Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to site content
CDC Home

PCD Logo


Implementing the ACHIEVE Model to Prevent and Reduce Chronic Disease in Rural Klickitat County, Washington

The figure is a graphic describing the 5 phases of the ACHIEVE model for community health and chronic disease prevention, developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: 1) commitment, creating or strengthening a coalition of community partners representative of a broad mix of private and public sectors; 2) assessment, conducting a thorough assessment of community strengths and needs; 3) planning, developing a community action plan to link identified needs with strategies, resources, and a process for measuring progress; 4) implementation, implementing strategies identified in the community action plan; and 5) evaluation, understanding and documenting successes, challenges, and changes observed in the community.

Figure. The 5 phases of Action Communities for Health, Innovation, and Environmental Change (ACHIEVE), developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Return to article

The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors' affiliated institutions.

For Questions About This Article Contact The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Road Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC–INFO
A-Z Index
  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  27. #