FATALITY ASSESSMENT AND CONTROL EVALUATION (FACE) PROGRAM

FACE Program Contacts

Fatality Assessment and Control Evaluation Team

Surveillance and Field Investigations Branch
Division of Safety Research, NIOSH
1000 Frederick Lane, M/S 1808
Morgantown, West Virginia 26508
Fax: (304) 285-5774
NIOSH Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/
FACE Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/face/
Traumatic Injury Topic Page: https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/injury/

  • Nancy Romano, M.S., CSHM
    FACE Project Officer
    (304) 285-5889
    NRomano@cdc.gov
  • Jeff Funke, CSP
    Team Leader, Fatality Investigations Team
    (304) 285-6201
    JFunke@cdc.gov
  • John Sines
    Information Specialist
    (304) 285-6105
    JSines@cdc.gov
  • Jennifer E. Lincoln
    Health Scientist
    (304) 285-6185
    JELincoln@cdc.gov
  • Melanie Fowler
    Environmental Health Officer
    (304) 285-5742
    MFowler@cdc.gov

Other Federal Project Contacts

  • Dawn N. Castillo, M.P.H.
    Director
    Division of Safety Research, NIOSH
    1000 Frederick Lane, M/S 1900
    Morgantown, WV 26508
    (304) 285-5894
    (304) 285-6046 (fax)
    DCastillo@cdc.gov
  • Eric G. Carbone, MBA, PhD
    Branch Chief
    Surveillance and Field Investigations Branch
    Division of Safety Research, NIOSH
    1000 Frederick Lane, M/S 1808
    Morgantown, WV 26508
    (304) 285-6396 (office)
    (470) 310-0447 (mobile)
    (304) 285-5774 (fax)
    ECarbone@cdc.gov
  • Larry Guess
    Procurement and Grants Office
    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    Acquisition and Assistance Field Branch
    P.O. Box 18070
    Cochrans Mill Road
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15236-0070
    (412) 386-6826
    (412) 386-6429 (fax)
    LGuess@cdc.gov
  • Express Mail:
    2400 Century Parkway NE
    4th Floor
    Atlanta, GA 30345-3114
  • Timothy J. Pizatella, M.S.
    Deputy Director
    Division of Safety Research, NIOSH
    1000 Frederick Lane, M/S 1900
    Morgantown, WV 26508
    (304) 285-5894
    (304) 285-6046 (fax)
    TPizatella@cdc.gov
  • Cari Brunner
    Program Operations Assistant
    Surveillance and Field Investigations Branch
    Division of Safety Research, NIOSH
    1000 Frederick Lane, M/S 1808
    Morgantown, WV 26508
    (304) 285-5916
    (304) 285-5774 (fax)
    CBrunner@cdc.gov
  • Linda K. West, M.S.P.H.
    Scientific Program Officer
    CAPT, USPHS
    Office of Extramural Programs/NIOSH
    1600 Clifton Rd, NE, M/S E-74
    Atlanta, Georgia 30329-4018
    (404) 498-5767
    (404) 498-2571 (fax)
    LWest@cdc.gov

State FACE Contacts

California FACE Program

Occupational Health Branch
California Department of Health Services
850 Marina Bay Parkway, Building P, 3rd Floor
Richmond, CA 94807
(510) 620-5757, fax (510) 620-5743
Email: Laura.Styles@cdph.ca.gov
Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DEODC/OHB/FACE/Pages/FACE.aspxexternal icon

Kentucky FACE Program

Kentucky Injury Prevention and Research Center
333 Waller Avenue, Suite 242
Lexington, Kentucky 40504-2915
Web Site: https://kiprc.uky.edu/programs/fatality-assessment-and-control-evaluation-faceexternal icon

  • Madison Liford, MPH
    Program Director
    (859) 323-2981
    mali223@uky.edu
  • Terry Bunn, Ph.D.
    Principal Investigator
    (859) 257-4955
    (859) 257-3909 (fax)
    Tlbunn2@uky.edu

Louisiana FACE Program

Occupational Health and Injury Surveillance Program
Louisiana Department of Health
Office of Public Health
Section of Environmental Epidemiology & Toxicology
1450 Poydras St., Ste 1631
New Orleans, LA 70112
(888) 293-7020, fax (504) 568-8149

  • Anna Reilly, Ph.D., M.P.H.
    Occupational Health and Injury Surveillance Program
    (504) 568-8160
    (504) 568-8149 (fax)
    Anna.Reilly@LA.gov
  • Daniel J. Harrington, MSPH, ScD
    FACE Investigator
    (504) 568-6042
    DHarr3@lsuhsc.edu

Massachusetts FACE Program

Occupational Health Surveillance Program
Massachusetts Department of Public Health
250 Washington Street, 4th Floor
Boston, Massachusetts 02108
http://www.mass.gov/dph/faceexternal icon

  • Emily Sparer-Fine, ScD
    Principle Investigator
    (617) 624-5717
    (617) 549-6169 (mobile)
    (617) 624-5696 (fax)
    emily.sparer-fine@mass.gov
  • James Laing
    Workplace Fatality Coordinator
    (617) 624-5632
    (617) 512-5093 (mobile)
    (617) 624-5696 (fax)
    james.laing@mass.gov

Michigan FACE Program

Michigan State University
Department of Medicine
Occupational and Environmental Medicine
909 Fee Road, Room 117 West Fee Hall
East Lansing, Michigan 48824-1315
Web Site: https://oem.msu.edu/index.php/work-related-injuries/work-related-fatalitiesexternal icon

  • Kenneth D. Rosenman, M.D.
    Principal Investigator
    (517) 353-1846
    (517) 432-3606 (fax)
    rosenman@msu.edu
  • Mary Jo Reilly, M.S.
    Epidemiologist
    Phone: (517) 353-4979
    (517) 432-3606 (fax)
    maryjo.reilly@ht.msu.edu
  • Joanna Kica
    Research Assistant III
    Michigan State University
    College of Human Medicine
    Division of Occupational and Environmental Medicine
    909 Wilson Rd., West Fee Hall Room 121B
    East Lansing, MI 48824
    Phone: (517) 353-1846
    (517) 432-3606 (fax)
    kica@msu.edu

New York FACE Program

New York State Department of Health
Bureau of Occupational Health and Injury Prevention
Corning Tower, Room 1325
Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12237
Web Site: http://www.health.ny.gov/environmental/investigations/face/external icon

Oregon FACE Program

Oregon Health & Science University
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd., L606
Portland, Oregon 97239
(503) 494-2281 | orface@ohsu.edu
Web Site: https://www.ohsu.edu/xd/research/centers-institutes/oregon-institute-occupational-health-sciences/oregon-fatality-assessment-control-evaluation-face/external icon

  • David A. Hurtado, ScD, Msc
    Assistant Professor
    Oregon Institute of Occupational Health Sciences
    Oregon Health & Science University
    Assistant Professor
    Public Health Practice
    OHSU-PSU School of Public Health
    3222 SW Research Drive, L606, Portland, OR 97239
    (503) 494-3132
    hurtadod@ohsu.edu
  • Nikolas Smart, MS
    Research Associate
    Oregon Institute of Occupational Health Sciences
    Oregon Health & Science University
    (503) 494-2281
    smartn@ohsu.edu
  • Barbara Hanley
    Fatality Investigator
    Oregon Institute of Occupational Health Sciences
    Oregon Health & Science University
    (503) 494-2281
    hanleyb@ohsu.edu

Washington FACE Program

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
SHARP Program
P.O. Box 44330
Olympia, Washington 98504-4330
Web Site: https://lni.wa.gov/safety-health/safety-research/ongoing-projects/work-related-fatalities-faceexternal icon

  • Todd Schoonover
    FACE Program Director
    (360) 902-5663
    (360) 902-5672 (fax)
    scto235@lni.wa.gov
  • David Bonauto, M.D.
    Principal Investigator
    WA State Department of Labor and Industries Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
    PO Box 44330
    Olympia, WA 98504-4330
    (360) 902-5664
    (360) 902-5672 (fax)
    bone235@lni.wa.gov
  • Randy Clark
    Safety and Health Specialist
    (360) 902-5661
    (360) 902-5672 (fax)
    claa235@lni.wa.gov
  • Paul Karolczyk
    Safety and Health Specialist
    (360) 902-4732
    (360) 902-5672 (fax)
    karx235@lni.wa.gov
Page last reviewed: September 7, 2021