Other Eye Disorders – Cornea Disorders

Diagnosed Prevalence

VEHSS identifies the annual prevalence of diagnosed Cornea Disorders based on the presence of International Classification of Diseases (ICD)-9 and ICD-10 codes in patient claims or electronic health record (EHR) systems. Patients with one or more diagnosis codes associated with a VEHSS subgroup are assigned to that subgroup. Diagnosis codes may be primary or secondary. Only one instance of a diagnosis code is required for assignment to the subgroup. Note that diagnosis codes in claims data are intended for billing purposes. Codes may not be present in cases where diagnosis codes are not required to justify payment. Diagnosed prevalence will also not identify any undiagnosed conditions, will not include patients not covered by the insurer, and will not identify prevalence among patients without a visit in the calendar year of data.

Diagnosed cornea disorders include a patient having one or more diagnosis codes indicating one or more of the subgroups listed below.

Sample Category and Subgroup Definitions
Subgroup Indicated conditions
Cornea disorders, any stage Category total – includes any clinical stage below.
Keratoconus Keratoconus includes diagnosis codes indicating keratoconus or conical cornea conditions.
Endothelial dystrophy (including Fuchs) Endothelial dystrophy includes diagnosis codes indicating endothelial or Fuchs dystrophy.
Other corneal disorders Other corneal disorders include diagnosis codes indicating corneal scars, opacities, and other disorders of the cornea.

Full list of ICD-9 and ICD-10 codes [PDF – 2.1 MB].

Explore Data in the VEHSS Application

The data sources available for this category include Medicare (default), IRIS Registry, Medicaid, Managed Vision Care, and MarketScan commercial insurance claims. See data source documentation.