TATFAR Fact Sheets

TATFAR summarized its contribution to fighting AMR with five fact sheets, available to download on the Links and Resources webpage.

How TATFAR Started

The growing global threat of antimicrobial resistance (often called “AR” in the U.S. and “AMR” elsewhere) was recognized in the 2009 U.S. – European Union (EU) Summit Declaration. TATFAR’s technical experts from Canada, the European Union (EU), Norway, and the United States (U.S.) collaborate and share best practices to strengthen domestic and global efforts in these 3 Key Areas:

  1. Improve appropriate therapeutic use of antimicrobial drugs in medical and veterinary communities,
  2. Prevent healthcare- and community-associated drug-resistant infections, and
  3. Develop strategies for improving the pipeline of new antimicrobial drugs.


At the start, TATFAR identified and adopted 17 recommendations for future collaborations between the U.S. and the EU. Collaboration has led to:

  • Increased information exchange
  • Understanding of best approaches and practices
  • Development of peer relationships

TATFAR members currently collaborate on 20 actions aimed at coordinating efforts to address AR.

TATFAR Progress

In May 2014, the taskforce released a report summarizing the progress and the outcomes of the implementation of the original 17 recommendations. The taskforce decided to continue with 15 recommendations, retire two, and create one new recommendation for collaboration 2014-2016.

While significant progress has been made, concern related to AR continues to escalate. In October 2015, TATFAR revised its work plan and extended the collaboration for an additional five years (2016-2020). All progress since the 2014 Progress Report is posted directly to the website.

TATFAR members are in the process of developing a new work plan for collaboration to continue through 2025. The new work plan will be posted on the website upon adoption in late 2021.

Since 2014, CDC has provided the secretariat for the taskforce and publishes documents and updates relating to the work of the taskforce on this website. The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) provided the secretariat from 2009-2013.