽约市、加利福尼亚州旧金山现有献血样本中的SARS-CoV-2抗体,为期6个月。

作为此次合作的一部分,CDC将为VRI与合作机构提供技术援助和财务支持,使调查范围可以扩展到另外19个大都市地区,包括佐治亚州亚特兰大、马里兰州巴尔的摩/华盛顿特区、伊利诺伊州芝加哥、 德克萨斯州达拉斯/沃思堡、 科罗拉多州丹佛、密西根州底特律、北达科他州法戈/苏福尔斯/南卡罗来纳州拉皮德城、夏威夷檀香山、内华达州拉斯维加斯、 佛罗里达州迈阿密、 威斯康星州密尔沃基、 路易斯安那州新奥尔良、 亚利桑那州凤凰城、 宾夕法尼亚州匹兹堡、 犹他州盐湖城、波多黎各港口圣胡安、密苏里州圣路易斯、 坦帕/佛罗里达州圣彼得斯堡、俄克拉何马州图尔萨。

VRI与合作组织将从25个大都市地区的每个区收集并检测约1,000个匿名献血样本。他们将在12个月里每个月检测样本,在18个月的时候再检测一次。总共将检测约325,000个样本。由于这项调查将在不同时间点从全国主要城市收集样本,因此调查结果将有助于科学家估算以前的SARS-CoV-2感染在美国总人口中所占的百分比。它还将追踪以前感染的百分比随时间的变化情况。

检测献血样本的信息

在美国献血时,会从每个血液单位中抽取少量样本,以查明献血者的血型和Rh类型。还要对血液进行某些传染病筛查,以确保可以用于医疗用途。VRI与合作组织将收集和检测现有样本中的SARS-CoV-2抗体。血清检测与鼻咽拭子检测不同,不能在抽血时确定人们是否感染SARS-CoV-2。 相反,它提供有关人们既往感染的信息。SARS-CoV-2感染者通常在感染后需要1至3周才能产生可检测到的抗体。样本收集工作从6月开始,并将一直持续到2021年5月,最后一次收集将会在2021年11月。

每月在一段时间内对相同地理位置进行检测将使CDC能够了解在不同时间点具有SARS-CoV-2抗体的人群所占的百分比。这有助于科学家弄清全国各地和不同时期的感染率差异。研究结果将有助于公共卫生官员更好地了解该病毒的传播范围以及传播方式。

美国血液供应的安全性

目前尚不了解呼吸道病毒是否会通过输血传播。世界范围内还没有包括SARS-CoV-2在内的输血传播冠状病毒的报告病例。

用于确定献血者资格的常规措施可防止呼吸道感染患者献血。例如,献血者在献血当天必须身体健康,体温正常。有关更多信息,请参见FDA关于COVID-19确诊或疑似患者推迟献血的建议external icon

对本次调查中血清学结果的解释

在解释调查结果时,应该考虑到这项调查的局限性。

  • 献血者一般都是健康、未怀孕的成年人,他们可能不代表一个地区的总人口群体。
  • 在以前未感染过SARS-CoV-2的人群中,抗体检测有时会产生阳性结果(这在感染率不高的社区中更为常见)。 这被称为假阳性结果,使社区中的感染者看起来比实际人数多。
  • 对于以前感染过SARS-CoV-2的人群,检测也可能产生阴性结果。这被称为假阴性结果。还有一种可能是,一些人感染了SARS-CoV-2,但没有产生可被检测到的足够抗体。这些因素会使社区中的感染者看起来比实际人数要少。
  • 血清阳性率调查的结果应被解释为“检测出SARS-CoV-2抗体呈阳性的人具有免疫性”。我们尚不清楚具有SARS-CoV-2抗体是否可以防止再次感染。我们正计划进行其他研究,以了解有关SARS-COV-2抗体的更多信息,包括它们持续多长时间,是否为再次感染提供保护,以及如果再次感染,它们是否可以减轻病情。
  • 虽然一些血清阳性率调查可以查看感染的风险因素,如个人的职业或基础疾病,但本次血清阳性率调查的目的并非提供此类信息。这项调查将帮助我们更好地了解所研究地区以前感染过SARS-CoV-2的人数所占的百分比。CDC还将使用这些信息来估计采样地区之前感染过SARS-CoV-2的人数,包括官方病例计数中可能没有报告的人数。其中一些人可能因为病情轻微或没有症状且未曾接受治疗或检测而未被计算在内。
2020年7月7日最后更新

Multistate Assessment of SARS-CoV-2 Seroprevalence in Blood Donors

Multistate Assessment of SARS-CoV-2 Seroprevalence in Blood Donors

About this survey

CDC is conducting a nationwide COVID-19 seroprevalence survey in 25 U.S. metropolitan areas to understand the percentage of people in the United States who may have been infected with SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19.

This is the largest nationwide COVID-19 seroprevalence survey to date, and it will be conducted in collaboration with the National Institutes of Health, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Vitalant Research Institute (VRI), and large blood collection organizations, including Vitalant, American Red Cross, Bloodworks Northwest, New York Blood Center, OneBlood, The Blood Center, Versity, Blood Bank of Hawaii, Carter Blood Care, and Banco de Sangre de Servicios Mutuos.

This seroprevalence survey will expand an ongoing National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases and National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI) funded project with VRI that involves the NHLBI REDS (Recipient Epidemiology and Donor Evaluation Study)external icon program. The SARS-CoV-2 REDS project plans to test existing blood donation samples from Boston, MA; Los Angeles, CA; Minneapolis, MN; New York City, NY; San Francisco, CA; and Seattle, WA for SARS-CoV-2 antibodies each month for 6 months from March through August 2020.

As part of this collaboration, CDC will provide technical assistance and financial support to VRI and collaborating institutions that will allow the survey to be expanded to 19 additional metropolitan areas including Atlanta, GA; Baltimore, MD/Washington, D.C.; Chicago, IL; Dallas/Ft Worth, TX; Denver, CO; Detroit, MI; Fargo, ND/Sioux Falls/Rapid City, SD; Honolulu, HI; Las Vegas, NV; Miami, FL; Milwaukee, WI; New Orleans, LA; Phoenix, AZ; Pittsburg, PA; Salt Lake City, UT; San Juan, PR; St. Louis, MO; Tampa/St. Petersburg, FL; and Tulsa, OK.

VRI and collaborating organizations will collect and test about 1,000 anonymous blood donation samples from each of the 25 total metropolitan areas. They will test samples each month for 12 months, and again at 18 months. About 325,000 samples will be tested overall. Because this survey will collect samples from major metropolitan areas across the country at different time points, its findings will help scientists estimate the percentage of previous SARS-CoV-2 infections out of the total U.S. population. It also will track how the percentage of previous infections is changing over time.

Information on blood donation samples tested

When blood is donated in the United States, small samples are taken from each blood unit to find out the donor’s blood type and Rh type. The blood is also screened for certain infectious diseases to make sure it’s safe for medical use. VRI and collaborating organizations will collect and test existing samples for antibodies to SARS-CoV-2. The serology test is different than the nasal swab test and cannot determine whether a person has SARS-CoV-2 infection at the time blood is drawn. Instead, it provides information on whether a person was infected in the past. It typically takes 1 to 3 weeks after infection for a person with SARS-CoV-2 to produce detectable antibodies. Sample collection began in June and will continue until May 2021, with one final collection in November 2021.

Testing the same geographic locations each month over time will allow CDC to understand the percentages of people who have antibodies to SARS-CoV-2 at different points in time. This helps scientists figure out the differences in infection rates around the country and over time. The results will help public health officials better understand how widespread the virus is, and how it is spreading.

Safety of US blood supply

Respiratory viruses, in general, are not known to be transmitted by blood transfusion. There have been no reported cases of transfusion-transmitted coronavirus, including SARS-CoV-2, worldwide.

Routine measures used to determine blood donor eligibility prevent people with respiratory infections from donating blood. For example, blood donors must be in good health and have a normal temperature on the day of donation. See FDA recommendations for deferral of blood donation among persons diagnosed with or suspected to have COVID-19external icon for more information.

Interpreting Serology Results from This Survey

This survey has limitations that should be considered when interpreting the results.

  • People who donate blood are generally healthy, non-pregnant adults who may not represent people from the total population in an area.
  • Antibody tests can sometimes give a positive result in people who were not previously infected with SARS-CoV-2 (which is more common in communities that have not had high infection rates). This is known as a false-positive result and can make it look like more people have been infected in the community than really were.
  • A test can also give a negative result in people with a previous SARS-CoV-2 infection. This is known as a false-negative result. It is also possible that some people can be infected with SARS-CoV-2 and not make enough antibodies to be detected by the test. These factors can make it look like fewer people have been infected in the community than really were.
  • Results from seroprevalence surveys should not be interpreted to mean that people who have tested positive for having SARS-CoV-2 antibodies are immune. We do not know whether having SARS-CoV-2 antibodies provides protection against getting infected again. Other studies are planned to learn more about SARS-CoV-2 antibodies, including how long they last, whether they provide protection against getting infected again, and, if re-infection is possible, whether the second infection is milder.
  • While some seroprevalence surveys can look at risk factors for infection, such as a person’s occupation or underlying health conditions, this seroprevalence survey was not designed to be able to provide that information. This survey will help us better understand the percentages of people who were previously infected with SARS-CoV-2 in the areas studied. CDC also will use this information to estimate the number of people in the areas sampled who have been previously infected with SARS-CoV-2, including those who may not have been reported in official case counts. Some of those people may not have been counted because they had mild illness or no symptoms and did not get medical care or testing.