Henry Walke Headshot

Henry Walke, MD, MPH, is the Director of the Office of Readiness and Response (ORR). In this role, he supports ORR’s three Divisions and the Office of the Director to prepare for, respond to, and improve performance in domestic and global public health emergencies. ORR enhances CDC, state, and local health department preparedness and response capacity; ensures lifesaving research with select agents, toxins, and poliovirus is conducted safely and securely; and develops scientific principles, tools, and the next generation of public health preparedness professionals and leaders.

ORR Organization

ORR OD org chart March 2023

ORR Leadership Team

Office of the Director

Director: Henry Walke, MD, MPH

Division of Emergency Operations

  • Director: Chris Brown, PhD, MPH, CPH
    • Operations Branch, Branch Chief: Luis C. Poblano
    • Plans, Exercise, and Evaluation Branch, Branch Chief: David Kennedy, MBA
    • Resource Support Branch, Branch Chief: Bryan Taylor, MSS
    • Emergency Risk Communication Branch, Branch Chief: Donda Hansen, BS

Division of Select Agents and Toxins

  • Director: Samuel Edwin, PhD
    • Operations Branch, Branch Chief: Von McClee, DrPH
    • Program Services, Branch Chief: Glen DeGruy, MS

Division of State and Local Readiness

  • Director: Christine Kosmos, RN, BSN, MS
    • Applied Science and Evaluation Branch, Branch Chief: Rachel Avchen, (ret) PhD
    • Field Assignee Services Branch, Branch Chief: Randolph Daley, DVM, MPH
    • Program Implementation Branch, (Acting) Branch Chief: Jerome Simmons