Health Equity Workgroup

The Health Equity Workgroup (HEW) provides input to the ACD, CDC on agency-wide activities related to the scope and implementation of CDC’s CORE strategy (an acronym for C-cultivate comprehensive health equity science, O-optimize interventions, R-reinforce and expand robust partnerships, and E-enhance capacity and workforce diversity and inclusion).  The HEW is composed of both ACD members and those selected through an open application process.  The members are subject matter experts in public health science and practice and policy development, analysis and implementation, as well as health equity.  As such, the HEW assists the ACD, CDC in its development of advice and recommendations to CDC regarding the effective execution of its health equity strategy, ultimately influencing the agency’s internal operations as well as its work with state, local, tribal and territorial public health agencies and other constituents and partners.

Terms of Reference [PDF – 133 KB]

Health Equity Workgroup Full Report [PDF – 544 KB] Task Areas 1, 2, 3

HHS Recommendations Task Areas 1 & 2 [PDF – 99 KB]

HHS Recommendations Task Area 3 [PDF – 109 KB]

Name Organization Title
Health Equity Workgroup Members
Daniel Dawes, JD HEW Co-Chair Meharry Medical College Senior Vice President, Global Health

Executive Director, Global Health Equity Institute

Founding Dean, School of Global Public Health
Monica Valdes Lupi, JD, MPH HEW Co-Chair The Kresge Foundation Managing Director of Health Program
Adaora Alise Adimora, MD, MPH University of North Carolina (UNC) School of Medicine Sarah Graham Kenan Distinguished Professor
Michelle A. Albert, MD, MPH, FACC, FAHA University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine Walter A. Haas-Lucie Stern Endowed Chair in Cardiology and Professor in Medicine
David Fleming, MD University of Washington School of Public Health Clinical Associate Professor
Rachel R. Hardeman, PhD, MPH University of Minnesota School of Public Health Associate Professor in the Division of Health Policy & Management
Rhonda Medows, MD Providence Population Health President of Population Health Management
Julie Morita, MD Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Executive Vice President
Octavio Martinez Jr., MD, MPH, MBA, FAPA Hogg Foundation for Mental Health/University of Texas (Austin) Executive Director
Philip Alberti, PhD Association of American Medical Colleges Founding Director
David Brown, MBA YMCA President and CEO
Nafissa Cisse Egbuonye, PhD, MPH Molina Healthcare Associate Vice President of Growth and Community Engagement
Cary Fremin, BS Dot Lake Village Council, Dot Lake Village Director of Health and Social Services
Delmonte Jefferson, BS Center for Black Health & Equity Executive Director
Maria Lemus, BA Visión y Compromiso and Network of Promotoras Community Health Workers Founding Executive Director
Mysheika Roberts, MD, MPH Department of Public Health - Columbus, Ohio Public Health Commissioner
Bonnielin K. Swenor, PhD, MPH Johns Hopkins University Disability Health Research Center Founder and Director
Paula Tran, MPH Wisconsin Department of Health Services State Public Health Officer
G. Robert Watts, MPH, MS National Health Care for the Homeless Council Chief Executive Officer