Eligibility Criteria

Component A

Component A of this NOFO is open to national non-profit organizations with an established 501(c)(3) IRS status (other than institutions of higher education) with experience working across HIV prevention and surveillance programs and with health department HIV/AIDS directors, HIV prevention managers, and HIV surveillance coordinators; and federal, state, and local entities.

  • Applicants must provide a copy of the organization’s tax exempt 501(c)(3) IRS letter as documentation of the non-profit 501(c)(3) status.

Applicants should have ongoing access to a partnership system that represents state and local health department HIV programs and staff (e.g., HIV/AIDS directors, HIV prevention, program managers, epidemiologist, etc.).

  • Applicants must submit proof of an existing partnership system that represents state and local health department HIV program and staff. Examples of documentation include membership rosters, organization bylaws or policies and procedures supporting, etc.

If any of the above referenced required documents are missing, the application will be deemed non-responsive and will not be passed along for further review.

Component B

Component B eligible applicants include state, local and territorial health departments or their Bona Fide Agents identified in Phase 1 of the Ending the HIV Epidemic Initiative and that have a current direct funding relationship with CDC (identified in the table below). Eligibility for funding to operationalize the proposed Ending the Epidemic plan is contingent upon responsiveness to Component B of this NOFO or the existence of a comprehensive Ending the HIV Epidemic plan.

COMPONENT B:  Eligible Phase I Jurisdictions

Eligible Phase I jurisdictions and corresponding CDC funded health department
Eligible Phase I jurisdictions and corresponding CDC funded health department
Phase 1 State or County Eligible Entity
Alabama Alabama Health Department
Arkansas Arkansas Health Department
Maricopa County Arizona Health Department
Los Angeles County Los Angeles County Health Department
San Francisco County San Francisco Health Department
Alameda County California Health Department
Orange County California Health Department
Riverside County California Health Department
Sacramento County California Health Department
San Bernardino County California Health Department
San Diego County California Health Department
Broward County Florida Health Department
Duval County Florida Health Department
Hillsborough County Florida Health Department
Miami-Dade County Florida Health Department
Orange County Florida Health Department
Palm Beach County Florida Health Department
Pinellas County Florida Health Department
Cobb County Georgia Health Department
DeKalb County Georgia Health Department
Fulton County Georgia Health Department
Gwinnett County Georgia Health Department
Cook County City of Chicago Health Department
Marion County Indiana Health Department
Kentucky Kentucky Health Department
East Baton Rouge Parish Louisiana Health Department
Orleans Parish Louisiana Health Department
Baltimore City Baltimore City Health Department
Montgomery County Maryland Health Department
Prince George’s County Maryland Health Department
Suffolk County Massachusetts Health Department
Wayne County Michigan Health Department
Mississippi Mississippi Health Department
Missouri Missouri Health Department
Clark County Nevada Health Department
New Jersey  
Essex County New Jersey Health Department
Hudson County New Jersey Health Department
New York  
Bronx County New York City Health Department
Kings County New York City Health Department
New York County New York City Health Department
Queens County New York City Health Department
North Carolina  
Mecklenburg County North Carolina Health Department
Cuyahoga County Ohio Health Department
Franklin County Ohio Health Department
Hamilton County Ohio Health Department
Oklahoma Oklahoma Department of Health
Philadelphia County City of Philadelphia Health Department
South Carolina South Carolina Health Department
Shelby County Tennessee Health Department
Harris County Houston Health Department
Bexar County Texas Health Department
Dallas County Texas Health Department
Tarrant County Texas Health Department
Travis County Texas Health Department
King County Washington State Health Department
Washington, DC District of Columbia Health Department
Puerto Rico  
San Juan Municipio Puerto Rico Territorial Health Department

Jurisdictions with both eligible state and local (city or county) health departments listed in the table above must collaborate on the accelerated planning process and discuss the following: (1) Ensuring that the proposed approach emphasizes the identified counties in the jurisdictional Ending the HIV Epidemic plans;  (2) Outlining how the state and local area will collaborate during the project period to ensure that appropriate coverage and coordination of planning efforts within the identified county occurs; (3) Ensuring that  fiduciary arrangements specify that the majority of the funding resources are directed towards the Phase 1 local city or county, as appropriate;  (4) Documenting any agreements reached in a letter of agreement (LOA) which must be submitted as part of their application. Additionally, as appropriate, plans should include coordinating and collaborating with HRSA-funded Ryan White HIV/AIDS Programs Parts A and B.