Division of Viral Diseases (DVD)

Our Mission

The Division of Viral Diseases’ (DVD) mission is to prevent disease, disability, and death from viral diseases through immunization and other prevention measures.

Our Objectives

DVD’s objectives are to

  • Optimize the safe, efficient, and effective use of vaccines and other known ways to prevent viral diseases
  • Identify, characterize, and evaluate new ways to prevent viral diseases
  • Effectively and efficiently respond to outbreaks of respiratory and enteric viral disease
  • Improve local and state and global capacity to prevent disease and respond to outbreaks caused by respiratory and enteric viruses
  • Attract, train, and retain the best leaders, managers, and scientists

Our Organization

The proposed organization of the Division of Viral Diseases as of June 2017 is as follows:

Office of the Director

  • Mark Pallansch – Director
  • Tom Clark – Deputy Director
  • April Allman – Senior Advisor to the Director
  • David Bell – Associate Director for Epidemiologic Science
  • William Weldon – Associate Director for Laboratory Science (Acting)
  • Karen Mason – Associate Director for Policy
  • Jeanette St. Pierre – Associate Director for Communication Science
  • Arunmozhi Balajee – Associate Director for Global Health Security
  • Aaron Curns – Team Lead for Analysis/Data Management Activity

Viral Gastroenteritis Branch

  • Umesh Parashar – Chief
  • Thi Lockhart – Deputy Branch Chief

Team Leaders

  • Jacqueline Tate – Rotavirus Epidemiology (Acting)
  • Jan Vinjé – Norovirus Laboratory
  • Baoming Jiang – Rotavirus Vaccines and Immunology
  • Michael Bowen – Rotavirus Surveillance and Molecular Epidemiology
  • Aron Hall – Norovirus Epidemiology (Acting)

Polio and Picornavirus Laboratory Branch

  • Steve Oberste – Chief
  • Youness Elhamidi – Deputy Branch Chief

Team Leaders

  • Cara Burns – Molecular Epidemiology and Surveillance
  • Will Weldon – Population Immunity
  • Jennifer Anstadt – Vaccine Development
  • Everardo Vega – Polio Molecular Diagnostic Development
  • Allan Nix – Picornavirus

Respiratory Viruses Branch

  • Sue Gerber – Chief
  • Lee Ann Ramsey – Deputy Branch Chief

Team Leaders

  • Gayle Langley – Respiratory Syncytial Virus
  • Steve Lindstrom – Respiratory Viruses Diagnostic
  • Natalie Thornburg – Respiratory Viruses Immunology
  • Suxiang Tong – Pathogen Discovery
  • John Watson – Respiratory Viruses Surveillance and Outbreak Support

Viral Vaccine Preventable Diseases Branch

  • Paul Rota – Chief
  • F.E. Harrison – Deputy Branch Chief

Team Leaders

  • Manisha Patel – Measles, Mumps, Rubella, Herpesviruses and Polio
  • Bettina Bankamp – Measles (Acting)
  • Carole Hickman – Mumps (Acting)
  • Joe Icenogle – Rubella Virus
  • Scott Schmid – Herpesvirus
  • Lauri Markowitz – Human Papillomavirus

Who We Are

 Top of Page

Page last reviewed: October 2, 2019