The Jack N. Spencer Award

The Jack N. Spencer Award

The Jack N. Spencer Award is presented to people with long and extraordinary careers in STD prevention characterized primarily by outstanding commitment to program science. This prestigious award is presented every other year at the STD Prevention Conference.

2022 Award Winner: Julia Schillinger, MD, MSc
Julie Schillinger

Dr. Schillinger is a medical epidemiologist and pediatrician, who for two decades, served as a CDC assignee and oversaw surveillance and epidemiology for the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene’s Bureau of STD Control. She is also an alumnus of CDC’s Epidemic Intelligence Service. Her areas of expertise include neonatal herpes, STD surveillance, and chlamydia research.

During the first wave of New York’s COVID 19 pandemic, Dr. Schillinger worked closely with providers on case identification and arranging testing and was subsequently involved in the epidemiologic investigation of multi-system inflammatory disease among children in New York City.

Congratulations Julia!

photo of the Jack N. Spencer Award Plaque

Previous Recipients

2020 – Steve Kowalewski
2018 – Susan Blank
2016 – Jeffrey Klausner
2014 – Dayne Collins
2012 – Cornelis “Kees” Rietmeijer
2010 – Gail Bolan and Charlie Rabins
2008 – Dorothy Gunter
2006 – Susan DeLisle
2004 – Martin Goldberg
2002 – John J. Potterat
2000 – Jack N. Spencer