Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Eagle Books

drawing of child talking with an eagle

The Eagle Books are a series of books for young readers that encourage healthy living. They were developed in response to the burden of diabetes among Native Americans and the lack of diabetes prevention materials for Native American children. The colorful, Native American inspired characters in the stories promote healthy eating, physical activity, and diabetes awareness. The books were written by Georgia Perez, a community health representative in Nambe Pueblo, New Mexico, and illustrated by Patrick Rolo (Bad River Band of Ojibwe, Wisconsin) and Lisa A. Fifield (Oneida Tribe of Wisconsin, Black Bear Clan).

There are four books for K–4 readers, plus three chapter books and a graphic novel for readers in grades 5–8. All books can be ordered or downloaded for free.

  • Page last reviewed: April 24, 2015
  • Page last updated: April 24, 2015
  • Content source:
  • Maintained By:
    • National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Diabetes Translation