Request for Nominations to Serve on the World Trade Center Health Program Scientific/Technical Advisory Committee

February 2015
NIOSH Docket Number 229-D

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) solicited nominations for membership on the World Trade Center (WTC) Health Program Scientific/Technical Advisory Committee (STAC).

Title I of the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act of 2010 (Pub. L. 111-347) was enacted on January 2, 2011, amending the Public Health Service Act (PHS Act) by adding Title XXXIII establishing the WTC Health Program within HHS (Title XXXIII of the PHS Act is codified at 42 U.S.C. §§ 300mm to 300mm–61). Section 3302(a) of the PHS Act established the WTC Health Program Scientific/Technical Advisory Committee (STAC). The STAC is governed by the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, as amended (Pub. L. 92-463, 5 U.S.C. App.), which sets forth standards for the formation and use of advisory committees in the Executive Branch.

PHS Act Section 3302(a)(1)  establishes that the STAC will: review scientific and medical evidence and to make recommendations to the [WTC Program] Administrator on additional WTC Program eligibility criteria and on additional WTC-related health conditions.

The STAC will be consulted on other matters related to implementation and improvement of the WTC Health Program and outlined in the PHS Act at the discretion of the WTC Program Administrator. In accordance with Section 3302(a)(2) of the PHS Act, the WTC Program Administrator will appoint the members of the committee, which must include at least:

  • 4 occupational physicians, at least two of whom have experience treating WTC rescue and recovery workers;
  • 1 physician with expertise in pulmonary medicine;
  • 2 environmental medicine or environmental health specialists;
  • 2 representatives of WTC responders;
  • 2 representatives of certified-eligible WTC survivors;
  • 1 industrial hygienist;
  • 1 toxicologist;
  • 1 epidemiologist; and
  • 1 mental health professional.

The Administrator sought nominations for members fulfilling the following categories:

  • Pulmonary physician;
  • representative of WTC responders;
  • representative of certified-eligible WTC survivors;
  • occupational physician;
  • environmental medicine or environmental health.

Other members may be appointed at the discretion of the WTC Program Administrator.

NIOSH is committed to bringing greater diversity of thought, perspective and experience to its advisory committees. Nominees from all races, gender, age and persons living with disabilities are encouraged to apply. Nominees must be U.S. citizens.

Reference Documents
Page last reviewed: April 20, 2016