Study Syllabus for Classification of Radiographs of Pneumoconioses


NIOSH wishes to express deep appreciation to the following contributors:

Professional staff of the American College of Radiology (ACR) and the physician members of the ACR Taskforce on Pneumoconiosis, who generously contributed their time and expertise toward the development of this self-study syllabus:

ACR Staff/Consultants:

Ronald E. Freedman, Executive Vice President
Elizabeth G. Yarboro, Senior Director
Jorge Rodriguez-Guasch, Instructional Systems Developer
Matthew Wenger, Consultant, ITPG, Inc.
Robert Lissitz, Consultant

ACR Taskforce on Pneumoconiosis:

Daniel A. Henry, MD, FACR (Chair)
Kathleen A. DePonte, MD
John R. Forehand, MD
Jeffrey P. Kanne, MD
James Lockey, MD
David A. Lynch, MB, ChB
Cristopher A. Meyer, MD, FACR
Cecile S. Rose, MD, MPH
Danielle M. Seaman, MD
Ralph T. Shipley, MD
Joseph F. Tomashefski Jr, MD

  • Drs. Michael Attfield, Robert Cohen, Robert Tallaksen, John Parker and Edward Petsonk for assistance in selecting radiographs from the NIOSH Chest Image Repository (CIR)
  • Drs. David Weissman and Douglas Johns for providing institutional support for the project
  • Dr. Cara Halldin for providing project leadership
  • Travis Markle, MS, for providing technical support for the project