State Public Health Counsel Directory

The Public Health Law Program provides this voluntary directory of public health attorneys as a public service. If you are a government-employed attorney serving in a state health department and you would like to be listed, please submit the following information to phlawprogram@cdc.gov: name, degree(s), title, organization, name of health department served, mailing address, phone, fax, and email.

Alabama–Florida

Primary Contact
P. Brian Hale
General Counsel
Alabama Department of Public Healthexternal icon
201 Monroe Street, Suite 1540, The RSA Tower
Montgomery, AL 36130-3017
Phone: (334) 206-5209
Fax: (334) 206-5874
Email: brian.hale@adph.state.al.us

Primary Contact
Leah Farzin
Assistant Attorney General
Alaska Office of Attorney Generalexternal icon
123 4th Street, Dimond Court House
P.O. Box 110300
Juneau, AK 99811-0300
Phone: (907) 465-2173
Email: Leah.Farzin@alaska.gov

Secondary Contact
Kelly Henriksen
Assistant Attorney General
Alaska Office of Attorney Generalexternal icon
123 4th Street, Dimond Court House
O. Box 110300
Juneau, AK 99811-0300
Phone: (907) 465-6726
Fax: (907) 465-2539
Email: kelly.henriksen@alaska.gov

Primary Contact
Kevin Ray
Assistant Attorney General
Arizona Office of Attorney Generalexternal icon
2005 North Central Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85004
Phone: (602) 542-8328
Fax: (602) 364-0700
Email: kevin.ray@azag.gov

Secondary Contact
Aubrey Joy Corcoran, JD, MPH
Health Unit Chief Counsel
Arizona Office of the Attorney Generalexternal icon
2005 North Central Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85004
Phone: (602) 542-8890
Fax: (602)364-0700
Email: Aubreyjoy.corcoran@azag.gov

Primary Contact

This position is now open

Secondary Contact
Reginald Rogers
Deputy General Counsel
Arkansas Department of Healthexternal icon
4815 West Markham Street, Slot 31
Little Rock, AR 72205-3867
Phone: (501) 661-2609
Cell: (501) 944-2962
Fax: (501) 661-2357
Email: reginald.rogers@arkansas.gov

Primary Contact
Karin Schwartz
Chief Counsel
California Department of Public Health
1415 L Street, Suite 500
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 558-1710
Email: Karin.Schwartz@cdph.ca.gov

Secondary Contact 
Mike Rainville
Assistant Chief Counsel
California Department of Public Health
1415 L Street, Suite 500
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 558-1710
Email: Mike.Rainville@cdph.ca.gov

Primary Contact
Ann Hause
Director, Office of Legal and Regulatory Compliance
Colorado Department of Public Health & the Environmentexternal icon
4300 Cherry Creek Drive S
Denver, CO 80246-1530
Phone: (303) 692-3472
Fax: (303) 691-7702
Email: ann.hause@state.co.us

Secondary Contact
Deborah Nelson
Colorado Department of Public Health & the Environmentexternal icon
4300 Cherry Creek Drive S
Denver, CO 80246-1530
Phone: (303) 692-3466
Fax: (303) 691-7702
Email: deborah.nelson@state.co.us

Primary Contact
Henry Salton
Assistant Attorney General
Office of the Attorney Generalexternal icon
55 Elm St.
P.O. Box 120
Hartford, CT 06106
Phone: (860) 808-5210
Fax: (860) 808-5385
Email: Henry.Salton@ct.gov


Secondary Contact

Daniel Shapiro
Assistant Attorney General
Connecticut Office of the Attorney General Health and Educationexternal icon
55 Elm Street
P.O. Box 120
Hartford, CT 06106
Phone: (860) 808-5142
Fax: (860) 808-5385
Email: Daniel.Shapiro@ct.gov

Primary Contact
Joanna Suder
Deputy Attorney General
Delaware Department of Justiceexternal icon
820 N. French St., 6th Floor
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: (302) 577-8323
Fax: (302) 577-5866 (fax)
E-mail: joanna.suder@state.de.us

Primary Contact
Phillip Husband, BBA, JD
General Counsel
District of Columbia Department of Healthexternal icon
899 North Capitol Street, NE, 6th Floor
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: (202) 442-5977
Fax: (202) 442-4797
Email: Phillip.Husband@dc.gov

Primary Contact
Louise St. Laurent
Office of General Counsel
Florida Department of Health

Physical Address
2585 Merchants Row Boulevard
Tallahassee, FL

Mailing Address
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin# A02
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1703

Phone: (850) 245-4005
Louise.stlaurent@fl.gov

Georgia–Louisiana

Primary Contact
Rachel King
Attorney for Office of General Counsel in Public Healthexternal icon
2 Peachtree St. NW, 5th floor
Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone: 404-657-2700
Email: rking1@dch.ga.gov

Primary Contact
Angela A. Tokuda
Deputy Attorney General
Health and Human Services Divisionexternal icon
465 South King Street, Suite 200
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 587-3050
Fax: (808) 587-3077
Email: angela.a.tokuda@hawaii.gov

Primary Contact
Robert Adelson
Deputy Attorney General
Idaho Department of Health and Welfareexternal icon
3276 Elder Street, Suite B
Boise, Idaho 83720-5537
Bus Ph:(208) 334-7961
Bus Fax:(208) 334-6515
Email: rob.adelson@ag.idaho.gov

Primary Contact
Snigdha Acharya
General Counsel
Illinois Department of Public Healthexternal icon
122 S Michigan Avenue, 7th Floor
Chicago, IL 60603
Phone: 312-814-2684
Email: Snigdha.acharya2@illinois.gov

Primary Contact
Kelly Mackinnon, JD
Deputy Director of the Office of Legal Affairs
Office of Legal Affairs
Indiana State Department of Healthexternal icon
2 N. Meridian St., 3H-99
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: 317-233-7316
Fax: 317-234-6278
Email: kmackinnon@isdh.in.gov

Primary Contact
Heather Adams
Assistant Attorney General
Iowa Attorney General’s Officeexternal icon
1305 E. Walnut Street
Hoover State Office Building, 2nd Floor
Des Moines, IA 50319
Phone: (515) 281-3441
Work Cell: (515) 201-8430
Fax: (515) 281-7551
Email: Heather.Adams@ag.iowa.gov

Primary Contact
Eugene Lueger
Associate Chief Counsel for Public Health
Kansas Department of Health and Environmentexternal icon
Office of Legal Services, Curtis State Office Building
1000 SW Jackson, Ste. 560
Topeka, KS 66612-1371
Phone: (785) 296-0088
Fax: (785) 296-7119
Email: glueger@kdheks.gov

Secondary Contacts
Greg Lakin
Chief Health Officer/Medicaid Medical Director
Kansas Department of Health and Environment
(785) 296-0461

Primary Contact

Johann Herklotz
General Counsel, Office of Legal Services
Cabinet for Health and Family Services
Phone: 502 564-7042, ext. 3461
Fax: 502 564-7091
Email: hans.herklotz@ky.gov

Secondary Contact
Brent Irvin
Staff Attorney
Cabinet for Health and Family Services
275 E. Main 5WB
Frankfort, Kentucky
Phone: (502) 564-7905

Additional Contacts
Jennifer Wolsing
Jennifer.Wolsing@ky.gov

Primary Contact
David McCay
Attorney Supervisor
Louisiana Department of Healthexternal icon
P.O. Box 3836
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
Phone: (225) 342-1123
Fax: (225) 342-2232
Email: david.mccay@la.gov

Secondary Contact
Kimberly Humbles
General Counsel
Louisiana Department of Healthexternal icon
P.O. Box 3836
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
Phone: (225) 342-1128
Email: Kimberly.humbles@la.gov

Maine–Montana

Primary Contact
Deanna White
Assistant Attorney General
Maine Office of Attorney Generalexternal icon
Office of Attorney General
6 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0006
Phone: (207) 626-8800Fax: (207) 626-8828
Email: Deanna.white@maine.gov

Primary Contact
James N. Lewis
Assistant Attorney General
Office of the Attorney General
Maryland Department of Health
300 W. Preston Street, Suite 302
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
Phone: (410) 767-5162
Fax: (410) 333-7894

Secondary Contact
Mary Bearden
Assistant Attorney General
Office of the Attorney General
Maryland Department of Health
300 W. Preston Street, Suite 302
Telephone: (410) 767-6526
Mobile: (410) 775-6012
Facsimile: (410) 333-5174
Email: mary.bearden@maryland.gov

Primary Contact
Margret R. Cooke
General Counsel
Office of the General Counsel
Massachusetts Department of Public Healthexternal icon
250 Washington Street
Boston, MA 02108
Direct: (617) 624-5209
Main: (617) 624-5220
Fax: (617) 624-5234
Email: Margret.R.Cooke@MassMail.State.MA.US

Secondary Contact
Elizabeth Scurria Morgan
First Deputy General Counsel
Office of the General Counsel
Massachusetts Department of Public Healthexternal icon
250 Washington Street
Boston, MA 02108
Direct: (617) 624-5214
Main: (617) 624-5220
Fax: (617) 624-5234
Email: Elizabeth.ScurriaMorgan@MassMail.State.MA.US

Primary Contact
Brenda Lawson, Director
Population Health Legal Division
Legal Affairs Administration
Michigan Department of Health and Human Servicesexternal icon
333 S Grand Ave.
Lansing, MI 48933
Phone: (517)  284-4033
Email:  LawsonB1@michigan.gov

Secondary Contact
Carrie Waggoner, Manager
Population Health & Legal Services Section
Legal Affairs Administration
Michigan Department of Health and Human Servicesexternal icon
333 S Grand Ave.
Lansing, MI 48933
Phone: (517) 284-4845
Email: WaggonerC@michigan.gov

Primary Contact
Arden Fritz
Commissioner’s Office, Legal Unit
Minnesota Department of Healthexternal icon
625 North Robert Street
St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: (651) 201-4566
Email: arden.fritz@state.mn.us

Primary Contact
Ingrid Dave Williams
Special Assistant Attorney General
Mississippi State Department of Healthexternal icon
P. O. Box 1700
Jackson, MS  39215-1700
Phone: (601) 576-7847
Fax: (601) 576-7805
Email: Ingrid.Williams@msdh.ms.gov

Primary Contact
Nikki Loethen
General Counsel
Department of Health and Senior Servicesexternal icon
912 Wildwood Drive
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (573) 751-6005
Fax: (573) 751-0247
Email: Nikki.loethen@health.mo.gov

Secondary Contact
Shelley Forrest
Legal Counsel
Missouri Department of Health and Senior Servicesexternal icon
912 Wildwood Drive
Jefferson City, Missouri 65109
Phone:(573) 751-6005
Fax:(573) 751-0247
Email: shelley.forrest@health.mo.gov

Primary Contact
Shannon McDonald
Deputy Chief Legal Counsel
Montana Department of Public Health and Human Servicesexternal icon
P.O. Box 4210
Room 210 Sanders Building
Helena, MT 59604
Phone: (406) 444-2644
Fax: (406) 444-9744
Email: smcdonald4@mt.gov

Secondary Contact
Nick Domitrovich
Attorney
Montana Department of Public Health and Human Servicesexternal icon
P.O. Box 4210
Room 210 Sanders Building
Helena, MT 59604
Phone: (406) 444-0207
Email: NDomitrovich@mt.gov

Nebraska–Oregon

Primary Contact
Darrell Klein
Assistant Agency Counsel
Legal Services
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Servicesexternal icon
P.O. Box 95026
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: (402) 471-4052
Fax: (402) 742-2374
Email: darrell.klein@nebraska.gov

Secondary Contact
Teresa M. Hampton
Attorney
Legal Services
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Servicesexternal icon
P.O. Box 95026
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: (402) 471-4051
Fax: (402) 742-2374
Email: Teresa.hampton@nebraska.gov

Primary Contact
Linda Anderson
Chief Deputy Attorney General
Nevada Office of Attorney Generalexternal icon
555 E. Washington Avenue, Ste. 3900
Las Vegas, Nevada 89101
Bus Ph:(702) 486-3077
Bus Fax:(702) 486-3871
Email: landerson@ag.nv.gov 

Primary Contact
Elizabeth Maynard
Counsel for Public Health
New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Servicesexternal icon
OOS/Brown Building
129 Pleasant St.
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271-9223
Fax: (603) 271-5590
Email: elizabeth.maynard@dhhs.nh.gov

Secondary Contact
John Martin
New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Servicesexternal icon
129 Pleasant St.
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271-9256
Email: jmartin@dhhs.state.nh.us

Primary Contact
Joy L. Lindo
Director, Office of Legal & Regulatory Compliance
NJ Department of Healthexternal icon
P.O. Box 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360
Phone: (609) 984-2177
Fax: (609) 292-5333
Email: joy.lindo@doh.nj.gov

Secondary Contact
Kimberly Jenkins
Deputy Director, Office of Legal & Regulatory Compliance
NJ Department of Healthexternal icon
P.O. Box 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360
Phone: (609) 984-2177
Fax: (609) 292-5333
Email: kimberly.jenkins@doh.nj.gov

Primary Contact
Gabrielle Sanchez-Sandoval
Deputy Secretary and General Counsel
New Mexico Department of Health
1190 St. Francis Drive, Suite N-4095
P.O. Box 26110
Santa Fe, NM 87502
Phone: (505) 670-3298

Primary Contact
Richard J. Zahnleuter
General Counsel
New York State Department of Health
Division of Legal Affairsexternal icon

2438 Corning Tower, Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12237-0026
Phone: (518) 474-7553
Fax: (518) 473-2802
Email:  richard.zahnleuter@health.ny.gov

Secondary Contact
Justin Pfeiffer
Director, Bureau of Program Counsel
New York State Department of Health
Division of Legal Affairsexternal icon

2415 Corning Tower, Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12237
Phone: (518) 473-3233
Fax: (518) 473-2019
Email: justin.pfeiffer@health.ny.gov

Primary Contact
Chris Hoke, JD
Director
Office of Regulatory and Legal Affairs
North Carolina DHHS, Division of Public Healthexternal icon
1931 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1931
Phone: (919) 707-5006
Fax: (919) 870-4829
Email: chris.hoke@dhhs.nc.gov

Secondary Contact
John Barkley
Assistant Attorney General
North Carolina Department of Justiceexternal icon
Public Health and Child Welfare Section
9001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-9001
Phone: (919) 716-6864
Fax: (919) 716-6758
Email: jbarkley@ncdoj.gov

This position is now open

Primary Contact
Mahjabeen F. Qadir
General Counsel
Ohio Department of Healthexternal icon
246 North High Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Phone: 614.466.4882
Fax: 614.564.2509

Secondary Contact
Socrates H. Tuch
Senior Legal Counsel/HIPAA Privacy Offer
Ohio Department of Healthexternal icon
246 North High Street
Columbus, OH 43215
Phone: (614) 466-4882
Fax: (614) 564-2509
Email: Socrates.Tuch@odh.ohio.gov

Primary Contact
Kim Bailey
Chief Operating Officer
Oklahoma State Department of Healthexternal icon
1000 NE 10th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299
Phone: (405) 271- 4200
Fax: (405) 271-1268
Email: kim.bailey@health.ok.gov

Primary Contact
Shannon O’Fallon
Senior Assistant Attorney General
Health and Human Services Section
General Counsel Division
Oregon Department of Justice
Mailing Address: 1162 Court St NE, Salem, OR 97301-4096
Physical Address: 100 SW Market Street, Portland, OR 97201
Portland, OR 97201
971.673.1950 (Direct)
503.358.2047 (Mobile)
Email: shannon.ofallon@doj.state.or.us

Pennsylvania–Virginia

Primary Contact
Alison Taylor
Chief Counsel
Pennsylvania Department of Healthexternal icon
Office of Legal Counsel
Room 825, Health and Welfare Building
625 Forster Street
Harrisburg, PA 17120
Phone: (717) 783-2500
Fax: (717) 705-6042
Email: altaylor@pa.gov

Secondary Contact
Yvette M. Kostelac
Deputy Chief Counsel
Pennsylvania Department of Healthexternal icon
Office of Legal Counsel
Room 825, Health and Welfare Building
625 Forster Street
Harrisburg, PA 17120
Phone: (717) 783-2500
Fax: (717) 705-6042
Email:ykostelac@pa.gov

Primary Contact
Kenny Alston
Chief Legal Counsel 
Rhode Island Department of Healthexternal icon
3 Capitol Hill, Room 404
Providence, RI 02908
Phone: (401) 222-1685
Fax: (401) 222-6548
Email: Kenny.Alston@ohhs.ri.gov

Primary Contact
William D. Britt, Jr.
Chief Counsel for Public Health
South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Controlexternal icon
Office of General Counsel
2600 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 898-3350
Fax: (803) 898-3367
Email: BrittWD@dhec.sc.gov

Secondary Contact
W. Marshall Taylor
General Counsel
South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Controlexternal icon
Office of General Counsel
2600 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 898-3350
Email: taylorwm@dhec.sc.gov

Primary Contact
Justin Williams
General Counsel
South Dakota Department of Healthexternal icon
600 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: (605) 773-6697
Fax: (605) 773-5683
Email: justin.williams@state.sd.us

Secondary Contact
Thomas Martinec
Deputy Secretary
South Dakota Department of Healthexternal icon
600 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: (605) 773-3361
Fax: (605) 773-5683
Email: tom.martinec@state.sd.us

Primary Contact
Jane Young
General Counsel
Tennessee Department of Health external icon
Office of General Counsel
Andrew Johnson Tower, 5th Floor
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: (615) 532-7173
Fax: (615) 401-7679
Email: jane.young@tn.gov

Secondary Contact
Mary Kennedy
Chief Deputy General Counsel
Office of the General Counsel
Tennessee Department of Healthexternal icon
Andrew Johnson Tower, 5th Floor
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: (615) 253-4878
Email: mary.kennedy@tn.gov

Primary Contact
Barbara Klein
General Counsel
Texas Department of State Health Servicesexternal icon
Phone: 512-776-6683
Email: barbara.klein@hhsc.state.tx.us

Primary Contact
Stephanie Saperstein
Assistant Attorney General
Utah Department of Healthexternal icon
288 North 1460 West
P.O. Box 140835
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-0835
Phone: (801) 538-6430
Email:Stephaniesaperstein@utah.gov

Secondary Contact
Brittany Huff
Assistant Attorney General
Utah Department of Healthexternal icon
288 North 1460 West
P.O. Box 140835
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-0835
Phone: (801) 538-6878
Fax: (801) 538-6306
Email: brittanyhuff@utah.gov

Primary Contact
David C. Englander
Senior Policy and Legal Advisor
Agency of Human Services Department of Healthexternal icon
Office of the Commissioner
108 Cherry Street
Burlington, VT 05401
Phone: (802) 863-7282
Fax: (802) 951-1275
Email: david.englander@vermont.gov

Secondary Contact
Lillian Colasurdo
Assistant Attorney General
Vermont Department of Health
108 Cherry Street
P.O. Box 70
Burlington, VT 05402-0070
Phone: (802) 652-2092
Fax: (802) 951-1211
Email: lillian.colasurdo@vermont.gov

Primary Contact
Robin Kurz
Senior Assistant Attorney General
Virginia Office of Attorney Generalexternal icon
202 North 9th Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: (804) 786-0143
Fax: (804) 371-8718
Email: rkurz@oag.state.va.us

Washington–Wyoming

Primary Contact
Joyce Roper
Senior Assistant Attorney General
Washington Office of Attorney Generalexternal icon
7141 Cleanwater Dr. SW
P.O. Box 40109
Olympia, WA 98504-0109
Phone: (360) 664-4968
Fax: (360) 586-3564
Email: joycer@atg.wa.gov

Secondary Contact
Lilia Lopez
Assistant Attorney General
Washington Office of Attorney Generalexternal icon
7141 Cleanwater Dr. SW
P.O. Box 40109
Olympia, WA 98504-0109
Phone: (360) 664-4967
Email: LiliaL@atg.wa.gov

Primary Contact
Brian Skinner
General Counsel
West Virginia Bureau for Public Healthexternal icon
350 Capitol St., Room 702
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: (304) 356-4122
Fax: (304) 356-1035
Email: brian.j.skinner@wv.gov

Secondary Contact
Claire Winterholler
Assistant Attorney General
West Virginia Bureau for Public Healthexternal icon
350 Capitol St., Room 702
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: (304) 356-4134
Fax: (304) 558-1035
Email: m.claire.winterholler@wv.gov

Primary Contact
Jennifer Ullsvik
Attorney
Wisconsin Department of Health Servicesexternal icon
Office of Legal Counsel
1 West Wilson Street
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: (608) 266-8457
Fax: (608) 267-1434
Email: Jennifer.ullsvik@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Primary Contact
Jackson M. Engels
Senior Assistant Attorney General
Human Services Division
State of Wyoming Attorney General’s Office
2320 Capitol Avenue
Cheyanne, WY 82001
Phone: (307)777-3674
Email: jackson.engels@wyo.gov

Secondary Contact
Misha Westby
Deputy Attorney General
Wyoming Attorney General’s Officeexternal icon
2320 Capital Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82001
Phone: (307) 777-7841
Fax: (307) 777-3435
Email: misha.westby@wyo.gov

 

 

Disclaimer: CDC does not verify the accuracy of listings submitted, and CDC and HHS assume no responsibility for the accuracy or currency of the listings. CDC’s posting of a listing in this directory does not constitute any opinion or position by CDC or HHS concerning the credentials or professional standing of the person listed. The contents of this directory are in the public domain. CDC retains the right to delete or alter any listing, or to discontinue this directory.

Page last reviewed: October 22, 2018