免责声明:本网站持续更新。在所有内容翻译完成之前,其中一些内容可能为英文。

北美野生动物SARS-CoV-2检测临时指导方针

北美野生动物SARS-CoV-2检测临时指导方针

关键概念:

  • 本指导方针面向在COVID-19疫情期间从事与自由生活的野生动物相关工作的卫生和野生动物专业人员。
  • 我们仍在研究这种病毒,但我们知道该病毒主要在人与人之间传播,并且在某些情况下似乎可以从人传播到动物。
  • 在极少数情况下,可以考虑对野生生物进行SARS-CoV-2(引起COVID-19的病毒)检测。本指导方针旨在帮助在这些情况下做出SARS-CoV-2检测的决策。
  • 对野生动物进行SARS-CoV-2检测可能适用于发病率和死亡率事件监测,确保受威胁或濒危物种的健康,或用于研究目的。
  • 对于要送回或放归野外的动物,应根据国际自然保护联盟-世界动物卫生组织(IUCN-OIE)准则external icon进行风险评估,以评估放归的风险和益处。此风险评估应包括对这些动物进行SARS-CoV-2检测的考虑。

本指导方针的对象:从事自由生活的野生动物工作的兽医、生物学家和野生动物卫生专家,他们可能正在调查野生动物的发病或死亡事件或在COVID-19疫情期间管理自由生活的野生动物种群的健康。

目的:帮助做出有关野生动物SARS-CoV-2检测的决策。

尽管人们担心导致COVID-19的SARS-CoV-2病毒会在人与野生动物之间传播,但目前不建议对自由生活或圈养的北美野生物种进行常规病毒检测。然而也可能存在需要检测的情况。本信息可能有助于增进对野生动物种群中病毒流行病学的了解,并有助于采取必要的管理措施。这些建议并不适用于由人类照料的非家养物种(例如,动物设施),但暂时由人类照料进行研究或康复的自由生活的野生动物除外。

在对患病或死亡的野生动物进行SARS-CoV-2检测之前,应排除更常见的致病和死亡原因,除非有理由怀疑这些动物之前曾接触过SARS-CoV-2。

注意:出于研究目的对野生动物进行检测不在本文件的讨论范围之内。有关其他信息,请参阅OIE在动物身上采样、检测和报告SARS-CoV-2的注意事项pdf icon[325 KB, 6页]external icon

如下情况可以考虑进行检测:

  1. 基于发病率和死亡率事件的监测,包括在野生动物中检测出与冠状病毒感染一致的临床体征或验尸病变(即呼吸道或胃肠道体征)1,以及有理由怀疑被发现死亡或安乐死的动物之前曾接触过SARS-CoV-2。
  2. 受到威胁或濒危物种或特别关注的物种,特别是具有与冠状病毒感染一致的临床体征(即呼吸道或胃肠道临床体征)的野生动物1 ,以及为预防SARS-CoV-2感染而在濒危和易感种群中进行的检测。

生物样本的收集和检测

用于病毒分离和病毒核酸检测的首选样本包括鼻拭子、口咽拭子和/或直肠拭子。样品也可以从验尸后收集的内脏中提取,或者在不能直接取样或可能危及动物健康的情况下使用粪便样本。事先与实验室联系,了解如何正确采集、储存和运输样本,并在采集样本时使用适当的个人防护用品 pdf icon[325 Kb, 6页]external icon

实验室检测SARS-CoV-2应使用经过验证的检测,制定规程并在适当的生物安全条件下进行。目前,关于不同动物物种之间各种诊断分析的敏感性或特异性信息很少,也没有用于动物的标准化和经过验证的检测。因此,在这种情况下,应考虑根据预测病毒是否实际存在(例如,在野生动物从圈养中释放的情况下)的能力做出决策。随着SARS-CoV-2检测能力的提高以及我们对该病毒的更多了解,在野生动物物种中进行检测的建议将及时更新。

合作与报告

提交样本进行SARS-CoV-2检测的野生动物卫生专家应与相关州野生动物兽医、州公共卫生兽医和州动物卫生官员进行沟通,以确保他们知晓并能够参与有关检测的决策。美国内政部、CDC和美国农业部 (USDA) 的联邦合作伙伴也可以就检测决策、检测解释、人类健康和动物管理提供咨询。如果SARS-CoV-2检测呈阳性,野生动物卫生专家应立即与州和联邦“共同健康”合作伙伴通报结果,并将样本提交给USDA APHIS的国家兽医服务实验室 (NVSL)external icon进行确认检测。NVSL将向世界动物卫生组织 (OIE) 报告阳性结果。在完成确认检测并在相关伙伴之间进行协调之前,不应公开结果。这些确认性检测和报告责任适用于所有无意中接触的野生动物。作为实验室对照研究的一部分,有意接触的结果不需要立即报告给OIE,而应以摘要报告的形式提供给OIE。

2020年6月11日最后更新

Interim Guidance for SARS-CoV-2 Testing in North American Wildlife

Interim Guidance for SARS-CoV-2 Testing in North American Wildlife

Key Concepts:

  • This guidance is intended for health and wildlife professionals who work with free-living wildlife during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • We are still learning about this virus, but we know it is primarily spreading from person to person, and it appears that it can spread from people to animals in some situations.
  • In rare circumstances, testing wildlife for SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, may be considered. This guidance is intended to facilitate decision-making for SARS-CoV-2 testing in these circumstances.
  • Testing wildlife for SARS-CoV-2 may be appropriate for morbidity and mortality event-based surveillance, ensuring the health of threatened or endangered species, or for research purposes.
  • For animals to be returned or released to the wild, a risk assessment per the International Union for the Conservation of Nature-World Organisation for Animal Health guidelinesexternal icon (IUCN-OIE) should be conducted to assess the risks and benefits of such a release. This risk assessment should include considerations for testing these animals for SARS-CoV-2.

Who this guidance is for: Veterinarians, biologists, and wildlife health specialists who work with free-living wildlife and who may be investigating wildlife morbidity or mortality events or managing the health of free-living wildlife populations during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Purpose: To facilitate decision-making regarding the testing of wildlife for SARS-CoV-2.

Despite concerns about human-to-wildlife transmission of SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, routine testing for the virus in free-living or captive North American wildlife species is not currently recommended. However, there may be situations in which testing should be considered. This information may be useful for improving understanding of the epidemiology of the virus in wildlife populations and in applying necessary management actions. These recommendations do not apply to non-domestic species in human care (e.g., zoological facilities) except when free-living wildlife are temporarily in human care for research or rehabilitation.

Before testing sick or dead wildlife for SARS-CoV-2, more common causes of morbidity and mortality should be ruled out, unless there is cause for suspicion of previous exposure to SARS-CoV-2.

Note: The testing of wildlife for research purposes is beyond the scope of this document.  Please refer to the OIE Considerations for sampling, testing, and reporting of SARS-CoV-2 in animals pdf icon[325kb, 6 pages]external icon for additional information.

Testing may be considered when:

  1. Morbidity and mortality event-based surveillance including detection in wildlife with clinical signs or post-mortem lesions consistent with a coronavirus infection (i.e., respiratory or gastrointestinal signs)1 and in animals that are found dead or are euthanized when there is cause for suspicion of previous exposure to SARS-CoV-2.
  2. Threatened or endangered species or species of special concern, particularly wildlife with clinical signs consistent with coronavirus infection (i.e., respiratory or gastrointestinal clinical signs),1 and testing to prevent SARS-CoV-2 infection in endangered and vulnerable populations.

Biological sample collection and testing

Preferred samples for virus isolation and viral nucleic acid testing include nasal swab, oropharyngeal swab, and/or rectal swab. Samples may also be taken from internal organs collected post-mortem, or a fecal sample may be used in situations where direct sampling is not possible or may compromise animal welfare. Contact the laboratory in advance for instructions on proper sample collection, storage, and transport, and use appropriate personal protective equipment pdf icon[325kb, 6 pages]external icon when collecting samples.

Laboratories testing for SARS-CoV-2 should use a validated test, have established protocols, and conduct testing under appropriate biosafety conditions. Currently, there is little information on the sensitivity or specificity of various diagnostic assays among different animal species, and there is no standardized, validated test in animals. Therefore, decisions relying on the ability to predict the true presence or absence of the virus—for example, in situations when wildlife are released from captivity—should be considered in this context. As testing capabilities for SARS-CoV-2 increase and we learn more about this virus, the recommendations for testing in wildlife species will be updated.

Collaboration and reporting

Wildlife health specialists who are submitting samples for SARS-CoV-2 testing should communicate with relevant state wildlife veterinarians, state public health veterinarians, and state animal health officials to ensure they are aware of and able to participate in decisions about testing. Federal partners at the U.S. Department of the Interior, CDC, and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) are also available to consult on testing decisions, test interpretation, human health, and animal management. If a SARS-CoV-2 test is positive, wildlife health specialists should communicate the results promptly with state and federal One Health partners and submit samples to the USDA APHIS National Veterinary Services Laboratories (NVSL)external icon for confirmatory testing.  NVSL will report positive results to the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE).  Results should not be released publicly until confirmatory testing has been completed and coordinated among relevant partners.  These confirmatory testing and reporting responsibilities apply to all unintentionally exposed wildlife.  Results from intentional exposure as part of a controlled research study in a laboratory do not need to be immediately reported to the OIE and should be provided to the OIE in a summary report.

More information

Footnotes

1Although the clinical spectrum of illness for this virus remains largely undefined in animals, clinical signs more likely to be compatible with SARS-CoV-2 infection in mammalian species may include a combination of the following:

  • Fever
  • Coughing
  • Difficulty breathing or shortness of breath
  • Lethargy
  • Sneezing
  • Nasal discharge
  • Ocular discharge
  • Vomiting
  • Diarrhea