Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

About the 2018 Conference

About the 2018 Conference

The biennial 2018 National STD Prevention Conference took place at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, DC from August 27-30, 2018.

The conference focused discussions around “Intersecting Epidemics, Integrated Solutions” by exploring the intersection between STDs not only with one another, but also with HIV, reproductive health, maternal-child health, and substance use. Sexual health professionals, including program staff, scientists, clinicians, youth-serving professionals, and reproductive health care providers were in attendance to learn from state-of-the-art updates and practical, clinically-focused research.


Intersecting Epidemics, Integrated Solutions

The 2018 STD Prevention Conference Scientific Committee solicited theme suggestions from colleagues and partners and received more than 80 suggestions. After careful review by the committee, we proudly announced the 2018 STD Prevention Conference theme:

STD prevention and control in the U.S. is complex. It involves many diseases, populations, intervention strategies, and stakeholders. The 2018 theme highlights the ways that the epidemiology of different STDs intersect with one another, and also with HIV, reproductive health, maternal-child health, and substance use. Through a program-science lens, the 2018 STD Prevention Conference featured the value of integration and partnerships for effective public health responses to STDs.


Conference Co-Chairs

Gail Bolan

Dennis Fortenberry

Steering Committee

Sevgi Aral

Lynn Barclay

Gail Bolan

Dennis Fortenberry

Margaret Gale-Rowe

Beatriz Garcia

Massimo Ghindinelli

David Harvey

Amber Herald

Ned Nook

Patricia Jackson

Maeve de Mello

Janice Norwood

Kay Philips

Rachel Powell

Raul Romaguera

Barbara Van Der Pol

Scientific Committee (by Tracks and Domains)

Sevgi Aral, Co-Chair

Ned Hook, Co-Chair



Bill Miller

Ninad Mishra

Preeti Pathela

Bill Pearson

Erika Samoff

Mark Stenger

Jeff Stover

Hillard Weinstock



Greta Anschuetz

Monique Carry

Marion Carter

Stephanie Cohen

Julie Dombrowski

Travis Gayles

James Matthias

Candice McNeil



Kathryn Brookmeyer

Gale Burstein

Patricia Dittus

Jennifer Fuld

Will Geisler

Matthew Hogben

Jacky Jennings

Trang Nguyen



Marcia Hobbs

Ellen Kersh

Robert Kirkcaldy

Ina Park

Lara Pereria

Susan Phillips

Olusegun Soge

Barbara Van Der Pol



Kyle Bernstein

Virginia Bowen

Patrick Chaulk

Patty Kissinger

Brandy Maddox

Karen Schlanger

Kate Washburn

Debbie Wendell



Stephanie Arnold Pang

Harrell Chesson

Ryan Cramer

Kendra Cuffe

Amy Nevel

Tom Gift

Dan Wohlfeiler

Jonathan Zenilman



Laura Bachmann

Christine Johnston

Natalie Neu

Hilary Reno

Karen Wendel

Kimberly Workowski