NIOSH Science and Service Awards

At a glance

The NIOSH Science and Service Awards are presented annually to recognize significant accomplishments in research, partnership, research translation, career achievements, and service at NIOSH. The links below provide information on the annual awards, the finalists, and the winners.

2024 Award Book cover


2024 Award Information

Learn about the 2024 awardees!

Award Descriptions

Alice B. Hamilton Award for Occupational Safety and Health (1988- Present)

Honoring Dr. Alice Hamilton (1869– 1970), a pioneering researcher and occupational physician, this award recognizes the scientific excellence of NIOSH technical and instructional materials. Categories include Behavioral and Social Science, Communication and Guidance, Engineering and Control, Epidemiology and Surveillance, Exposure and Risk Assessment, Methods and Laboratory Science, and Research Service.

James P. Keogh Award for Outstanding Service (2000-Present)

This award recognizes a current or former NIOSH employee for exceptional service in the field of occupational safety and health. James P. Keogh, MD, worked throughout his life for peace and social change. He sought to safeguard workers through education about hazards, and he advocated workplace protections.

Bullard-Sherwood Research-to-Practice (r2p) Awards (2005-Present)

This award recognizes outstanding efforts by NIOSH scientists and their partners in applying occupational safety and health research to prevent work-related injury, illness, and death. It highlights efforts that demonstrate noteworthy impact through partnerships. The award is named in honor of two distinguished inventers who made significant improvements in workplace injury and illness prevention: Edward W. Bullard and R. Jeremy (Jerry) Sherwood.

Director's Intramural Awards for Extraordinary Science (2005-Present)

Science excellence is the foundation upon which NIOSH generates new knowledge to assure safe and healthful work for all. This award recognizes the outstanding contributions and dedication of NIOSH staff to science excellence.

Plain Language Award (2018-Present)

The Plain Writing Act of 2010 requires that federal agencies provide clear communication that the public can understand and use. NIOSH encourages plain language in all of its communication products. Established in 2017, this award recognizes NIOSH fact sheets, brochures, infographics, and web topic pages that demonstrate excellence in applying plain language principles.

Service Excellence Awards (2020-Present)

These awards focus on both the management and operations side of the Institute and recognize NIOSH staff who provide excellent administrative and managerial support to the Institute's mission and projects.

Bullard-Sherwood and DIA Awards (2013-2005)

Keogh Award Recipients (2013-2000)