Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to site content
CDC Home

Where to Write for Vital Records

Florida

 

Birth

 

Event: Birth

Cost of copy: $9.00

Address:
Department of Health
Bureau of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 210
1217 Pearl Street (Zip 32202)
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042

Remarks: State office has some birth records dating back to April 1865. The majority of records date from January 1917. (If the exact date is unknown, the fee is $9.00 for the first year searched and $2.00 for each additional year up to a maximum of $50.00. Fee includes one certification of record if found or  statement stating record not on file.) Additional copies are $4.00 each when requested at the same time.

Personal check or money order should be made payable to Bureau of Vital Statistics. To verify current fees, please visit our website or call our telephone number (904)359-6900. This will be a recorded message. Information on how to obtain certified copies is also available via the Florida Department of Health, Vital Records website

All letters or applications must include the signature, relationship/eligibility stated, and a  copy of a valid PICTURE ID (Driver's License, Passport, Military ID. or State Identification card) of the applicant.

Birth records in Florida are confidential by law. Please visit our website for information on eligibility.

A self-addressed stamped envelope is appreciated.

Death

 

Event: Death

Cost of copy: $5.00

Address:
Department of Health
Bureau of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 210
1217 Pearl Street (Zip 32202)
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042

Remarks: State office has some death records dating back to 1877. The majority of records date from January 1917. (If the exact date is unknown, the fee is $5.00 for the first year searched and $2.00 for each additional year up to a maximum of $50.00. Fee includes one certification of record if found or certified statement stating record not on file.) Additional copies are $4.00 each when requested at the same time.

Personal check or money order should be made payable to Bureau of Vital Statistics. To verify current fees, please visit our website or call our telephone number (904)359-6900. This will be a recorded message. Information on how to obtain certified copies is also available via the Florida Department of Health, Vital Records website

All letters or applications must include the signature, relationship/eligibility stated in requesting cause of death, you must also include a copy of a valid PICTURE ID (Driver's License, Passport, Military ID. or State Identification card) of the applicant. Cause-of-death information in Florida is confidential. Please visit our website for information on eligibility.

A self-addressed stamped envelope is appreciated.

Marriage

 

Event: Marriage

Cost of copy: $5.00

Address:
Department of Health
Bureau of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 210
1217 Pearl Street (Zip 32202)
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042

Remarks: Records since June 6, 1927. (If the exact date is unknown, the fee is $5.00 for the first year searched and $2.00 for each additional year up to a maximum of $50.00. Fee includes one copy of record if found or certified statement stating record not on file.) Additional copies are $4.00 each when requested at the same time.

Personal check or money order should be made payable to Bureau of Vital Statistics. To verify current fees, please visit our website or call our telephone number (904)359-6900. This will be a recorded message. Information on how to obtain certified copies is also available via the Florida Department of Health, Vital Records website.

A self-addressed stamped envelope is appreciated.

Divorce

 

Event: Divorce

Cost of copy: $5.00

Address:
Department of Health
Bureau of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 210
1217 Pearl Street (Zip 32202)
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042

Remarks: Records since June 6, 1927. (If the exact date is unknown, the fee is $5.00 for the first year searched and $2.00 for each additional year up to a maximum of $50.00. Fee includes one copy of record if found or certified statement stating record not on file.) Additional copies are $4.00 each when requested at the same time.

Personal check or money order should be made payable to Bureau of Vital Statistics. To verify current fees, please visit our website or call our telephone number (904)359-6900. This will be a recorded message. Information on how to obtain certified copies is also available via the Florida Department of Health, Vital Records website.

A self-addressed stamped envelope is appreciated.

 

 
USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Rd. Atlanta, GA 30333, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC–INFO
A-Z Index
  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  27. #