Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to site content
CDC Home

Where to Write for Vital Records

Rhode Island

 

Birth

 

Event: Birth

Cost of copy: $20.00

Address:
RI Department of Health
Office of Vital Records, Room 101
3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097

Remarks: State office keeps birth and marriage/civil union records for 100 years and keeps death records for 50 years. In general, copies can be obtained at the time of the occurrence. Additional copies of the same record ordered at the same time are $15.00 each.

Information for city/town addresses are available via the Rhode Island Department of Health, Office of Vital Records website

For earlier records, write to the city/town clerk where the event occurred or to the Rhode Island State Archives, 337 Westminster Street, Providence RI 02903

Personal check or money order should be made payable to General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island. To verify current fees after office hours, the telephone number is (401) 222-2811. This will be a recorded message. To verify current fees and general information during office hours, please call the Health Hot Line at (401) 222-5960. Information on how to obtain certified copies is also available via the Rhode Island Department of Health website.

All requests must be accompanied by a photocopy of the applicant's valid government-issued picture identification, e.g., driver's license. In lieu of a valid government-issued picture identification, two pieces of mail are accepted showing the correct name and address of the individual requesting the record.

 

Event: Pre-Adoption Non-Certified Birth

Cost of Copy: $20.00

Address:
RI Department of Health
Office of Vital Records, Room 101
3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097

In June, 2011 the State of Rhode Island passed a law allowing adult adoptees born in Rhode Island access to a non-certified copy of their unaltered, original birth certificate.  If you are an adoptee who was born in Rhode Island and you are age 25 or older, you can request a non-certified copy of your original, pre-adoption birth record from the State Office of Vital Records. According to state law, we can only release your record to you, the adoptee. Relatives cannot request copies of your record on your behalf.  Please visit the web-site at www.health.ri.govExternal Web Site Icon under Adult Adoptees for further information on applications, ID requirements and access.

Personal check or money order should be made payable to General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island.

All requests must be accompanied by a photocopy of the applicant’s valid government-issued picture identification, e.g., driver’s license.  In lieu of valid government-issued picture identification, two pieces of mail are accepted showing the correct name and address of the individual requesting the record.

 

Death

 

Event: Death

Cost of copy: $20.00

Address:
RI Department of Health
Office of Vital Records, Room 101
3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097

Remarks: State office keeps birth and marriage/civil union records for 100 years and keeps death records for 50 years. In general, copies can be obtained at the time of the occurrence. Additional copies of the same record ordered at the same time are $15.00 each.

Information for city/town addresses are available via the Rhode Island Department of Health, Office of Vital Records website

For earlier records, write to the city/town clerk where the event occurred or to the Rhode Island State Archives, 337 Westminster Street, Providence RI 02903

Personal check or money order should be made payable to General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island. To verify current fees after office hours, the telephone number is (401) 222-2811. This will be a recorded message. To verify current fees and general information during office hours, please call the Health Hot Line at (401) 222-5960. Information on how to obtain certified copies is also available via the Rhode Island Department of Health website.

All requests must be accompanied by a photocopy of the applicant's valid government-issued picture identification, e.g., driver's license. In lieu of a valid government-issued picture identification, two pieces of mail are accepted showing the correct name and address of the individual requesting the record.

Marriage/Civil Union

 

Event: Marriage/Civil Union (State)

Cost of copy: $20.00

Address:
RI Department of Health
Office of Vital Records, Room 101
3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097

Divorce

 

Event: Divorce (court)

Cost of copy: $3.00

Address:
Clerk of Family Court
1 Dorrance Plaza
Providence, RI 02903

 

 
USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Road Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC–INFO
A-Z Index
  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  27. #