Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Member Roster

As of April 2018

OPHPR’s Board of Scientific Counselors consists of 11 voting members (Appointed Special Government Employees), including the Chair; 3 Ex Officio voting members from federal agencies; and 6 liaison representatives. Voting board members and non-voting liaison representatives have expertise in the following topic areas relevant to emergency preparedness and response business, crisis leadership, emergency response and management, engineering, epidemiology, health policy and management, informatics, laboratory science, medicine, mental and behavioral health, public health law, public health practice, risk communication and social science.


Thomas Inglesby, M.D.
Director, Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Baltimore, MD
Term: 2/29/2016 – 9/30/2019


Margaret L. Brandeau, PhD
Coleman F. Fung Professor, School of Engineering Department of Management, Science and Engineering Stanford University
Stanford, California
Term: 3/1/2016 – 9/30/2019

Sandro Galea, MD, MPH, DrPH
Dean, School of Public Health, Boston University
Boston, Massachusetts
Term: 12/23/2016 – 9/30/2020

Erika James, PhD, MA
John H. Harland Dean, Goizueta Business School Emory University Atlanta, Georgia
Term: 1/9/2017 – 9/30/2020

Brent Pawlecki, M.D.
 Chief Health Officer
The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company
Akron, Ohio
Term: 7/14/2016 – 9/30/2018

Alonzo L. Plough, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Vice President for Research and Evaluation and Chief Science Officer
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Princeton, New Jersey
Term: 7/14/2016 – 9/30/2019

Catherine C. Slemp, M.D., M.P.H.
 Consultant, Public Health Policy and Practice
Milton, West Virginia
Term: 12/19/2016 – 9/30/2018

Kasisomayajula Viswanath, Ph.D., M.A., M.C.J.
Lee Kum Kee Profressor of Health Communication
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
Boston, Massachusetts
Term: 8/13/2014 – 9/30/2018

Ex Officio Members

Department of Defense
Jody R. Wireman, Ph.D., M.S.P.H., M.P.A.
Director, SG Force Health Protection
Peterson AFB, CO

Department of Health & Human Services
Jack Herrmann, M.S.Ed., NCC, LMHC
Deputy Director, Office of Policy and Planning (OPP)
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR)
Washington, DC

Department of Homeland Security
Anthony Macintyre, MD
Senior Medical Advisor, FEMA
Countering Weapons of Mass Destruction (CWMD)
Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
Washington, DC

Liaison Representatives

Christina Egan, Ph.D., C.B.S.P
Association of Public Health Laboratories (APHL)
Chief, Biodefense Laboratory, Wadsworth Center
New York State Department of Health
Albany, NY

Laura Magana, PhD
Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH)
President CEO
1900 M St NW Ste 710
Washington, DC 20036

John J. Dreyzehner, MD, MPH, FACOEM
Tennessee Department of Health
Nashville, TN

Patricia Quinlisk, M.D., M.P.H.
Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologist (CSTE)
Medical Director and State Epidemiologist
Iowa Department of Public Health
Des Moines, IA

Michele Askenazi, M.P.H., CHES
National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)
Director, Emergency Preparedness and Response, Tri-County Health Department
Greenwood Village, CO

Jamie Ritchey MPH, PhD
Director, Tribal Epidemiology Center (TEC)
Inter Tribal Council of Arizona (ITCA)
Phoenix, AZ

Designated Federal Official

Kimberly Lochner, ScD
Deputy Associate Director for Science, OPHPR
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, GA